Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
28 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 47 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


California Connections Academy at Capistrano 5

Posted June 21, 2016
- a parent
My daughter attended this school for the last two years of high school after much frustration with the ability of a public school to provide support for her medical condition. She always was an excellent student but her grades were dropping due to missed classes. Our experience with Connections Capistrano could not have been better. My daughter loved the curriculum, the freedom, and the independent study. She was able to take additional classes of her interest like psychology. Teachers and counselors are extremely responsive and always provided the support we needed - and more. The teacher contact via phone were pleasant, motivating and fun. The experience for me as learning coach was very pleasant. The online platform is easy to navigate and provides a high level of involvement if desired. If your student is capable of handling the high level of self-management and can work independently, I can highly recommend this school. On the downside, the social interaction with other students is limited as always in online platforms. An alternative social environment for your student is necessary.

California Connections Academy at Capistrano
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
To Mrs. Denise Frampton, I just want to say one thank you. Thank you for being a good teacher, and helping my child get off to a good start at Capistrano Connections Academy, and teaching her all she needs to know for to get to her next grade level. Thank You, Mrs. Frampton, and thank you Connections Academy, I just love this school.


California Connections Academy at Capistrano
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 18, 2015
- a community member
Mrs. LaSarge is a wonderful, supportive teacher to my daughter. She understands my daughter's learning style and gives us leeway on nurturing that. She isn't a stickler on nonessential rubbish and encourages my daughter with positive and constructive feedback. Amongst all the teachers my three children have encountered at Connections, Mrs. Lisa LaSarge has left the greatest impact.

California Connections Academy at Capistrano 5

Posted September 18, 2015
- a student
My experience at this school was truly amazing ! I was able to put 100% of my effort on learning instead of constant distractions and interruptions at traditional schools . You still have access to contact with your teachers and staff by Web Mails , Live Lessons , or by calling . I finish school quicker than i normally did at a traditional school and I'm taking 4 honors . Now i have more time to do the hobbies i wasn't able to do before. Enrolling was stress free for me and my parents and quicker than what i expected . Time is very flexible and you have the option to start what time of the day each day . I usually wake up at 7:40 and start at 8 and i work on a couple of classes then i go for a morning jog to complete my PE log and finish the rest . I also have the freedom of using my own comfortable restroom and eating a snack when i want :) I highly recommend this over any other online school out there including k12 they're systems are very complicated and teacher-student communication is poor . If your in a traditional school with a low API score and your highly focused on your future and getting your work done , switch to connections , you won't regret it !

California Connections Academy at Capistrano
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted September 18, 2015
- a student
Their call center was always helpful and nice and informative when we had questions regarding the school .


California Connections Academy at Capistrano
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted September 18, 2015
- a student
Like i mentioned , the teachers are always helping out the students weather they contact them for help or the teacher notices something wrong .

California Connections Academy at Capistrano
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted September 18, 2015
- a student
There basically isn't homework since your already at home but you don't feel too stressed about it when completing it .

California Connections Academy at Capistrano
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted September 18, 2015
- a student
The teachers always monitor your work and help you when they see you got a low score on your work .


California Connections Academy at Capistrano
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted September 18, 2015
- a student
The teachers are very friendly and have fun personalities . They don't punish your grade unfairly like most online schools .

California Connections Academy at Capistrano
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted September 18, 2015
- a student
The school keeps in touch with you often and they're support numbers are always reachable on their business hours . They're curriculum is personalized and they mean what they say .

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

California Connections Academy at Capistrano
33272 Valle Road, San Juan Capistrano, CA  92656
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 47 reviews. (949) 461-1667
Last modified California Connections Academy at Capistrano is a Charter school that serves grades K-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top