Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
9-12
Private
San Juan Capistrano, CA
Students enrolled: 1,124

4 stars
Based on 25 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


28 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Jserra Catholic High School 5

Posted July 05, 2013
- a parent
Two of my children graduated from Jserra and I can not say enough wonderful things about it! The AP classes were taught by teachers who truly cared about each students AP exam. They stayed late at night leading study groups and preparing them, it was really amazing. The AP Euro teacher was so superb, I think almost everyone received a four or five on the exam. All the other teachers were equally caring and compassionate. The student body and parents are a community with different talents, temperaments and convictions. Both of my kids had amazing friends! The school really attracts kind people. I know my two older kids would never both be at top 20 universities if it were not for Jserra.

Jserra Catholic High School 5

Posted December 27, 2012
- a parent
I have one graduate from this school, and two children currently attending JSerra. I knew when I attended back-to-school night for my oldest 6 years ago, that she would get a good education because the teachers seemed enthusiastic and caring. My instincts were correct. Just like life, no school is perfect but my children have received great academic and value-oriented educations. Teachers are very caring and responsive to parents and children's needs.


Jserra Catholic High School 5

Posted September 30, 2012
- a student
Tons of people are saying that JSerra inflates their grades. I must be stupid then, if I'm failing Geometry. At any rate, the teachers here actually care about their students, unlike a few *other* schools I could mention. I'm not naming names, but most schools out there don't really care. Okay, sure, it's ridiculously expensive and hard times are going on, but it's so completely worth it. Some people just like to hate on schools for no reason, and I really can't understand it. I'm a freshman, and I've only been at JSerra for a few months, but the teachers have already began to help me shape who I am. JSerra is a wonderful school regardless of what others choose to say about it. And for the record, if they were inflating grades, I would have an A+ in every subject, which, sadly, I do not. So, there. JSerra is amazing.

Jserra Catholic High School 5

Posted May 03, 2012
- a student
I am currently a sophomore at JSerra Catholic High School, and it has been the greatest blessing of my life. It is the best school for a faithful Catholic who prefers a rigorous set of courses, a great athletic program and spiritual guidance. The priests here are the best of the best, and are amazing teachers (I'm upset that they won't be teaching next year, but very happy that they'll still offer spiritual guidance). The rest of the teaching staff is amazing as well, and they thoroughly comprehend their subjects and give great aid. This is a school that I want to get up in the morning to go to, because it's really an all-in-one package with great athletics, rigorous academics, spiritual guidance, and a friendly environment. It's not the school for everybody, but it's the perfect school for a person like me. I have only benefitted from going here, and the only disadvantage is the heavy price tag, but the school does offer plenty of financial aid. I love JSerra! I'd send my kids here.

Jserra Catholic High School 1

Posted November 05, 2011
- a student
The grade inflation here is insane. I was a former student at JSerra, but I now attend Aliso Niguel in the Capistrano Unified District. JSerra's curriculum, rigor, and academics are much easier compared to my current classes at public school. My public school courses go much more in depth, and tests are weighed much more heavily, especially in mathematics. While I JSerra, I easily maintained a 4.0+, however, since transferring to Aliso, my GPA has dropped significantly. They keep the parents happy by inflating grades and handing out easy A's, and the teachers and students at the school are all aware of this. JSerra graduates, for the most part, attend expensive private colleges like the mother below stated.


Jserra Catholic High School 5

Posted July 17, 2011
- a parent
For students who choose to take the challenge of AP classes, the academics are rigorous but if you're not in the honors/AP classes it is difficult to fail at this school. On parent review accuses the school of giving easy grades which is untrue. We've had our children attending the local public high schools as well as this school and they are no different. Like most schools we've come across in the US, grades are given in the 'normal' classroom more on homework and attendance. You can fail your tests and still pass a class. It is not this school - it is the US education system. This school has many dedicated teachers and an excellent counseling /administrative staff who care about their students and go the extra mile to make sure students needs are being met. You only need to ask! The school also stresses the importance of community and helping others. They strive to help provide financial aid to those students interested in attending who may not have the means. We have been very pleased with this school compared to the local public high schools are others attended.

Jserra Catholic High School 1

Posted June 26, 2011
- a parent
This school has very weak academics. Many teachers are not highly educated in their fields, and it shows in the watered down curriculum. But, they keep the parents happy by handing out easy A's. The sad thing is they are shortchanging students who will not be able to make it in an academically challenging university. Maybe that's why lots of J. Serra grads go on the overpriced, private schools with no serious academic reputations.

Jserra Catholic High School 5

Posted January 02, 2011
- a community member
Wonderful school with great teachers and great standards. A credit to our community and the teaching profession.


Jserra Catholic High School 0
no rating

Posted April 07, 2010
- a community member
Bad, doesn't respect diversity and is fundamentalist with harsh discipline standards yet does nothing to protect those who are vulnerable for example special needs students wha are harrassed

Jserra Catholic High School 1

Posted February 25, 2010
- a parent
Two words: grade inflation. How can half of the student body have over a 4.0 GPA? Utterly ridiculous. After transferring my son to a nearby public high school, he found it to be much more rigorous and challenging than the curriculum JSerra had to offer. Waste of money, not worth the big bucks!

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Jserra Catholic High School
26351 Junipero Serra Road, San Juan Capistrano, CA  92675
(949) 493-9307
Last modified Jserra Catholic High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Jserra Catholic High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. Top