Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
32 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 42 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Marco Forster Middle School 2

Posted March 10, 2016
- a parent
My daughter is constantly harassed by fellow students for being too white. They make fun of her in Spanish and call wheda, marshmallow, redneck, white trash etc. It's awful. Teachers are treated horribly by students and cause uproars in class. Most of the teachers are amazing and do their best but there's days when the entire period is spent disciplining a disruptive student(s).

Marco Forster Middle School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted March 10, 2016
- a parent
There is an amazing office lady I'd like to acknowledge. I think her name is Rosie. When you walk in the office she sits at the front right desk. I can't stand any of the other office ladies. They take their job way to seriously and are very rude and stuck up. This lady took the time to get to know my daughter and our personal situation and she helped me. She was/is so kind! I feel awful I can't be certain that's her name!


Marco Forster Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted March 10, 2016
- a parent
My daughter has been reading (listening to a book on tape and following along in the book) a book in English as a class for over a month now and all they do is highlight important paragraphs. That's it!

Marco Forster Middle School 5

Posted August 29, 2013
- a parent
Amazing school is all I can say! The staff is loving and dedicated while the students are courteous and try their best! Academics is a priority here and that's why this school thrives. Best principal in CUSD!

Marco Forster Middle School 1

Posted August 16, 2013
- a parent
I work for the CTA/NEA. Both of my kids went to Marco and this is the worst school that I've ever dealt with. It was so bad that we moved to Missouri to get away from it after having raised our kids in SJC. They were continuously beaten by the incorrigible children and the staff could care less. After I got my Daughter through school we moved back and then my son went to Marco. They said that the problems with these violent kids was his. After 6 months of their neglect and apathy, we moved back to Missouri and never had another incident and he graduated with honors. Worst School ever!


Marco Forster Middle School 2

Posted August 15, 2013
- a parent
It is an OK school. Our kids made lots of friends and like it in there. This school is very diverse and it has its pluses and minuses. It definitely takes a toll on education. Many kids end up in accelerated classes or are accelerated students, however they still can end up in class that consists of both, accelerated students and non-accelerated students and that could be a problem as many non-accelerated kids do struggle with English. If our kids did not feel socially comfortable at Marco we would most likely look at different middle school where education would be more of priority instead of trying to please all different academic categories of students.

Marco Forster Middle School 5

Posted November 27, 2012
- a community member
I am an involved grandparent of an 8th grader at Marco. Because I am a retired high school math teacher, I know what I am saying when I say that Marco provides an excellent education for its students. My granddaughter has had outstanding teachers during her three years at the school and her overall experience has been very positive.

Marco Forster Middle School 4

Posted October 09, 2010
- a community member
My two favorite teachers of all time were from when I attended this school.


Marco Forster Middle School 2

Posted June 23, 2010
- a parent
My daughter transferred in as an eighth grader. The accelerated classes and teachers were good. PE teacher said that she would address our concerns and then transferred my daughter to another teacher. Counselor was condescending. Lack of information regarding special activities. Not a good experience for us.

Marco Forster Middle School 5

Posted April 29, 2010
- a parent
I think this school is really a great school with all of the after school activities and the extracurricular activities as well.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Marco Forster Middle School
25601 Camino Del Avion, San Juan Capistrano, CA  92675-4330
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 42 reviews. (949) 234-5907
Last modified Marco Forster Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top