Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
PK-8
Private
San Juan Capistrano, CA
Students enrolled: 260
Before care: No
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mission Basilica School 5

Posted June 11, 2015
- a community member
This is a wonderful family oriented school. It has excellent teachers and a great community. I highly recommend this school to others!

Mission Basilica School 5

Posted June 11, 2015
- a parent
A blue ribbon private school located in the heart of orange county history. Mission Basilica School has offered our children a place they call their own. Our children have thrived in this environment and the staff really encourages both personal and religious growth. Beyond education and religion...our kids are exposed to many performances, outstanding sports programs, United nations day and many other school sponsored activities. In a nut shell, we love it, our kids love it and we all are proud being part of the Swallow family.


Mission Basilica School 5

Posted June 10, 2015
- a community member
We love this school. There is a strong sense of community and a great deal of personal attention and opportunities to thrive. Unapologetically Catholic, the faith is interwoven into every subject. Leadership skills are taught beginning in kindergarten, and leadership opportunities are plentiful, particularly in the middle grades. I feel my children will graduate with a strong sense of self, grounded in their faith, academically on par or ahead of the standard, with confidence, public speaking skills, and first hand knowledge of how to work on and lead a team.

Mission Basilica School 5

Posted June 10, 2015
- a community member
We have 3kids at mission and we are truly happy with this school all of grades!!!

Mission Basilica School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 10, 2015
- a parent
I can see it every day throughout the year. Children care for each others. They are encouraged to serve, help and care, and this is definitely what the world needs!
1 person found this helpful


Mission Basilica School 5

Posted June 10, 2015
- a parent
If you're looking for a Catholic School, Mission Basilica School is the one. If you're looking for a different unique school where everything matters, Mission Basilica School is the one! We're very blessed to have our son in this school and we cannot ask for more. Mission Basilica School is a small caring community where children grow happily!

Mission Basilica School 5

Posted June 10, 2015
- a community member
Over the past 4 years we have been thoroughly impressed with our experience at Mission Basilica. Our children are challenged academically and beyond. The curriculum includes performing arts, music, Spanish, and of course Religious education. It is a warm environment that encourages parent involvement. I know when I send my children to school they feel valued and cared for. We are very proud to be an MBS family!

Mission Basilica School 5

Posted June 10, 2015
- a parent
From the minute you step on the Mission Basilica School campus, one feels that it is special place. My children have been both academically challenged and spiritually enriched. The faith focus provides an important foundation for all academic, social and cultural pursuits. The school is constantly striving to strengthen all it's offerings. The faculty and administration are very loving, nurturing and professional. There is strong sense of community at this school, which invites parents involvement. Additionally, the presence of the historic Mission offers a unique back drop to the schools role in the history and future of this community. Every student understands that they are an important part of that story. MBS is a beautiful school!
1 person found this helpful


Mission Basilica School 5

Posted April 16, 2015
- a parent
MBS is the "hidden gem" of South Orange County. The school is centered on conservative, Roman Catholic doctrine, teachings and values. Character development is paramount to every activity, learning experience and social interaction there. Traditional Catholic character and beliefs are prioritized above all else, and are the heart of our little school. In addition to academic success, MBS values the arts, creative thought, student leadership, and service to its community. Students who attend MBS learn to dream big and pursue those dreams, rather than to feel held back by obstacles or limitations. What makes this school so special is: the children, the committed parents, the phenomenal front office staff, the exceptional educators, and most of all, the thriving commitment to faith of everyone at MBS who guides the traditions, history, and legacy of our school. If a quaint, conservative, Christ-centered community isn't your cup of tea, there are plenty other good Catholic schools in the area. But, if character development, a faith focus, and developing lifelong friendships with families of similar values is what you are seeking for your family, then MBS may just be the place for you.
3 people found this helpful

Mission Basilica School 4

Posted June 09, 2014
- a community member
This is a wonderful little school. The environment is warm, loving, and supportive except for the Kindergarten Readiness (KR) program. It s run separately from grades K-8 and that fact is glaringly obvious. The academic aspect of the KR program is good. If that s all your child needs or if that's all you're looking for in a pre-K program, then great. But if your 3, 4, or 5 year old could use a (lead) teacher who offers a little hug or a kind word every once in a while, or an encouraging pat on the back; or if your child would benefit from his or her teacher getting down on his or her level and interacting with him or her on occasion, then this is NOT the preschool program for your child.
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mission Basilica School
31641 El Camino Real, San Juan Capistrano, CA  92675
(949) 234-1385
Last modified Mission Basilica School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Mission Basilica School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 56 reviews. Top