Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-12|Private
1,157 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
30 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 40 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. Margaret's Episcopal School 3

Posted January 20, 2016
- a community member
A revolving door of teachers plague this school. This has been a problem with all three of our children attending. I have an eighth grader, a sixth, and a third, who all have had first year teachers multiple times. This has lead to problems each year the children have advanced since these teachers had extremely limited experience. The result is that the children have not been properly prepared for the following year, and have struggled each time they have advanced from another new, inexperienced teacher. Money is not a problem for the school, but clearly they are not paying their teachers enough to stay, or care. After 9 years with this school, I am not aware of anything that makes this school any better than any other Orange County school, public or private. Tuition goes up every year, roughly 1000.00 per child. So at 21000.00 per year, per child (this year), it just really doesn't make any sense. I am just not seeing ANY real difference at all.

St. Margaret's Episcopal School 4

Posted June 21, 2015
- a parent
Overall good. The new Head of School will take SMES to new levels of education. My son made nice friends; friendly and polite kids are the norm.


St. Margaret's Episcopal School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted June 21, 2015
- a parent
They are always improving and getting better. I would say that the teachers from circa 2011 that were not so great are being replaced with better teachers.

St. Margaret's Episcopal School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 21, 2015
- a parent
Speaking from an Upper School experience, not a lot of homework as the kids have free blocks and can study during the school day.

St. Margaret's Episcopal School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted June 21, 2015
- a parent
The Academic Dean and most of the faculty are of the mindset that developing these traits are more important than just being born smart.


St. Margaret's Episcopal School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 21, 2015
- a parent
Episcopal traditions, which are the foundation of the school. The Head of School, Will Moseley, expects honesty from all the faculty and staff of the school and this contributes to the mindset that these character traits are necessary to complete the student.

St. Margaret's Episcopal School 5

Posted January 21, 2015
- a parent
As a parent of a current SMES student I can confidently say Saint Margarets is the total package. Teachers and staff set high standards for the students and are incredibly supportive. The school strives to build bonds between families all with the goal of giving their children the highest educational goals possible. The school also has security roaming around at all entrances on their bicycles and parents must wear an ID badge to enter. The resources the students have at their fingertips allow for scholastic, interpersonal and atheletic learning to happen without boundaries. Everyday after drop off I know that my child's time will be used to its fullest potential. There is never a worry of wasting time, busy work, waiting in long lines, waiting for things to be passed out. The school supports learning for each and every individual student.

St. Margaret's Episcopal School 2

Posted June 13, 2014
- a community member
One strength of St. Margaret's is the amount of resources it has that is used fairly well to enrich the student and parent experience. Unlike public schools that suffer from government cuts, private schools like this seem to be able to avoid financial issues in taking care of student experience. Another strength of St. Margaret's is school safety. The school makes it a priority to partake in fire, earthquake, and shooter drills to enhance student safety. The biggest reason I wouldn't send my kids to st. Margaret's, as a former student of St. Margaret's, when I get older is because simply, the experience is not worth the tuition. There are some great faculty at St. Margaret's: some. There are so many small infractions hidden in the rule culture of St. Margaret's that it almost would serve better as a disciplinary institution, such as the infamous "no-hugging" policy enacted in the middle school. Many of these rules allow for a school that does not socially prepare students for college. Academic benefits and opportunities are present at times, but disadvantages exist as well. St. Margaret's ultra-competitive nature(in class) hinders communication, teamwork, and group work skills.


St. Margaret's Episcopal School 5

Posted July 23, 2012
- a parent
I could not imagine a better environment for my child. The mission of SMES is to "educate the hearts and minds of young people for lives of learning, leadership, and service," and that is EXACTLY what SMES does. My children have attended SMES since preschool. They are bright, inquisitive, kind, creative, respectful, and compassionate. The character development and whole-child education is impeccable. Go TARTANS!

St. Margaret's Episcopal School 5

Posted April 13, 2012
- a parent
My five year old tested in the 90th percentile for language in the country and average to middle of the road in all other areas. We were told that she was not ready for St. Margarets school yet because most five year olds currently attending, " hit the ground running" by the time they arrive on campus. I was shocked that my child was not admitted however I'm shure the program is without question a good one.

Nearby schools

St. Margaret's Episcopal School
31641 La Novia Avenue, San Juan Capistrano, CA  92675
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 40 reviews. (949) 661-0108
Last modified St. Margaret's Episcopal School is a Private school that serves grades K-12
Top