Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 9 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Garfield Elementary School 5

Posted August 20, 2014
- a community member
Garfield San Leandro and this is my grandson 1st day in Kindergarten and we already love the teacher she is amazing this school is great- Classroom 2!!

Garfield Elementary School 5

Posted January 28, 2013
- a parent
This school is great! My daughter has been here from kindergarten to 5 grade. She loved it , although she would complain about homework but that is normal. She has had excellent teachers. A lot of her test scores are really great. I belive that this school was a great choice.


Garfield Elementary School 5

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
Garfield is an amazing school! The teachers and staff truly care about our kids. The parents are dedicated and the kids are wonderful!

Garfield Elementary School 4

Posted May 21, 2009
- a parent
My two daughters attend Garfield. One is in 5th grade and the other in 3rd. They have been there since kindergarten. The teaching staff are excellent. Since Garfield is a program improvement school we benefit from the reduced size classrooms. The year-round schedule always was a big plus for me, however Garfield will be going traditional for the 2009-2010 year due to budget restraints. One huge minus is the lack of a GATE program. Last year was the first year of the 4 years we have been there to actually have some sort of GATE program, albeit small. That lasted a whole 6 months, now we are back to a big zero! Lots of guidance for the children who are below basic to basic, but nothing for the students who are above average.

Garfield Elementary School 4

Posted December 17, 2008
- a parent
My son went to school here from 1st thru 5th, and my daughter from K thru 4th until we have to moved to SLZSD. It's a small community, school staff from the Principal down to the janitor, are friendly and helpful. They are accommodating. What I really like at this school is it's year-round school. Kids don't have a long summer in a way it's good for them so they still have that enthusiasm. The 3 weeks school intercession during Fall and Spring keeps the kids not to burned out from school and this is a good time for parents and family together to make some family vacation/bonding since it's off-season to go some places. I'm just sad that this is the only school that's a year-round school for this school district. Both my kids missed this school and they had fun memories, so have I.


Garfield Elementary School 5

Posted June 05, 2008
- a community member
Garfield is a great school.I attended this school a couple of years ago and i loved every second since k-5 grade.The school has taught more than enough.And the school had many fun events.parents were always involved with the schools activities.Garfiels is great!

Garfield Elementary School
no rating

Posted December 05, 2007
- a parent
I love Garfield espically the year round schedule. They have great taechares and an excellent principal

Garfield Elementary School 5

Posted June 02, 2006
- a parent
The academic programs are top notch. My older daughter joined GATE through Garfield. She also joined the Band program and continues today at the middle school. Garfield has a number of extracuricular and after-school activities open to all students including soccer, volleyball and karate. Parent involvement is low but the parents that do volunteer (including my husband and myself) are a core group that show up and help at all events and class projects. The staff is very friendly and have an open-door policy for the parents. My husband and I are alumni of Garfield, and it is still the same great community that it was when we were going here 30 years ago.


Garfield Elementary School 5

Posted October 13, 2004
- a parent
My son likes that school so I took him there when he was in kindergarten but left in 1st and 2nd grade. Now he's in 5th grade.

Nearby schools

Garfield Elementary School
13050 Aurora Drive, San Leandro, CA  94577-3159
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. (510) 618-4300
Last modified Garfield Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top