Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Jefferson Elementary School 1

Posted June 04, 2014
- a parent
Please don't send your child to this school. They are lazy, overcrowded, too concentrated on non english speaking students and non caring. They are graduation two of my children to 6th grade with 2nd grade math and english ratings. The teachers are disresapectful and rude to the students. The principal apparently can't take it anymore either as he is leaving and going back to teaching at another school. This school is terrible. I would rather home school my children than send them here.

Jefferson Elementary School 5

Posted July 30, 2012
- a parent
For the diverse group this school works with, the teachers are excellent. Especially for the hispanic population. My son loves school and can't wait til summer is over to get back to Jefferson. These last four years he's gotten excellent teachers, Mrs. West, Ms Tam, Ms burl, Mrs. Babel. If your child gets any of these teachers - they are in good hands. The best part is the principal here cares. Much much better then the one a good years back. Jefferson Rocks--


Jefferson Elementary School 5

Posted February 02, 2011
- a parent
I am really happy with this school. My daughter has been here for five years and so far we've been very lucky. All of the teachers she has had have been excellent. It is hard for me to read the last two bad reviews. They have several different teacher for each grade so maybe a few have not been as good as others but from my experience my daughter has excellent teacher for all grades she has attended. Some teachers are better for certain personalities and it sounds like a few of the students just didn't click with there teacher. The principal is excellent as well. This school doesn't put up with any bullying and I find that assuring, I just wish this school went to the 6th grade. Thumbs up Jefferson.

Jefferson Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 15, 2009
- a parent
I have been involved in this school for 7 years already. I have seen how Jefferson has made many changes that are allowing to create a better environment for students, teachers and parents. It is hard for me to read comments that reflect a side of Jefferson that I have never seen. I do agree that any school faces challenges, but something that I would like to highlight is that everyone that many teachers and school personel that I know, have been doing great efforts to make thigs work at Jefferson. Thumbs up for all the great effort!!!

Jefferson Elementary School
no rating

Posted August 30, 2009
- a parent
This has been the worse school ever! My daughter came out of 4th grade knowing less then when she went in. The teachers have little to no control over their classrooms. There is very little parent envolvement and the office staff needs to be replaced by competent people. Just go look at the test score from last year. If you have any choice at all, do not send your child to school here. Home school your children before allowing them to attend a school like this!!!


Jefferson Elementary School 5

Posted March 24, 2009
- a parent
My son is in first grade and loves Jefferson. His kindergarden teacher last year was great- Mrs. West. She prepared him very well for first grade. He didn't go to preschool but that was not a problem for Mrs. West because of her dedication she caught him right up to the rest of the class in no time. He really enjoys his first grade teacher also. The principal is also great. He is really into making this school a great one.

Jefferson Elementary School 5

Posted November 18, 2008
- a parent
The new principal is great. He is very involved and is very easy to talk to. I hope he stays at Jefferson for a very long time.

Jefferson Elementary School 5

Posted October 06, 2008
- a parent
My daughter is a fourth grader this year and she loves her school and all of her teachers! Ms. Pepares (kindergarden), Ms. Miller (second grade), Ms. Burle (third grade), Ms. Ball (P.E.), and Mr. Beatty (fourth grade) and all the other teachers in the school are wonderful. They put in a lot of effort in helping kids to learn in the classroom, communicating with parents, and arranging school field trips. This is a newly build school with wonderful playgrounds.


Jefferson Elementary School 5

Posted October 01, 2008
- a parent
My son is in kindergarden and loves to go to school everyday. Mrs. West the kindergarden teacher is great. She makes learning fun for the kids. She keeps the parents very involved by giving homework for the parents to work with their children at home every night to further their education. You can tell she really cares about giving your child the best education possible. From what I hear from other parents most of the other teachers at this school feel the same way and are very dedicated.

Jefferson Elementary School 5

Posted March 12, 2008
- a parent
The teachers that my son has had are really great. He has learned so much and really enjoys going to school. The kids are really friendly and not snobby at all compare to the shcools that we have experienced in the richer areas. Everyone is down to earth.

Nearby schools

Jefferson Elementary School
14300 Bancroft Avenue, San Leandro, CA  94578-1727
(510) 618-4310
Last modified Jefferson Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top