Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


McKinley Elementary School 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
My child is a returning student to McKinley. I am very please with the school. The teachers are vey nice, and the school staff have made my daughter feel comfortable.

McKinley Elementary School 5

Posted February 15, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


McKinley Elementary School 4

Posted March 04, 2009
- a parent
My daughter is currently in kindergarten at Mckinley. I was a bit nervous about the school because it is in 'School Improvement', meaning test score improvements have not kept pace with the requirements of NCLB. However, now that a good chunk of her first public school year has gone by, I am very glad I chose to send her to our local school. The new principal, Cher Mott, is very motivated and energized. The teachers that I have met so far are all dedicated and seem talented (admittedly, I have only observed my own daughter's teacher so far). I think overall, the school's administration and teaching staff are unified and organized in their effort to improve the school despite continued cuts to education and rigid curriculum guidelines imposed by the state. I gave only 4 stars because I wish that in general public education were more progressive, not the school's fault.

McKinley Elementary School 5

Posted February 15, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

McKinley Elementary School 4

Posted August 16, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


McKinley Elementary School 4

Posted May 04, 2007
- a parent
My children have attended McKinley since Kindergarten and have had a great time at McKinley. Regrettably the discipline at the school has become a problem. Kids caught fighting are put on in school suspension. These same kids return to class and get into another fight the follow day. In my experience the Principal has difficulty working with 'some' parents. This is odd because SLUSD encourages parent participation. My son has even been questioned by the principal about my presence at school. Overall, I love McKinley and feel the teachers are doing a awesome job. Mrs. Ball a fourth grade teacher, takes her kids on standardized based field trips and several teachers have in class projects that bring a hands on approach to learning that works well w/kids. The outdoor education program, math club and organized play at recess shows that McKinley teachers care about their students.

McKinley Elementary School 5

Posted August 18, 2006
- a parent
Last year I had noticed that McKinley's rating was lower than some other schools, but when I looked at the school composition, I realized that McKinley was taking in a lot of the 'harder' students and succeeding in educating them.

McKinley Elementary School 4

Posted April 28, 2006
- a parent
I am very happy with this school. My son use to be in a charter school before which was a good school, but he needed something closer to home.


McKinley Elementary School 4

Posted April 05, 2006
- a parent
McKinley is a school that has undergone many changes over the years that our children have attended. Overall, we have been very happy with the education that they have recieved. Appropriate recommendations were made when it became apparent that one of our children had a learning disability. This child has happily remained at McKinley, and has thrived. We understand that we are undergoing another change in principals--perhaps for the better.

McKinley Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 05, 2006
- a parent
The principal is dedicated to his students. They seem to be on the up and up. Every childs needs are important and are addressed.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

McKinley Elementary School
2150 East 14th Street, San Leandro, CA  94577
(510) 618-4320
Last modified McKinley Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
McKinley Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top