Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
San Leandro, CA
Students enrolled: 1,007
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


John Muir Middle School 2

Posted September 03, 2013
- a parent
I'm a parent of a sixth grade student at John Muir middle school. I had concerns about classes since the beginning of the school year. There are no counselors available to speak with parents. And the principal does not address the issue. Not happy with the communication between office staff, principal and parents. Calls are not returned And everyone is too busy if you stop by.

John Muir Middle School 4

Posted January 22, 2011
- a community member
I think John Muir is a great school. ALL teachers and staff are always nice and helping. Most of the students there are pretty nice too. There are very few fights and even though this school has kind of low test scores, they aren't the teachers' fault. A lot of the teachers there are excellent and I'm an A/B+ student there. It is a pretty safe campus and it always feels welcoming. There are a large variety of clubs too. I love this school! And when I read some of the past reviews, it saddens me of the things that people say about this school. It is a great school and it has improved a lot in the past years.


John Muir Middle School 0
no rating

Posted December 08, 2009
- a student
this school is a family, evry student here love and can fit in to any category, as a student myself, i have to say that jhn muir is the most welcoming school ever. they focus on the things you need help on and are already helping kids get to college! the teachers here are so supportive and the counselors are very helpful. the staff lets all students accept who htey are and theaches them to love thier differences.:)

John Muir Middle School 2

Posted July 21, 2009
- a parent
My child grades are great. My concern is Communication is Poor with School Staff including the Teachers. Security Personal are not friendly to students and parents.Uniform Policy with must Have Belt is to much.

John Muir Middle School 5

Posted March 13, 2009
- a parent
As an educator myself and a mom of a son who attends John Muir, I can tell you that this school is very good. The facility is a bit out dated but the kids seem to love to be there and the teachers are very dedicated. Not to mention it is a very safe environment for children to learn.


John Muir Middle School 5

Posted January 01, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

John Muir Middle School 4

Posted September 30, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

John Muir Middle School 5

Posted June 08, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


John Muir Middle School 5

Posted June 05, 2008
- a student
this school is great! The teachers have a nice way of making us learn but in a fun way.There are lots of afterschool programs.and it's really easy to make friends.

John Muir Middle School 0
no rating

Posted April 30, 2008
- a parent
I have two kids which attend John Muir 6th and 7th grade and a daughter to attend next year and I love that school and the kids enjoy being there.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

John Muir Middle School
1444 Williams Street, San Leandro, CA  94577
(510) 618-4400
Last modified John Muir Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
John Muir Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top