Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
56 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 67 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


San Leandro High School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted January 10, 2016
- a community member
Teacher effectiveness really varies by teacher and subject. Some more than others, but overall effective.

San Leandro High School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted January 10, 2016
- a community member
This varies by class and teacher. One class this semester gives too much, another not enough.


San Leandro High School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted January 10, 2016
- a community member
This school does develop determination -- however, persistence and grit are also qualities that are part of the individual. Opportunity is available at SLHS, but not all kids utilize opportunity.

San Leandro High School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted January 10, 2016
- a community member
Compassion, caring, and empathy are woven into the fabric and day to day life of SLHS as part of the ethnic and socioeconomic diversity of the school. There are kids with hardships, kids who have to be self-sufficient if they want to participate in a sports, music, or do well academically. While compassion is addressed to the students through teaching and announcements -- to live it, to see others in need, not just be told about it, that makes a difference.

San Leandro High School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted January 10, 2016
- a community member
The school develops honesty and integrity in the students by embracing diversity. The school develops fairness because success is not based on who you know or how much money your parents make, it's about what the student puts into their experience.


San Leandro High School 4

Posted January 10, 2016
- a community member
My son is a freshman at SLHS and we have several neighbors with older kids currently at SLHS or who are graduates. SLHS is a large urban high school that is ethnically and socioeconomically diverse. While this creates some challenges, I believe there far more benefits. In developing my son to one day launch into the world as a caring and successful adult, he is having a good educational experience and he is having experiences that are positively impacting him to have more empathy, self-sufficiency, and drive. This school is not perfect, and probably not a good fit for a child who needs a lot of sheltering. If you stand out front one morning while all the students are streaming in for the start of classes, the large crowd can look intimidating. There are families who qualify for free lunches and kids who are struggling, and certainly more parent involvement would be help -- but this school reflects the real world. My son is happy at the school, he's doing well, and we have found all his teachers so far to range from good to excellent. Two teachers (of the six this semester) in particular really go out of their way to support the students. The school seems to be heading in a positive direction and we are overall very happy with the school (and very happy with living in San Leandro, having moved here from San Francisco).

San Leandro High School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted August 27, 2015
- a community member
The staff works hard. It would be nice if more parents were involved in the school.

San Leandro High School 3

Posted August 27, 2015
- a community member
The student bathrooms aren't always clean. Sometimes the student toilets are overflowing with urine and feces and are always dirty. The School is multi-culturally diverse and has a lot of great programs. There are all kinds of students: some honors students, some average students, and some remedial students.


San Leandro High School 4

Posted February 27, 2015
- a student
I think reading through others rating that San Leandro High has improved a lot over the years. There are been less fights, more beautification, and more teachers that actually care for their students. I am a senior here and the last three years have been a lot better than what I hoped it to be. I'm rather satisfied.

San Leandro High School 3

Posted January 22, 2014
- a teacher
I would like to comment on the condition of SLHS. I am a new teacher here and have taught at two other school systems before, including the top school system in the state. SLHS is very diverse, with students ranging from "full-ride" type academic to extremely low achieving students. In my opinion as an educator, there are way too many students whose parents could care less about their education. When I surveyed my students, only about 25% said their parents either help them or are willing to help them with their education. Parental involvement is directly correlated to student achievement. Students that are involved and take ownership of their own academics can do very well and attend the top schools in the country, however there is a huge margin of students who are what I would call casualties of the "Kim Kardashian generation". Or thinking that somehow they can miraculously become famous or rich through no work of their own. In short, students at SLHS make their own choice about which cultural group they want to be involved and associate with.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

San Leandro High School
2200 Bancroft Avenue, San Leandro, CA  94577-6108
(510) 618-4600
Last modified San Leandro High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
San Leandro High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 67 reviews. Top