Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Felicitas Catholic School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Leandro

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $308,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,730.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 16, 2013

Students are well behaved and parents are involved, especially when compared to the public elementary and middle school down the street where it's nothing but "settle down class" for eight hours and zero instruction. Graduates are much better prepared for high school, especially when compared to the middle school down the street, who have been taught no math, science, or reading. If you're looking for strict orthodox Catholic teaching, this is not the place. Teachers are just as big of liberals as at public school. Doubt that one staff member at this school knows anything about the actual Catholic teaching on many issues. Also, they need to tighten up their middle school program. Too much shinnanigans. Playing music in class rather than teaching for example. Need orthodox traditional leadership for school to excel. Probably not going to get it. If you're a lib, who doesn't care about your kid learning that obama is wonderful, it's okay to be gay, and that recycling is the most important thing in life, then the school is fine. But, you can get that at public school for free right, so save your money. If you're looking for traditional orthodox Catholic values, then look elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2013

This is a great school if you are looking for a sense of community and really nice people. It is stuck in the Dark Ages as far as curriculum and other aspects. Few great teachers and lots of low expectations. To watch its decline has been disappointing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2010

I am the parent of five children who have all attended St. Felicitas. We have been in the parish school since 1994, when our first child started Kindergarten there. So far, three have graduated from the eighth grade, two to go! The first two went to St. Joseph Notre Dame HS upon graduation and were extremely well prepared. Our third is attending Arroyo HS now, and she is way ahead of all the other students academically. What I like most about this school is that my children are able to grow in their Catholic faith day in and day out, supported by leadership and staff, who are like an extended family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2008

St. Felicitas is a great school. Both my children attended, one has graduated and is doing well at St. Joseph Notre Dame HS. The other is in the 7th grade and enjoys the enviroment, the students and teachers. The new principal is awesome and is very involved. He even goes to after school events and supports the students by attending cyo events. We are very satisfied.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2005

My niece attended this school last year when she was in 2nd grade. She doesn't go to this school anymore because my brother moved out of the area. When she was there, my brother told me he had no complaints. He said the pastor there was very involved in the school, and that type of passion transferred over to the teachers and students. The school emphasized individualism, acknowledging that each student is different. It taught the students alot about their faith while at the same time focusing on providing a good education. According to my brother, if he had not moved out of the area, he would continue to enroll my niece in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2005

My daughter had attended this school since first grade and it has been excellent. The level of parent involvement is outstanding. They offer spanish classes so the children and learn spnish at an early age. This school is definitely worth the money! Their sports program is awesome too.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Asian 43%
White 36%
Hispanic 21%
Black 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Two or more races 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Oakland
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1650 Manor Boulevard
San Leandro, CA 94579
Phone: (510) 357-2530

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Dayton Elementary School
San Lorenzo, CA




Monroe Elementary School
San Leandro, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT