Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Private
San Leandro, CA
Students enrolled: 275
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St. Felicitas Catholic School 5

Posted May 07, 2015
- a parent
I cannot imagine my child going to any other school. The welcoming atmosphere and support you receive just from your kindergarten teacher and her aid is beyond compare. They are nurturing and supportive to your child. they also have a fantastic kinder/8th grade buddy program that gives your nervous first time student a friend to lean on and rely on for help with anything they may need. It was a great benefit for my child to have an experienced student there to hold her hand during their very nervous first days. I will never forget the comfort that the older student gave to my child which gave me even more confidence in the school. With the schools faith based teaching, religion being at the core of the values, all of the kids are taught to treat one another with kindness and care no matter age or grade level. You will proceed into each grade with confidence in the staff. You as a parent, can choose to be very involved in the school or only do the bare minimum, it's up to you - but is required of you to participate. My child has excelled academically and continues to progress with the help of her very involved teachers. The academic structure continues to impress each school year.

St. Felicitas Catholic School 2

Posted March 29, 2015
- a parent
It's strongly recommended you not send your child to here. In the last five years, the school has declined in a quality curriculum. If you can't go to mandatory meetings, they fine you. If you drop off your child on the patio in the morning, they bring them inside and fine you. The middle school is very messed up. It's been modeled into block schedule where the kids have a class every 3 days. 1/2 the class won't go to a local private school where block schedule is common. Most local public schools have a full 8 or 7 class day. Block schedule doesn't prepare kids for the HS workload. There was one incident where the entire class was penalized because a few students took birthday treats from a younger class. The teachers and principal found out who did it, but penalized all of them, refusing to let them out to recess, kept them inside for lunch for a couple weeks, and kids were forced to write essays on "leadership" and such though most of the class was nowhere near the younger class. There is really no religious enrichment. If you want your child to learn about Catholicism, take them to another school. They don't focus on religion here.


St. Felicitas Catholic School 2

Posted August 08, 2014
- a community member
There used to be a strong sense of community here about 10 or so years ago. During that time I felt like students learned a lot and the church was really welcoming. It used to be that masses were pretty full on Sundays, but since Fr. Wayne left years ago numbers dropped. Since then a lot of the quality teachers have left, leaving parents with unsatisfied with how their children are being educated. Many of the parents I've seen have left the school within a few years because they don't feel like their voices are being heard. Other than that the curriculum needs to progress. I found that recent graduates didn't know a lot of basic algebra, when compared to other schools like Challenger who learn coding and geometry before they get to high school. It puts students at a disadvantage because parents put them to a private school to get a quality education. They are behind in terms of curriculum.

St. Felicitas Catholic School 3

Posted May 16, 2013
- a parent
Students are well behaved and parents are involved, especially when compared to the public elementary and middle school down the street where it's nothing but "settle down class" for eight hours and zero instruction. Graduates are much better prepared for high school, especially when compared to the middle school down the street, who have been taught no math, science, or reading. If you're looking for strict orthodox Catholic teaching, this is not the place. Teachers are just as big of liberals as at public school. Doubt that one staff member at this school knows anything about the actual Catholic teaching on many issues. Also, they need to tighten up their middle school program. Too much shinnanigans. Playing music in class rather than teaching for example. Need orthodox traditional leadership for school to excel. Probably not going to get it. If you're a lib, who doesn't care about your kid learning that obama is wonderful, it's okay to be gay, and that recycling is the most important thing in life, then the school is fine. But, you can get that at public school for free right, so save your money. If you're looking for traditional orthodox Catholic values, then look elsewhere.

St. Felicitas Catholic School 2

Posted January 08, 2013
- a parent
This is a great school if you are looking for a sense of community and really nice people. It is stuck in the Dark Ages as far as curriculum and other aspects. Few great teachers and lots of low expectations. To watch its decline has been disappointing.


St. Felicitas Catholic School 5

Posted August 10, 2010
- a parent
I am the parent of five children who have all attended St. Felicitas. We have been in the parish school since 1994, when our first child started Kindergarten there. So far, three have graduated from the eighth grade, two to go! The first two went to St. Joseph Notre Dame HS upon graduation and were extremely well prepared. Our third is attending Arroyo HS now, and she is way ahead of all the other students academically. What I like most about this school is that my children are able to grow in their Catholic faith day in and day out, supported by leadership and staff, who are like an extended family.

St. Felicitas Catholic School
no rating

Posted January 24, 2008
- a parent
St. Felicitas is a great school. Both my children attended, one has graduated and is doing well at St. Joseph Notre Dame HS. The other is in the 7th grade and enjoys the enviroment, the students and teachers. The new principal is awesome and is very involved. He even goes to after school events and supports the students by attending cyo events. We are very satisfied.

St. Felicitas Catholic School 4

Posted April 10, 2005
- a parent
My niece attended this school last year when she was in 2nd grade. She doesn't go to this school anymore because my brother moved out of the area. When she was there, my brother told me he had no complaints. He said the pastor there was very involved in the school, and that type of passion transferred over to the teachers and students. The school emphasized individualism, acknowledging that each student is different. It taught the students alot about their faith while at the same time focusing on providing a good education. According to my brother, if he had not moved out of the area, he would continue to enroll my niece in this school.


St. Felicitas Catholic School 5

Posted February 16, 2005
- a parent
My daughter had attended this school since first grade and it has been excellent. The level of parent involvement is outstanding. They offer spanish classes so the children and learn spnish at an early age. This school is definitely worth the money! Their sports program is awesome too.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Felicitas Catholic School
1650 Manor Boulevard, San Leandro, CA  94579
(510) 357-2530
Last modified St. Felicitas Catholic School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
St. Felicitas Catholic School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top