Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Leander

Private | K-8 | 206 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Leandro

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $280,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,320.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 20, 2013

We have a son in the 4th grade and a daughter in the 2nd grade ending their 4th year at St. Leander. The school offers one of the only Pre-K at a Catholic School in the area, a diverse student body, a strong community, solid academics, and extensive parental involvement. With a single class per grade level (usually 20 - 25 children per grade) the kids have an opportunity to form strong & lasting friendships, and receive individualized attention from the staff. The school frequently places as many or more children each year in excellent high schools (e.g. Bishop O Dowd). My kids LOVE, LOVE, LOVE St. Leander School, love their teachers, their friends and the school community. It s like their second home. We couldn't be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2013

This is an excellent school. My oldest child has attended this school for the past 9 years (he started in Pre-K). My children are not perfect and they don't fit a "cookie cutter mold". They have occasionally had problems with other students and with academic subjects. Through it all, their teachers have consistently been caring, concerned and willing to meet with me to address any concerns or questions. The school has invested in technology, and they do an excellent job of using technology as part of their curriculum. Because the school is small, students are not broken into academic tracks. So the school may be frustrating for a truly gifted student who needs more challenge. However, the size of the school allows you to get to know the faculty, staff, and other parents. This creates a real sense of community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2013

This school is a joke. Teachers who don't have the skill set to engage the children or communicate with parents. No bullying policy is useless. There is a lack of structure with these teachers. This school is fine if your child fits into the cookie cutter mold. We will be pulling my nephew from this school next year and I don't recommend waiting your money.


Posted February 7, 2013

The school has low academic standards. Bullying issues are not appropriately handled. Very dissapointed at the school.


Posted January 27, 2012

My son attends St. Leander and it is an excellent school...education, teachers and the principal, Mrs. Mullen, is the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2010

Great school. Excellent teachers and staff, most have been around for years and had even taught the parents of some of today's children. No tolerance for bullying, the children are taught to be caring and respectful. They have Art, PE, Music and Technology classes.


Posted August 19, 2010

I was very dissapointed when my son attended this school last year. The teachers have a very old school out look on real life and as long as you are throwing money at the school... your chis is allowed to get away with things that even a public school wouldnt allow.. and missing a payment leaves you on the "list"... so beware to those thinking about this school... also... the teacher assistants are constantly changing...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2009

I am really disappointed with this school. My kids were there for over 6 years, but ran into issues with high staff turnover. The staff is unwilling to deal with any issues that come up. This school is only for super quiet academic kids who fit the 'mold'. No accomodations will be given to kids who don't 'fit' in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2008

I now have two children in this school and not only do they love it, but I love it. It is a great community and the teachers really care that children are learning and supported.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2008

high quality administration and vision. Students excell
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2006

My daugther attended 6, 7 and next year 8th grade at St. Leander. The coursework has been very challenging, however, the teachers are very helpful and the students help each other. The school is very supportive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2006

This year was the first for both my children. I was impressed my progress my children made.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2005

The quality of academic programs available to students are fine for the lower school, but for the middle school, I would have like to see more time for pre-alegbra and spanish. This would have helped in preparing them for high school. The Spanish class only met once or twice a week; more time is needed for high school in order to retain information. I also would have liked to see more time spent in English on grammer and writing. With the new SAT's coming out our students our lacking in that department. This makes it harder when they get into high school. Availabity of extracurricular activities at a private school is very limited. Parental involvement is mandatory at a private school and parents did get involve.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2004

St. Leander has a wonderful cirriculum that seems to be one year ahead of a 'normal' school. The homework given is appropriate for the age of the child. The homework and weekly folders keep parents informed and make sure that every parent is aware of what is going on both at the school and with their child. Parent/teacher conferences and progress reports are also helpful and ensure parental involvement. I love that they give a 'break' to single parents by reducing the service hours required. They also have reasonable tuition compared to other Catholic schools in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2003

In 2002 we tried to enrolled our child at St. Leanders and were unsuccessful, because of so many requests. We were so fortunate to have her enrolled this year 2003 for 1st grade. It is so wonderful to see principal, parents, and teachers ALL involved working together to have our children be successful and to learn how to care for one another and respect each other. To see staff care about their students safety as if is was their own child. We are also thankful that our child is learning religion and receiving very good education.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 27% 11%
Black 21% 6%
Hispanic 20% 52%
Two or more races 19% 3%
White 12% 26%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Lynne Kennedy Mullen
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Oakland
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

451 Davis Street
San Leandro, CA 94577
Phone: (510) 351-4144

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Anchor Education
San Leandro, CA


Wilson Elementary School
San Leandro, CA



The Principled Academy
San Leandro, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT