Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Chinese Christian Schools?San Leandro

Private | K-8 | 278 students

We are best known for strong academics & community.

 
 

Living in San Leandro

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $308,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,730.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 4, 2014

I attended this school for 5 years total, and I loved it so much. If it were not for the financial problems my family had, I would have loved to stay. The teachers are very patient and kind. I could tell they really cared and wanted to help. The school lunches were incredible, and the other students were very friendly. I've gone from CCS to public school, back to CCS and now in public school again and I have no doubt that this is my favorite school ever. If I had the chance, I would come back. Although, there is quite a lot of schoolwork and homework, it truly helps. This school prepares you in all ways for your future. You also learn a lot about God and it is very peaceful and loving there especially compared to a public school where fights happen about once every few weeks. I've never heard of a fight going on while I was there, and there's so much more I would love to say about this school, but it's difficult to summarize all the greatness in a review. Overall, I'd just like to say this is a wonderful school.


Posted July 24, 2013

really difficult but made me very prepared. I am leaving this year to a different school to meet more people because my 8th grade class had only 20 people. There was only one class too. You are very protected from drugs and alcohol. I have never in my life seen or heard anyone at CCS smoke, drink, or do drugs. So if you are looking for a very protected school you have found it. It does also really emphisize christian standards. All and i mean ALL (there arent many) are extremely caring and think of you as their own. Trust me. They love you and they show it. But let me warn you, this school is difficult! I had a GPA of 3.0 at this school and i now have a GPA of 4.0 at a public school. They really prepare you.


Posted March 22, 2012

Honestly, there is too much homework in 6th grade, but the overall general school atmosphere is great! Every other year's field trip always has meaning, and the Mandarin classes are great. The students are disciplined and respectful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2012

CCS is a good school for anyone. In Elementary everybody will get along. In Middle School you will get more homework and stricter teachers but you will have a little more freedom then Elementary. You also get 2 lockers. But in 7th grade the teacher is very lazy so I recommend you to switch to Alameda for 7th grade then switch back for 8th grade.


Posted June 15, 2011

This school is a good school but when you get into 6 garde depand on which teacher they put you in. My girl who has a teach name Tina . She is the wrost teacher that i ever seem. Not even i complaim about her, all my relative 's children who had her class before also complaim about her. I personal do not like her at all....She is a very unfair teacher and alway think that she is right even thought she did not. I hope all parents need to careful when your child get into 6 garde make sure that you don't have this teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2009

I love Chinese Christian Schools because it has such a great atmosphere. Everyone in our grade is like one big family. 99.9% of students graduate from Chinese Christian Schools. Overall it is a wonderful experience and you get a chance to learn more about God.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2009

Great Academics, Amazing Teachers, and a safe environment for learning.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 28, 2009

What other school has one hundred of its students go to college? We also have ridiculous pass rates and 5 rates on the APs. Our teachers care about our students and have classes small enough for personal attention. Best of all, the teachers don't teach just academically but also guide students through life. What more could a parent want?
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 28, 2009

It has good academic as well as moral standards where people can actually communicate with their teachers and staff on a one-on-one basis.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 28, 2009

It made me the person i am now and my parents are proud of what i have acheived. The teachers are so friendly too, i love them so much. Although i don't attend CCS anymore, it's my favorite school and i miss it greatly. In the future, i will totally send my kids here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 14, 2009

CCS doesn't provide for individualized attention which you will find in other private schools. The students are expected to keep up with the class or fall behind. The class sizes are very large which explains the lack of attention to each student. The school could do a better job in making improvements to the campus. It's very outdated and almost an eyesore for it to be considered a private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2009

As the parent of a former student of CCS I have to say that the quality of education provided by the staff is excellent. We sent our daughter here for 2 years for K-1st and would have definitely continued if financial distress had not set in for our family. I must say that we owe a substantial debt of gratitude for the education, care and mentoring the CCS teachers provided our daughter. They deserve our sincerest gratitude and we would absolutely recommend this school to any interested parents looking for a high quality Christian education for their kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2008

My two kids go to this school since kindergarten. We were pretty satisfied with their elementary school very responsible, open minded principle; nice and kind teachers with good qualification. But now we re thinking about transferring out our kids to other middle school because the leadership team in middle school doesn t seem care about the parents opinion. The teachers are not organized enough (frequently make score error). The campus is old. Very disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2008

I agree that there are too little extra curricular. The curriculum leaves little or no room for creativity, which is very important f problem solving, especially when they come to the working world. I am disappointed that all they focus on is academics. Also every year they increase 10% of their tuition. For what? Their curriculum is taught similar to traditional old school methods. Classrooms, everything is is very old and not modern yet they increase the tuition.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2008

There are very few extra curricular activities to participate in.I find that many of the teachers emphasize memorization. There is a lack of diversity as Asians make up 99% of the school. On a positive note, the school is in a very safe environment. Fights never occur and students are very disciplined.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 16, 2007

they have excellent teachers and we are more than you think. those people who say that our school is bad is wrong. some students even come back as teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2007

I sent my 3 kids here, 2 who have graduated here, and the last one who is begging to leave. The academics are good, but some teachers do expect the students to learn on their own. The facility is dirty, but I believe its because everything is so outdated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2007

This private school is similar to public school because the school is not well maintained. The campus is very old. There are a lot of homework which you need to spend a lot of time to practice with your children. We wish the teacher will spend more time teaching in the classroom. Lastly, there are so many days off and minimum days at this school. The school is over rated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2007

I'm so disappointed about this school. Firstly, the facility of the San Leandro Campus was so dated. If you want your sons/daughters to build up a strong Christian character, this is not the right school for you. Finally, I choose another Christian School even though they charge much higher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2006

My 2 high-school & middle-school-aged children have attended CCS since kindergarten. At CCS, they are challenged to grow academically, spiritually, & in character. Although not perfect, the teachers are loving, caring, & wonderful role-models; and I believe they work very hard to see that their students succeed. Standards are high, the school environment is safe, & the character of the overall student body is outstanding. When compared to the price of many other private schools in this area, CCS is a great value in many ways.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Two or more races 11% 3%
Black 2% 6%
Hispanic 1% 52%
White 1% 26%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Chinese (Cantonese)
Korean
Chinese (Mandarin)
Spanish
Vietnamese
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • ACSI Exemplary School (2007)
  • ACSI Exemplary School
  • National Blue Ribbon School

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Korean
  • Spanish
  • Vietnamese

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Edward Yue
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (510) 351-1789

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Foreign languages
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Korean
  • Spanish
  • Vietnamese
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Remediation
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Garden
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Parents are encouraged to take part in every aspect of the school program. we have a parent-teacher fellowship that has a monthly newsletter and sponsors various meetings and activities. the school is very active in community events and community service.
More from this school
  • Visit our website at www.ccs-rams.org for more information about our two campus locations: San Leandro and Alameda.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
University of California
California State University
University of the Pacific
College preparation / awareness offered
Summer college prep programs
College prep programs/courses during the year
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

750 Fargo Avenue
San Leandro, CA 94579
Website: Click here
Phone: (510) 351-4957

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Grant Elementary School
San Lorenzo, CA


Dayton Elementary School
San Lorenzo, CA


Monroe Elementary School
San Leandro, CA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT