Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
120 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 22 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


The Principled Academy 5

Posted December 09, 2015
- a community member
My Children were so shy when they started Principled Academy,because of the warm attention which the staff showed to the kid's and Support they grew up to be Compassionate,Helpful & more Sensitive to other's because it's a character Education School my children were molded to be Great in Character,Thank You Principled Academy.

The Principled Academy 5

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
Principled Academy provides a close-knit learning environment for students in which each child is known by all staff. It's a home away from home for my daughter.


The Principled Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 09, 2015
- a community member
I am grateful for Trevor a key teacher in the preschool and after school program. I am appreciative of his effort, attitude, and expertise in educating the kids.

The Principled Academy
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted December 08, 2015
- a community member
Even though a lot of homework is not given, it is meaningful and makes the students think.

The Principled Academy 5

Posted December 08, 2015
- a community member
I have never been at a school where the staff, head of school and principal knows every child's name and/or family name. For me, it was the first sign of a caring environment. My daughter also feels like she is at home there.


The Principled Academy
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted December 08, 2015
- a community member
I am grateful for the school office manager, Nancy. I believe she does so much and does not get enough credit. I say she is the glue that hold the pieces together.

The Principled Academy 5

Posted February 11, 2015
- a parent
We are very happy with the school. It s amazing how many Kids from all over the the world you can find there, a trully multicultural environment. My Kids started last year in preschool and It was hard at the beginning because they didn t know english at all, so for them was difficult. But we had a lot of support from the teachers and soon they were adapted and have been enjoying a lot the school. The ambiance is nice and cozy and teachers are very kind and patient. There are lots of activities that involve the students. Big kids are very nice and helpful with the little ones and I think the school has a lot to do with this.

The Principled Academy 5

Posted September 23, 2014
- a parent
I have 3 kids at the school for the past 5 years now. My wife and I are struggling to keep them there because every time we mention sending them to public school for purely financial reasons, they go bonkers! There's a strong sense of community, caring, and respect. But I think above it all, my kids experience love there. Love from the teachers. And their classmates. The school recognizes good behaviors and gives awards out to each and every student every year. Character awards like generosity, kindness, imaginative, loyal, creative, etc... Bringing out the best in students and encourage them to be true champions for life. Def highly recommend this school.


The Principled Academy 5

Posted April 08, 2014
- a parent
I have 3 children attending The Principled Academy and I am very satisfied with the school - curriculum, emphasis on character education, small class size. Teachers seem to genuinely care for all the students. Most parents seem to share similar values and views on education, life and what we want for our children. I am not necessary against public schools but when there are 25, 30, or even 35 students in one class, I don't think our children are able to receive the attention and care that they deserve and need in order to learn and excel. At The Principled Academy, teachers and staff members take time to get to know and understand each student and his/her family. And I know all of us - parents, students and teachers - feel the school community is almost like a family. We are so fortunate to be able to have our children grow and learn to love learning in such an emotionally stable and warm environment.

The Principled Academy 4

Posted July 27, 2013
- a parent
As far as the educators caring about each individual student, the school gets ten stars. Never before have I felt as though administration cared so much about my kids, along with their teachers. Everyone knows my kids, their names, my first & last name, they acknowledge me, recognize me, ask me how I am.... it truly feels like a family environment. For that I am very grateful. I docked a star because the building and resources are slightly outdated. Simply a funding issue. As far as learning capabilities, one of my children is ahead of the curve in reading and math, and the other is at grade level. I sincerely appreciate the fact that the school acknowledges that each child learns at a different pace and creates activities to accommodate this. They also do not have hard and fast cut offs for ages etc. Yes, it falls within state guidelines, but not a hard and fast NO for everything. I would definitely recommend The Principled Academy to other parents. And the price cannot be beat.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Principled Academy
2305 Washington Avenue, San Leandro, CA  94577
(510) 351-6400
Last modified The Principled Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
The Principled Academy Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top