Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Redwood Christian Middle School And High School 5

Posted November 22, 2010
- a parent
This is a wonderful school. They really care about the students. They are committed to helping them and making sure they understand what they are being taught. I also love the fact that they are a Christian School. God Bless them.

Redwood Christian Middle School And High School 5

Posted November 18, 2010
- a parent
This is for all of the parents out there looking for a school to place your children in. Redwood Christian is a great choice. My daughter started in the fourth grade, and is now in the seventh. We have had nothing but excellence from the teachers and staff of our school. It is a great learning environment. Being a Christian school is great. That is a plus in my view, but it's the education you get from our school , teacher quality, and leadership that really brings it all together. Parents are very involved also, so please come see for yourself...!!


Redwood Christian Middle School And High School 5

Posted November 08, 2010
- a parent
My child transfered in from public school this year. He has just completed the first quarter at Redwood Christian Junior High and I am very pleased. He is very happy, has had no trouble making new friends, and has a desire to work hard and do his best. He is being challenged, encouraged and respected. I have never seen him happier about school as he is this year. I think he likes the smaller environment. I couldn't be happier with the superior communication with the teachers and staff. I able able to keep close track of his progress in each class as well as stay informed of homework & test dates. I'm confident that the decision to place him in RCS is best for him at this time.

Redwood Christian Middle School And High School 3

Posted December 16, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Redwood Christian Middle School And High School 5

Posted October 25, 2008
- a parent
Redwood Christian Junior High & Senior High is an excellent academic institution. Several of the other reviews do not offer a true perspective of the school. If RCS has forgotten about the 'education' part of its mission, then why would the Western Association of Schools and Colleges have granted the maximum accreditation terms of 6 years? RCS runs two dual academic programs: College Prep and Basic Ed. Students educated in the College Prep program are accepted into the finest universities in our country, including UC Berkeley, UC Davis, Stanford, and the US Air Force Academy. RCS currently offers 5 Advance Placement classes and is planning on expanding the curriculum in the future, as well as an SAT Prep Class on Saturdays. Meanwhile, the Basic Ed program is for students with learning difficulties; it is not a college prep program and its students are not headed toward the university.


Redwood Christian Middle School And High School 0
no rating

Posted October 25, 2008
- a parent
I have 3 kids at Redwood Christian Schools all at different levels. I have been extremely happy with the education of my children. All my children are challenged both on an academic and spiritual level. The teachers have been nothing but professional and have pushed my children beyond what they thought they could handle. It is therefore understandable that not every child would perform well in such a rigorous atmosphere as written in some of the previous ratings. Redwood does such a great job that many of my friend s children find college level work routine.

Redwood Christian Middle School And High School 2

Posted October 10, 2008
- a community member
I echo the first review above. Most teachers are excellent when it comes to having a sound biblical education themselves and a sincere love for Christ, but this school will not prepare students for the rigorous entrance requirements of the higher ranked UC schools let alone more prestigeous national schools. RCS wake up and teach your students to strive for the highest goals in their love for God and in their love for learning about God's creation! Give [instruction] to a wise [man], and he will be yet wiser: teach a just [man], and he will increase in learning. Proverbs 9:9

Redwood Christian Middle School And High School 0
no rating

Posted July 27, 2007
- a community member
this school i believe that u will not have a chance to get into a the college that u want to go in the future . also i belive that if you go into the concept help program at that school you would be behind and that it is not a college course . if you deciede to put your child in that program


Redwood Christian Middle School And High School 2

Posted September 05, 2006
- a former student
If you are looking for a school which is thoroughly committed to Christ-centered education, you and your child will be very happy with Redwood. If you are looking for a prep school, other Christian schools in the Bay Area may be a better choice. While the superintendent, administration and teachers may be committed to biblical teaching, they are neglecting their position as educators and do not understand the immense trust that Christian families have placed in them to educate their children beyond a sound biblical foundation so that young Christian men and women can excel at top national colleges and universities. If Redwood were to add calculus, AP science classes and SAT prep to their curriculum, they could be an educational beacon in the Bay Area. Redwood's core value is 'Christ-centered education'. They have the 'Christ'; they've just forgotten the 'education'...The elementary schools, however, are fantastic. Consider transfer after grade 6.

Redwood Christian Middle School And High School 5

Posted June 23, 2005
- a staff
I was a teacher's aide for one year and worked with several grade levels. I was very impressed with the knowledgable teachers and their dedication to their students. They had a lot of great programs, especially for a private school. Their science and math programs were top notch! I worked with the peach program, which is for students that are struggling in regular class rooms and need additional help. I think that it is great that they have a program for kids that are struggling and that they do not get left behind but get the extra attention that they need.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Redwood Christian Middle School And High School
1000 Paseo Grande, San Lorenzo, CA  94580
(510) 317-8990
Last modified Redwood Christian Middle School And High School is a Private school that serves grades 6-12
Redwood Christian Middle School And High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top