Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hawthorne Elementary School 5

Posted September 15, 2014
- a parent
We love Hawthorne! This is our second year and we have had a wonderful experience so far. The principle is incredible. He actively works to help the kids get the best possible education. The teachers are top notch! My youngest had a rough start and the school teachers, principal, special needs teacher, school psychologist all kindly, patiently, and thoroughly worked with my child and us. Both of my kids love going to school. We love that this school is San Luis Obispo's downtown school. Lot's of history and diversity. The kids at this school are also exceptionally friendly and kind. My oldest son is very shy and he's only been treated kindly by his peers. I hope that continues. Thank you Hawthorne Elementary for helping give our kids a great start to their education!

Hawthorne Elementary School 5

Posted February 26, 2014
- a parent
As a parent with a special needs child it is crucial to find a school which will provide for my childs educational needs. The principal, teachers, and faculty staff exemplify this at Hawthorne Elementary school. I am very happy with the principals leadership and positive atmosphere he has established at the school. You can see it with the teachers, faculty staff, and students. Thank you for providing such a valuable education for my child.


Hawthorne Elementary School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
My son has been going here for the past two years and he loves it. All the teachers and staff are extremely helpful and genuinely care about each of their students.

Hawthorne Elementary School 5

Posted August 12, 2012
- a parent
This school will restore your belief in the public school system. We have attended for 3 years now, and look forward to the next three. From the enthusiasm and knowledge of the teachers, to the commitment and interest of the support staff - we have been thoroughly impressed with this elementary school of over 300 students, all known by name to the principal.

Hawthorne Elementary School 5

Posted August 31, 2008
- a parent
This is a wonderful school. All the teahers, staff and principal, care about the students and they are very good at communicating with both the student and their parents. This school is a hidden treasure with so much positive energy. I wish I would have transferrred my child here sooner.


Hawthorne Elementary School 5

Posted October 16, 2007
- a parent
My son attends the special day class for kindergarteners at Hawthorne and it has been a wonderful experience for both of us. The teacher and the paraprofessional aides are tuned in to his needs and provide a unique educational program and supplies for him and he is progressing well. The kids have music and art every day, physical education and library time every week. I volunteer once a week and enjoy seeing him and his classmates learning language and mathematics, social skills and citizenship while having fun. Go Hawthorne!

Hawthorne Elementary School 5

Posted October 15, 2007
- a parent
I had no idea when reviewing elementary schools in our area, what a truly unique place Hawthorne is. Once we began Hawthorne, and started to really get to know the staff, teachers, principal and parents at the school we had no doubt we had made the best choice. The programs that are in place to reach both kids that need additional help as well as those that need to be challenged above grade level really help to focus on each child and not allow kids to get lost in a classroom. The care and satisfaction of the teachers along with the tremendous support from the principal is widely felt by parents and students alike. We could not be happier or ask for a better place for our children.

Hawthorne Elementary School 5

Posted September 25, 2007
- a student
This is an amazing school, full of love and friendship. I am glad to attend Hawthorne.


Hawthorne Elementary School 5

Posted August 28, 2007
- a parent
I am proud to say I have a 6th, 3rd, and 2nd grader all at Hawthorne and all have attended since kindergarten. Hawthorne is an amazing place. The teachers work together to accommodate a range of learning requirements and I have always felt that my child's individual needs have always been met (above and beyond). The positive attitude from the Principal, to the teachers the kids and parents is contagious! Because of the small class size, everyone is friends and knows each other. The PTA does not go overboard with fundraising, etc. We get what we need and not make a big deal about money. I feel that Hawthorne is greatly mis-understood in the community, it is difficult to put into words how special this school is. If anyone has the opportunity to send their child to this school, don't miss it. The rewards are bigger than you may think.

Hawthorne Elementary School 5

Posted August 28, 2007
- a parent
Hawthorne School is a hidden jewel. It is truly a family, and with high academic goals. Hawthorne is a wonderfully diverse school, truly a slice of real-life.

Nearby schools

Hawthorne Elementary School
2125 Story Street, San Luis Obispo, CA  93401-5232
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. (805) 596-4070
Last modified Hawthorne Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top