Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Community Christian School

Private | K-8

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in San Marcos

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $335,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,600.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 21, 2013

Fabulous parents and wonderful volunteer teachers. The minimum day is great for students through fourth grade, but more difficult for the older kids. The biggest concern is the lack of teaching computers and using up to date technology. The friends you meet will last you a lifetime.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2013

This is a homeschool in a school house. Your child gets the attention he or she needs, with a Christian curriculum . The school runs 4 hours with parents participating on a weekly bases. If you love to spend time with your children and get involved in their education then this is the school for your child. I have two children in this school and I love that its small, the kids are well behaved, and are all raised with similar values and expectations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2013

For a Christian school, the administration lacks integrity. Any questions or concerns are pushed under the rug and your children are asked to leave the school. The children are just pawns.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2012

Wow. I am stunned of how many people love this school. Even though, I'm one of them. This is a great school, I totally recommend it for PreK-8th grade. Wish they would make a high school. :):):)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2012

As a Christian and a parent I would be sceptical in sending your child to this school. After three years of experience, my husband and I pulled our children out because of the lack of Christian values of which the leadership exudes. Several close families have left since for similar reasons. Principal runs school with iron fist and if you voice a concern with school practices, curriculum or anything your targeted. Then your child pays the price. All teachers fear the principal more than the Lord, it's very disheartening. Academics are good but not superior. If your child is behind at all, he'll continue to fall behind. Teachers wont put extra effort in helping though they only have 6-12 students in each grade. However teachers are only other parents and most are not accredited.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2011

I highly recommend CCS. It is an excellent school. My children have received a quality education. They are at a much higher academic level than their peers who are in public school. I love the Christian curriculum because the core subjects are taught from a Christian viewpoint. The use of planners starting in 3rd grade means my children know how to keep track of their own assignments. I especially apprec iate the minimum day so that we have plenty of family time in addition to school, homework, and activities. Because it is parent -participation, I have gotten to know the other students and their families well. My children are very safe. Tuition is affordable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2010

This school is not for everyone... it's not a "drop off your kids at 7:30am and pick them up at 4pm" school. I love this school because I get to be involved and see my kids in action. Parental involvement is required. Student study and focus is required. The classes are small so students get 100% attention and are never lost. I get constant feedback from the teachers. It's a tough school! Parents have to be willing to give it their all as much as the kids. The curriculum is excellent and stays consistent (unlike the State of California's curriculum). The administrator is very strict and insists on rules being followed or students are asked to leave the school. My kids are home by 1pm so I get to see them more. Parents who don't want to be involved with your kids, this school is not for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2010

This school is not for everyone. You need to have a quiet and well-behaved child to stay in this school. The principal has ultimate authority and is quite intimating. The classrooms are very small. The tuition may seem cheap, but there is a mandatory fund raiser that they don't tell you until you are in. You either sell certain amount of goods, or you have to pay money to school and it is not a small amount. The teacher may tell you she has X amount of experience in teaching. But when you think about it, if she only has 5-10 students a year and the school dismisses those that they don't want to deal with, there is really not a lot of students she had taught. This school is not flexible. They follow a strict curriculum and will not deviate from it to accommodate anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2009

While the school is a wonderful way to get Biblical support in an educational setting and the families as a whole are warm and inviting, it is not a school that encourages or embraces creativity and change. If you have an above average or gifted student be prepared for them to be frustrated in the lower grades. Parents are not encouraged to participate in the classroom unless a specific need arises. Despite this, there is much parent involvement but solely as infrastructure- grading, etc. not as a dynamic relationship with the staff to improve their student's learning environment. If your child is below average, above average or highly creative this program will likely be unaccommodating for them. Many of the teachers are very committed and do a great job, but just be sure this is the right fit for your child before diving in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2009

I've been thrilled with the school for my pre-k child. With only 5 students in her class, she gets a lot of personal attention and bad behavior doesn't fly under the radar. The facilities are not fancy, but that doesn't bother me because it's only a half day schedule and they don't waste any time while they are in school. I'm proud of the Bible verses my daughter has memorized and how familiar she already is with the Bible. I can't see us sending her there all the way through 8th grade because I'll probably want more of the sports teams and extracurriculars that come with a larger school, but for now, it's the perfect match for our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2008

My daughter attends prek at this school and we are very pleased. After reading all the reviews, I see the perspective that others may have that yes indeed this school is not for everyone. It's for the committed family, Christ-centered home that is willing to work with their child doing their school work, and not two parents that are working 8am-6pm. The school has a warm and friendly environment but indeed the directors and board members are in charge of how the school runs (not unlike any other school). They have been doing this for 31 years so they must be doing something right! And yes, you will need to suppliment your child's academics and bible teachings with PHYSICAL PLAY/sports where if you send them to public school, you would have to suppliment your child's learnings with stronger academics and bible teachings!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2008

This is an amazing school! I have personally attended from 3rd grade all the way to 8th grade. It takes a committed parent to help their kids through the school but it is well worth all the hard work!! The children are encouraged to join sports teams so they can have their outdoor play time after school. If you want your children to actually learn in school send them to Community Christian.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2008

This school extreme fundamentalist Christian and has a very rigid philosophy regarding the teaching of children. Most children who start at the school do not survive past 3rd of 4th grade. 90% of the parents pull their children out by 7th grade Jr. High. The classes have 5-10 students each and are 90-95% girls. Unless you have a son who is very quiet and well-behaved don't send him to this school. It is not geared for boys or active children. They don't even have an outdoor play area. The days are 1/2 days, parents are required to volunteer at least two days a week, all teachers are parents (some good, other not so good), and the principal is the ultimate authority. If you don't agree with her way of teaching and discipline for young children, this is not the school for you. It is not a parent/teacher coop.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2008

This school has so many good things to offer, but is not for everyone. It requires huge parent committment and uses a Christian based curriculum which is foundational and essentialist (i.e., lots of rote learning, memorization, etc.) The school requires parent participation 2-3 days a week for the full school day which is only 8-12:15 with a focus on academic subjects & Bible. Much work done at home with the parent. Parents act as teachers and are not required to have any certification, experience or education, just a willingness to serve. In this sense, the school is a home-school/parent coop, but not in any other sense. The school admin. is very rigid and does not encourage parent suggestions for improvement or change. This school is not for children with learning disabilities of any kind with no flexibility for these children. Gifted and above average students will do well at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2007

This school is ideal for parents who truly care about quality education and moral standards. Parents are involved in every aspect of the school. The Bible is a base for all lessons. This school isis truly a blessing for the entire family.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1645 South Rancho Santa Fe Road
San Marcos, CA 92078
Phone: (760) 744-9237

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Discovery Isle
San Marcos, CA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT