Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Private
San Marcos, CA
Students enrolled: 44

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Community Christian School 5

Posted May 23, 2014
- a parent
This school has high academic standards. The curriculum is God centered and a classical approach to education. The administration is firm; because they are overseeing that these standards are meet year after year and not compromised by popular opinion or culture. The day is set up in the four hours to cover the core subjects. The idea is with the child s day ending at school by 12:15, this gives the parents the opportunity to then pour into the child the rest of the day. Further exploring areas of Science, Music, Technology, Art, Sport and more. I feel even though the child does work hard while at school, beyond homework, they have the rest of the day to relax; play and dive into the areas were they have interests. Parents are required to participate because it is a cooperative. Working together toward the same goal. This requires parent participation. The teachers are the parents of students; they would not be sacrificing their time, if they did not believe in this type of education and the school. Children, who went to the school, now send their children to the school. I think this is a sign it works for those looking for this type of environment to grow academically.

Community Christian School 3

Posted July 21, 2013
- a parent
Fabulous parents and wonderful volunteer teachers. The minimum day is great for students through fourth grade, but more difficult for the older kids. The biggest concern is the lack of teaching computers and using up to date technology. The friends you meet will last you a lifetime.


Community Christian School 5

Posted May 31, 2013
- a parent
This is a homeschool in a school house. Your child gets the attention he or she needs, with a Christian curriculum . The school runs 4 hours with parents participating on a weekly bases. If you love to spend time with your children and get involved in their education then this is the school for your child. I have two children in this school and I love that its small, the kids are well behaved, and are all raised with similar values and expectations.

Community Christian School 1

Posted March 12, 2013
- a parent
For a Christian school, the administration lacks integrity. Any questions or concerns are pushed under the rug and your children are asked to leave the school. The children are just pawns.

Community Christian School 5

Posted December 14, 2012
- a parent
Wow. I am stunned of how many people love this school. Even though, I'm one of them. This is a great school, I totally recommend it for PreK-8th grade. Wish they would make a high school. :):):)


Community Christian School 2

Posted March 13, 2012
- a parent
As a Christian and a parent I would be sceptical in sending your child to this school. After three years of experience, my husband and I pulled our children out because of the lack of Christian values of which the leadership exudes. Several close families have left since for similar reasons. Principal runs school with iron fist and if you voice a concern with school practices, curriculum or anything your targeted. Then your child pays the price. All teachers fear the principal more than the Lord, it's very disheartening. Academics are good but not superior. If your child is behind at all, he'll continue to fall behind. Teachers wont put extra effort in helping though they only have 6-12 students in each grade. However teachers are only other parents and most are not accredited.

Community Christian School 5

Posted April 27, 2011
- a parent
I highly recommend CCS. It is an excellent school. My children have received a quality education. They are at a much higher academic level than their peers who are in public school. I love the Christian curriculum because the core subjects are taught from a Christian viewpoint. The use of planners starting in 3rd grade means my children know how to keep track of their own assignments. I especially apprec iate the minimum day so that we have plenty of family time in addition to school, homework, and activities. Because it is parent -participation, I have gotten to know the other students and their families well. My children are very safe. Tuition is affordable.

Community Christian School 4

Posted October 19, 2010
- a parent
This school is not for everyone... it's not a "drop off your kids at 7:30am and pick them up at 4pm" school. I love this school because I get to be involved and see my kids in action. Parental involvement is required. Student study and focus is required. The classes are small so students get 100% attention and are never lost. I get constant feedback from the teachers. It's a tough school! Parents have to be willing to give it their all as much as the kids. The curriculum is excellent and stays consistent (unlike the State of California's curriculum). The administrator is very strict and insists on rules being followed or students are asked to leave the school. My kids are home by 1pm so I get to see them more. Parents who don't want to be involved with your kids, this school is not for you.


Community Christian School 1

Posted February 25, 2010
- a parent
This school is not for everyone. You need to have a quiet and well-behaved child to stay in this school. The principal has ultimate authority and is quite intimating. The classrooms are very small. The tuition may seem cheap, but there is a mandatory fund raiser that they don't tell you until you are in. You either sell certain amount of goods, or you have to pay money to school and it is not a small amount. The teacher may tell you she has X amount of experience in teaching. But when you think about it, if she only has 5-10 students a year and the school dismisses those that they don't want to deal with, there is really not a lot of students she had taught. This school is not flexible. They follow a strict curriculum and will not deviate from it to accommodate anyone.

Community Christian School 3

Posted December 11, 2009
- a parent
While the school is a wonderful way to get Biblical support in an educational setting and the families as a whole are warm and inviting, it is not a school that encourages or embraces creativity and change. If you have an above average or gifted student be prepared for them to be frustrated in the lower grades. Parents are not encouraged to participate in the classroom unless a specific need arises. Despite this, there is much parent involvement but solely as infrastructure- grading, etc. not as a dynamic relationship with the staff to improve their student's learning environment. If your child is below average, above average or highly creative this program will likely be unaccommodating for them. Many of the teachers are very committed and do a great job, but just be sure this is the right fit for your child before diving in.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Community Christian School
1645 South Rancho Santa Fe Road, San Marcos, CA  92078
(760) 744-9237
Last modified Community Christian School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Community Christian School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top