Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Applied Scholastics Academy

Private | PK-8 | 50 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Marcos

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $290,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,280.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 27, 2014

My son attended Applied Scholastics Academy San Marcos - 2nd through 6th grade. The class size is small and the teachers go above and beyond teaching students how to understand concepts rather than memorize. This instilled confidence in my son and he had been able to transfer to the local public school with no problems during 7th grade. In fact, he was in Honor's English and Honor's History and both teachers noted that he was a pleasure to have in class. He maintained a 4.0 and was given a certificate by the principal. We strongly believe that Applied Scholastic and their caring Staff gave him this great head start. His confidence level took off while attending this school and he stays in touch with many of his friends that attended with him. They have all since moved on to public schools and I have heard nothing but praise from them for this school. Scientology - the religion is never thrown in your face or talked about. This is a non-secular school. My son tested at 12th grade reading level while in 6th grade. The core classes of reading, math, art and nutrition are superb!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2014

Just FYI. There is another Applied Scholastics Academy on here that is Applied Scholastics Academy North County. Please look for that name if you are interested in this private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2014

What a great school. My granddaughter is 4 1/2 years old and has been attending classes since she was 3. The class size is very small so a lot of 1 on 1 teaching is done. The activities are awesome and it teaches the kids real lifetime situations and how to handle them. They have taught Paige to read, knows her math, a little history and a little science( why things work) . I think this is a k1 through k7 school. I would highly recommend this school to anyone as I am a retired educator from Carlsbad.


Posted August 26, 2013

This school is not at this address. There is a wedding company that say they have been there for 2 years.


Posted August 28, 2012

My son is very happy at Applied Scholastics San Marcos. The staff are conservative, responsible teachers/moms who are also fun and creative. Both community cooperation and respect for the individual child are taught. Overall, the school delivers a quality product by highly motivated and intelligent people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2012

I am not usually one to put reviews online, but I needed to say something in response to the notes/reviews listed here. My children have been attending this school for years and have done very well because of it. Neither myself, nor any of my family are scientologists and the school is not a recruiting ground for scientology....As I have never been asked once if I was affiliated, interested, curious, etc. about Scientology. I have nothing but good things to say about the teaching methods, the teachers, the administrators and my families overall experience. I am sure others may have different experiences based on their own situations, but the feedback I see here couldn t be farther from my own, very positive experiences with this school. I would highly suggest you check it out for yourself to see if it fits your needs. It may not be for everyone, but I feel lucky to have found this for my family. My kids are smart, happy, and great human beings and I beleive a lot has to do with the school environment they have been in for the past few years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2012

My oldest child first started school at APS Academy in 2008 before it moved locations, now my younger child is a student there. They both LOVE going to school and are doing great! My younger child just turned five and is almost ready to start first grade material! I couldn't say enough good things about this school's teaching style and the way they communicate with my children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2011

My two children attended Applied Scholastics (formerly Delphi Academy) for two years. The School is a front organization for the Church of Scientology. I do hope that this cite "Great Schools" will post this important rating: Applied Scholastics is connected to the Church of Scientology. Do your research before you invest in this organization (school). We had a very bad experience at this school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 3, 2010

We attended Applied Scholastics for 3 1/2 years. While the campus is beautiful and the staff sells an enticing product; unfortunately, that product is not delivered. We know many ex-APA families (and teachers) that have been very negatively affected by the school. While we believe in the Study Technology, good nutrition, respect for children, room to flourish ... too many of the staff members simply did not have full comprehension of how to deliver the above. Also, communication from director/teachers to parents was poor. The school sells a small student to teacher ratio, but because of high turnover, this sales pitch is also not guaranteed. The class size often exceeded 15 per teacher and different grade levels were often combined.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2010

We have been apart of the APS Academy Family for 3 years and couldn't be happier with how my children are doing. Not only is the curriculum based on FULL comprehension learning using Study Technology, each individual student is treated with love, dignity and respect. Each child learns at his or her own pace without hinderance. The staff also makes sure that each student has proper nutrition, thus allowing the children to flourish and reach his or her maximum ability to learn. I can't say enough, how grateful I am that my kids attend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2010

We've been with APS Academy/Delphi for years and have been very pleased with it's attention to the needs of it's students. The small student to teacher ratio has been ideal, each child is assured the one on one time they may need to grasp a concept or ask a question. The curriculum is sound and efficient. The staff is attentive and helpful, they have always accomodated our family's needs. High marks from this family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2009

My 8 year old attended for two years. He truly loved his teacher(s) and friends here. His personalized education was rich and full with many learning experiences that he would not have received at a public school. I found the school management friendly and willing to work with parents. They treat each child as an individual.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
School Leader's name
  • Silvia Pearsall
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • None
Associations
  • 204
Fax number
  • (760) 752-3125
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

800 W. Mission Rd.
94
San Marcos, CA 92069
Website: Click here
Phone: (760) 753-3125

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT