Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
59 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 97 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


San Marcos High School
Grateful to: Student

Posted January 08, 2016
- a student
My friend told me not to go here. I should have listened and not wasted four years.

San Marcos High School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted January 08, 2016
- a student
There is nothing they give you except for busy work that won't matter at all.


San Marcos High School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted January 08, 2016
- a student
I am ashamed to tell people that I attend this school. I regret ever coming here.

San Marcos High School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted January 08, 2016
- a student
This school has made me hate so many people that I guess you could say I just hate and discriminate against everyone equally now. Thanks San Marcos!

San Marcos High School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted January 08, 2016
- a student
If you want to get expelled for doing any kind of creative media then don't go here.


San Marcos High School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted November 22, 2015
- a parent
Both of my kids have had great teachers, for the most part. There were a few that were mediocre, but that's life!

San Marcos High School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted November 22, 2015
- a parent
Personally, I am not a fan of homework. I have read numerous books and articles on the subject, and I honestly feel it is a poor use of time. It creates a great deal of stress for students.

San Marcos High School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted November 22, 2015
- a parent
This school offers a variety of AP classes and TONS of support from the counseling office in regards to preparing for college!


San Marcos High School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted November 22, 2015
- a parent
A student committed suicide this year. It was heartbreaking. I was pleased that the school actual addressed the issue with compassion, rather than sweeping it under the rug.

San Marcos High School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted November 22, 2015
- a parent
Students are encouraged to be responsible, and the administration does not tolerate bad behavior. Not fun when you're kid is on that end, but I support them!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

San Marcos High School
1615 San Marcos Boulevard, San Marcos, CA  92078-4020
(760) 290-2200
Last modified San Marcos High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
San Marcos High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 97 reviews. Top