Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
San Marcos, CA
Students enrolled: 2,242
Before care: No
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


San Marcos High School 1

Posted June 13, 2015
- a student
Just did a search because I was curious and saw the negative reviews. Feeling better because I have had a tough time at San Marcos. Everyone here feels like a number and the teachers and aps are always angry and not interested. School is more interested in bumping up the api score than actualy teaching us anything - and i am in the honors/ap program. Wish I went to LCC or even Mission (and that says something).

San Marcos High School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted June 09, 2015
- a community member
Very few are worthy of any kudos. They are quick to inform parents of how they are overworked and the classes overcrowded. This is like an inner-city environment ... high pressure with few resources ... and everyone is very vocal about it.


San Marcos High School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted June 09, 2015
- a community member
The staff pushes hard but does little to support the growth of all students. We wonder what the students in the "lower performing" classes must experience - it's disheartening.

San Marcos High School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted June 09, 2015
- a community member
Respect for each other - yes. Respect for the school is highly varied and oftentimes lacking.

San Marcos High School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted June 09, 2015
- a community member
Highly inconsistent attitudes ... the teachers and staff are given a lot more credit than students who perform based upon personal merit and/or integrity. They could definitely benefit from more assemblies to push this area of developing total students.


San Marcos High School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted June 09, 2015
- a community member
SMHS encourages anything that avoids open discussion, honesty and integrity. The administrative staff is often bullying and quite rude. We haven't had any personal confrontations, but the stories are endless - and from highly credible sources. I will say that even if you have an honor student, there are no points for personal credibility in any situation.

San Marcos High School 1

Posted June 09, 2015
- a community member
Explore other area schools before signing on the dotted line for this one. Our family moved into the district, because we'd heard great things ... but that appears to be more hype than reality. The classes are overcrowded, and the majority of the teachers simply cannot handle the numbers. Curriculum is sub-par by area standards, and there is no desire to push the envelope. Very few graduates attend schools one would consider superior ... and counselors certainly do not guide students toward appropriate goals. When 4.0+ students are stretching to attend Long Beach State, there's a problem. Awful. Terrible. Consider another town, go private if you can finance it, or take a tour of High Tech High. Sports? Great, but not a reason to attend a school as few athletes pursue sports (or are granted scholarships) beyond high school.

San Marcos High School 3

Posted April 27, 2015
- a student
I hear a lot of talk about our amazing new campus. It's true; we have an incredible new campus equipped with all of the latest technology. However, with a large campus comes lots of students - 3,000 to be more precise. This school is super over-crowded and I do not recommend t to anyone who has issues being around large crowds. The staff of San Marcos High is not very friendly. The supervisors have harassed friends of mine and so have office administrators. However, most students absolutely adore the counseling staff and they are all very helpful. The classes are top-notch but they're very challenging, which can be good for getting into college but many students struggle with them. If you choose to go to SMHS, you will cry more often than you bargained for, but in the end, it's not a terrible experience. I personally have not enjoyed my 2 years at SMHS and I do not plan on attending next year, but I'd recommend looking into this school and its programs before deciding to attend because it is definitely the right school for some.


San Marcos High School 5

Posted June 14, 2014
- a parent
top notch sports teams, zero tolerance bullying, lots of clubs, strong sense of pride and beautiful brand new campus with top notch technology

San Marcos High School 1

Posted December 17, 2013
- a parent
I can go on about this school, but i won't! Let just say you are better of sending your kids to a charter school! Specially if your kids are mexican! I'm not going to get into details about this, lets just say some teachers are perverts! The assistant pricipal MR. Zeith thinks his the owner if your child! He will BELITTLE YOUR KIDS AND HUMILIATE THEM IN FRONT OF THEIR PEERS! His so out of control with his attitude that the staff will ask him if everything is ok? He needs to learn his place! Don't raise your voice at my child!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

San Marcos High School
1615 San Marcos Boulevard, San Marcos, CA  92078
(760) 290-2200
Last modified San Marcos High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
San Marcos High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 68 reviews. Top