Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
141 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 40 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Valley Christian School 5

Posted February 04, 2016
- a community member
Our family has spent the last 10 years watching our children grow into young people who are grounded in their faith, kind to their friends/neighbors and who love, and find joy, in learning. We have recommended our little school to everyone we know.

Valley Christian School 5

Posted February 04, 2016
- a parent
The teachers' are caring and committed to bringing out the best in their students. They go above and beyond to make the school experience unique and memorable.


Valley Christian School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted February 04, 2016
- a parent
This is a challenge at all schools - Valley Christian does an excellent job of developing this in the student body!

Valley Christian School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted February 04, 2016
- a parent
Absolutely! This school focuses on teaching students Christian values - all of these are part of those values and traits!

Valley Christian School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted February 04, 2016
- a parent
Honesty, integrity, and fairness is at the core of the school values. Overall, I feel that these character traits are fostered at this school!


Valley Christian School 5

Posted February 04, 2016
- a parent
We are so blessed to be a part of this school family! As I speak with friends at other schools, Valley offers my daughter a safe and caring environment where she has learned caring, kindness, and most importantly how Christian values are aligned with academic learning! Starting each day in the Chapel with pledges and singing start the day off positive! My daughter has made lifetime friends here, and the families are so supportive and caring! It's a steal compared to other local Christian schools, and worth every cent! The staff, volunteers, and administration have a pulse on what is happening and the small school size allows a very personal experience. My daughter feels loved, safe, and is excited about learning - what parent could ask for more??? Highly recommend it!

Valley Christian School 1

Posted February 02, 2016
- a parent
I had my daughter enrolled in kindergarten the at the beginning of this school year. The new kindergarten teacher is horrible. The children receives no individual interaction what so ever. The school preaches "tailoring" to your child's needs which is not true; they only tell potential families that to get enrollment. Also, more disturbing the new principal lacks character and avoids interaction at all cost. When I disenrolled my child there; I got a blank stare back for the principal. She did not question or ask why. She lacks emotion and has very flat affect. She does not care about the students or families. She is just there to take up space and collect a check. The tuition is low but in this case; buyer beware low tuition equals low value. I know of a least 2 other families who took their child out of Kindergarten here for same reasons. Recommend do not waste your money.

Valley Christian School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted February 02, 2016
- a parent
My daughter was ridiculed and sent notes home on a daily basis for 6 weeks. She hated school in Kindergarten and we had panic attacks every morning


Valley Christian School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted February 02, 2016
- a parent
School administration flat out lied to me. Also, Kindergarten teacher told me she will not offer and one on one interaction what so ever. After only 1 month of school; I was told my child wouldn't pass Kindergarten. Really 1 month; so much can happen in 10 more months of school.

Valley Christian School 5

Posted June 09, 2015
- a community member
Our family has been at Valley Christian for 4 years now and have enjoyed it so much. The school is such a safe and comfortable place for my kids and they learn so much about how to have good character and work together. The school is small which provides for an amazing atmosphere of togetherness no matter if they are in Kindergarten or 8th grade. The school has great academics and is able to incorporate lots of field trips to help with hands on learning. Each teacher is truly dedicated to their students and prays for them regularly. You can see the admiration of the teachers for their kids and the kids for their teachers. Our school has small class sizes which provides for a great learning environment. The kids also are taught to help out around school and each grade goes twice a school year to a local senior home to serve and get to know the residents. It's great to see them go back year after year and keep up those relationships. Valley strives to create well rounded, Christian minded kids who work hard and have fun. It's such an amazing hidden gem and cost about half as much as the other options out there!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Valley Christian School
1350 Discovery Street, San Marcos, CA  92078
(760) 744-0207
Last modified Valley Christian School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Valley Christian School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 40 reviews. Top