Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Carver Elementary School 5

Posted October 09, 2013
- a parent
This is a great school. Mrs. Hollingsworth is a professional and very loving person. My daughter has Mrs. Gentry for kindergarten who is another professional who loves her students.

Carver Elementary School 5

Posted August 05, 2013
- a parent
Excellent in the both hard wear and soft wear. We the most dated equipment in computer lab. students have regular arts and music programs. The principle has a great leadership, and teachers are proud of their school and the teaching career. Parents' participation in the classroom and activities are high. There are returning families for three generations. We are proud of our school, Carve, in San Marino.


Carver Elementary School 5

Posted March 21, 2012
- a parent
An outstanding school with great principal, teachers, and staff. PTA is second to none and the students (and the students' parents) thrive to achieve their goals in life here. One word sums it all up... AWESOME.

Carver Elementary School 5

Posted March 26, 2010
- a parent
If you are considering sending your child to Carver, you will need to dedicate a major part of your life to his/her education because everyone in the school system does. This includes the principal, the teachers and the parents. If you value education, this is THE best elementary school that you will find ... PERIOD ... !!!

Carver Elementary School 5

Posted February 04, 2010
- a parent
This is an amazing school. The teachers are so commited to the children and parent participation is always forthcoming. The teachers make the classes interesting and fun without losing sight of the academics. They do have a lot of homework but my child seems to cope with this ok. They headmistress is very hands on and can be seen constantly walking around classes, she knows all of the children and seems genuinely interested in each and every one. My son is in first grade and his experience of Kindergarten was fabulous and prepared him well. His 1st grade teacher is inspiring and interesting but she also has clear discipline. The school is one-of-a-kind!


Carver Elementary School 5

Posted October 03, 2008
- a parent
Carver is an exceptional elementary school and absolutely one of the best of the nation. The students are fortunate to enjoy music, art , science and P.E. classes in addition to their core subjects. They have music programs that students 'audtion' for. Their performances are very impressive and outstanding. A direct result from the exceptional help from music/program director, parents and volunteers. The school is heavy into parent help and fundraising. In turn by doing so, it provides the students unlimited potential for learning in any manner that a child can. No child is left behind at Carver. Their test scores prove it all. The principal, teachers, administrative staff, parent volunteers and the PTA contribute their time and efforts so the child will have the most memorable and unforgettable grade school experience.

Carver Elementary School 5

Posted October 21, 2006
- a parent
Carver is a very unique school. First, the principal Liz Hollingsworth is outstanding. All you have to do is talk to her and walk around the school with her and you will quickly see that the kids and the school are her passion. Second, the teachers are fantastic. All the teachers that we have had, 13 of them, have been 9's or 10's. They are very caring, considerate and will help your child when he or she needs it. Third, parent involvement in the school is like no other. Whether it is financial support, classroom support, or after-school activities, these parents generously donate and volunteer their time even when they don't have time. The Carver PTA has generated a wonderful cohesiveness among the parents, faculty and administration. It is no wonder Carver was recognized as a National Blue Ribbon School and a California Distinguished School.

Carver Elementary School 5

Posted May 09, 2006
- a parent
While relocating from New York Last summer, we had a choice of two areas to live. We chose San Marino and in particular Carver Elementary mainly on our daughter's say. She liked the fact that the Principle Liz Hollingsworth knew all the children's names while we were being shown round. We couldn't be happier with the school, it really is like one,big,very happy family. My little boy has been having a blast in Kindergarten and my daughter will be starting 4th grade in Seplember. She still says she made a good choice and I have to agree with her. We are very active in the school, helping in classes and field trips as are many of the parents at the school. I have yet to meet a teacher either my children or myself don't love!


Carver Elementary School 5

Posted May 07, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Carver Elementary School 5

Posted March 18, 2006
- a parent
This is an excellent elementary school with quality teachers and a well spoken and experienced administrator. It is a very nice campus and the school has many involved partents and a wonderful volunteer base.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Carver Elementary School
3100 Huntington Drive, San Marino, CA  91108
(626) 299-7080
Last modified Carver Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Carver Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top