Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Laurel Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 437 students

 
 

Living in San Mateo

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $609,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,860.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 14, 2012

I think this school is great. This is my daughters 2nd year at Laurel and I have found that our school is awesome. The PTA is amazing here! And we have a bunch of extras that not many other elementary school have anymore due to budget cuts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2012

I like this school. The teachers are friendly. The school is clean, there is a lot of funding and parent involvement. For example, the dad's club (TFK) is excellent, and the PTM teacher, Liz, really works well with the kids. THe previous principal, Wong, was good. The current principal, Glines, does not communicate well. Teachers that have been there for a while are excellent. Newer teachers aren't as good, and it might be the principal not screening them well enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2011

I couldnt have picked a better school for my sons. The staff is amazing, the kids are friendly and my son just loves it and enjoys himself! i would like to appericate miss Armstrong and mr Agius for their excellent job .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2011

This is the third year that my son has attended Laurel and we are a proud Eagle family. I believe that a family and student can only get out as much as you put into the school. I see an active pta and gladly participate in the art in action program which is terrific. Like most things in live, there is a percentage of people who do the work and I'd estimate it as an active 40% of parent participation. I've made some really good friends. The teachers we have experienced have been very strong and the after school staff at the annex is really on it. My son gets made if I every pick him up early. I think principal Glines does a good job and her responsibilities are many. I think she lacks in really connecting with people in a friendly manner and that can be off putting. I have seen her at every pta meeting and many other after school activities and I appreciate her time and efforts. Again, glad to be an Eagle!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2011

I agree about the principal problem in Laurel. A few months ago they have a theme of " No name calling week " ??? There's gotta be a better way to name it or what. From the previous school, my daughter talks about their principal a lot (who is involve with the kids a lot) she was only in Kindergarten then now 1st grader at Laurel, she does not even know who the principal is. Security is way too lax.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2011

Laurel Elementary is a wonderful elementary school. Brilliant teachers capable of handling children from all walks of life, including kids who need improvement and kids who are intellectually gifted. BEST elementary school in San Mateo County.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2011

We have spent 4th and 5th grade here and I love the teaching staff, as well as the admin. staff. Get to know the movers and shakers of the school (PTA) and get involved and you will get plugged in to this small community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2010

My daughter just c ompleted First Grade and I have been so impressed with her first grade teacher Mrs. Amato. She really cared about my daughter and always kept me informed even with my busy schedule at work, I always was kept up to date with my daughter's performance. Mrs. Amato is wonderful and so is Teacher Gina at the annex!!!! :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

This school has fine parents who care. For those who do wish to be involved with their child's education, there are dad and mom's social clubs, fund raising events, and so much more. The principal is hands on and truly cares and responds when called upon. I'm proud to be apart of Laurel and what they are accomplishing-840 API and climbing, Go Eagles!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2009

I hope others can learn from my experience. I'm not trying to be negative but to let others know that my child was not prepared for a middle school other than Abbott. She was definitely behind and took a few years to catch up. And yes, I agree that there are wonderfully dedicated parents at Laurel. However, only about 50% of the parent body is committed. The others are not involved with their time or money, and this makes a huge difference. Other schools have much more money, therefore more programs and more resources. A commitment level of 90%+ of the parent body also makes a huge difference. I wish Laurel lots of success and I enjoyed the community immensely. I would not send another child there, however, and I hope that is helpful for some parents to hear. I would recommend comparing Laurel to other programs, and enrichment activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2009

I'd like to respond to the recent review calling Laurel mediocre and lacking parental involvement. Laurel is a good neighborhood school. Yes, there are some children bussed in but San Mateo is a diverse city with many languages spoken and ethnic groups. I have 2 children who attend Laurel and an middle school son who attends Abbott. He was very well prepared for middle school and is thriving there. Also, there many very dedicated, hardworking parents at Laurel who dedicate time and money to the school. I feel my children have received an excellent education and have made wonderful friends at Laurel. We can always make improvements at the school but I don't think such negative comments are productive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2009

This is a very good school. I removed my son from another school because of poor teacher parent/principal involvement. The teacher made my son very comfortable entering her class mid year and the parents are very nice and acually parent their kids verse the last school which most could care less. I recommend this school if you want a safe enviorment for your child to excel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2008

I have two children attending Laurel this year. So far, we have had a very good experience at the school. I am encouraged by the high level of parent involvement and the dedication of the PTA. There are a variety of activities driven by the PTA that make Laurel unique compared to other schools that I know of in the Bay Area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2008

Don't let the recent California Distinguished School ranking fool you. There's much room for improvement, but the staff is not inclined to make any effort for positive change. Teaching to the test lives strong here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2008

Laurel is a very good school, my daughter is in kindergarten, her teacher is excelent, the PTA is doing a very nice job and the principal is great, my daughter and I are very happy and we love Laurel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2008

I think Laurel is a very good school. The PTA evolves in activities alot. Mrs. Chinn is a very nice principal.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 8, 2007

Very average school-nothing special about it-
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2007

Laurel is a great neighborhood school. I would prefer more music and creative arts, but it's not just Laurel that doesn't have the funding for that. The PMT program is terrific, the library is very good. Overall my children feel very happy and safe there, and the teachers have done a great job meeting their specific needs above and beyond regular classwork.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2006

Laurel has blossomed under Mrs. Chen's excellent leadership. The teachers seem happier, my children are learning material well above state standards, and the after school program (the Laurel Annex, run by Vanessa) is exceptional. It would be nice to have more variety in the enrichment programs and music classes for all grades, but overall Laurel does an excellent job of providing a well rounded and high quality educational foundation. Art in Action and PMT are essential and extremely well managed and appreciated at Laurel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2006

We have been at Laurel for 5 years now. It's a wonderful school -- the academic program is excellent (as evidenced by our childrens test scores) and the entire school staff is dedicated to providing a safe, fun, controlled environment that fosters a love of learning. The current principal, Sylvia Chen, is an outstanding leader and their teaching staff are incredible (esp. Mrs. Schmidt and Ms. Lubrano). Their after school Annex program is also lead by a wonderful woman, Vanessa, who has been at the school for at least 5 years (we have found it a rare treat to have such continuity for an afterschool daycare facility).
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

824

Change from
2012 to 2013

-5

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

2 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

824

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-5

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

2 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
51%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
57%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
62%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students49%
Females42%
Males57%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino18%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Economically disadvantaged13%
Non-economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability50%
English learner21%
Fluent-English proficient and English only70%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate8%
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)41%
Parent education - college graduate67%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate93%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students63%
Females53%
Males73%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino34%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Non-economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability63%
English learner35%
Fluent-English proficient and English only83%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate42%
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)47%
Parent education - college graduate79%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students47%
Females53%
Males42%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino26%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)59%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Non-economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability45%
English learner20%
Fluent-English proficient and English only69%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)38%
Parent education - college graduate62%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate75%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students68%
Females71%
Males66%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino42%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Non-economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability66%
English learner41%
Fluent-English proficient and English only87%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)80%
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate75%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students61%
Females66%
Males54%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino38%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Non-economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability62%
English learner23%
Fluent-English proficient and English only83%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)56%
Parent education - college graduate64%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students65%
Females66%
Males64%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino47%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Non-economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability65%
English learner35%
Fluent-English proficient and English only83%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)44%
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate93%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students66%
Females74%
Males59%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino38%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Non-economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability69%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only75%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate36%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)59%
Parent education - college graduate89%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate83%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students79%
Females78%
Males79%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino62%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability81%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only83%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate55%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)71%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students76%
Females78%
Males74%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino48%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)96%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Non-economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability76%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only85%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate55%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)71%
Parent education - college graduate94%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 45%
White 33%
Asian 7%
Two or more races 4%
Black 2%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 37%N/AN/A
English language learners 36%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 10%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

316 36th Avenue
San Mateo, CA 94403
Website: Click here
Phone: (650) 312-7555

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Grace Lutheran School
San Mateo, CA





St. Gregory
San Mateo, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT