Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
33 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 41 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Laurel Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted June 04, 2015
- a parent
I've been thrilled with the teachers, but several amazing ones have left since we've been there. That said, so far all the new hires have gone above and beyond my expectations.

Laurel Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 04, 2015
- a parent
It depends on the teacher. Some teachers give too little. Others give the right amount.


Laurel Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted June 04, 2015
- a parent
One program I really appreciate is the Adapted PE class the "regular ed" and "special ed" students share. A good learning experience for all involved. There is a strong sense of fairness and "anti" bullying, and kindness is rewarded.

Laurel Elementary School 5

Posted June 04, 2015
- a parent
We are a family in the Laurel community who has attended Kindergarten through 4th and are very happy. I can't imagine better teachers. The kids were able to read before the end of Kindergarten and have tested well among their peers across standardized tests and appear to be on track for middle school. They were really pushed in 4th out of their comfort zone and excelled because of that. The parent involvement must be on par with schools who require volunteer hours. One program I really appreciate is the Adapted PE class the "regular ed" and "special ed" students share. A good learning experience for all involved. Laurel definitely helps build a better community. I just wish the kids zoned for Laurel weren't choosing private schools, as is frequently the case.

Laurel Elementary School 5

Posted September 29, 2014
- a parent
It's my sons second year at Laurel. What a wonderful experience! We've had great teachers in our two years at the school. There is a lot of opportunities to be involved. The art program is run by the PTA and taught by parent volunteers. I've had a good experience with the principle so far, She seems to get things done and is always present around campus. It really does take a lot of parent involvement to keep this school going and even this has been an amazing experience for us. We have several children in class that have parents who work and are not able to help out as much but they do what they can and those that are able, do alot. I am incredibly happy with our years at Laurel and look forward to many more. I would not switch schools if given the opportunity.


Laurel Elementary School 5

Posted November 14, 2012
- a parent
I think this school is great. This is my daughters 2nd year at Laurel and I have found that our school is awesome. The PTA is amazing here! And we have a bunch of extras that not many other elementary school have anymore due to budget cuts.

Laurel Elementary School 4

Posted January 11, 2012
- a parent
I like this school. The teachers are friendly. The school is clean, there is a lot of funding and parent involvement. For example, the dad's club (TFK) is excellent, and the PTM teacher, Liz, really works well with the kids. THe previous principal, Wong, was good. The current principal, Glines, does not communicate well. Teachers that have been there for a while are excellent. Newer teachers aren't as good, and it might be the principal not screening them well enough.

Laurel Elementary School 5

Posted August 20, 2011
- a parent
I couldnt have picked a better school for my sons. The staff is amazing, the kids are friendly and my son just loves it and enjoys himself! i would like to appericate miss Armstrong and mr Agius for their excellent job .


Laurel Elementary School 4

Posted April 01, 2011
- a parent
This is the third year that my son has attended Laurel and we are a proud Eagle family. I believe that a family and student can only get out as much as you put into the school. I see an active pta and gladly participate in the art in action program which is terrific. Like most things in live, there is a percentage of people who do the work and I'd estimate it as an active 40% of parent participation. I've made some really good friends. The teachers we have experienced have been very strong and the after school staff at the annex is really on it. My son gets made if I every pick him up early. I think principal Glines does a good job and her responsibilities are many. I think she lacks in really connecting with people in a friendly manner and that can be off putting. I have seen her at every pta meeting and many other after school activities and I appreciate her time and efforts. Again, glad to be an Eagle!

Laurel Elementary School 2

Posted March 31, 2011
- a parent
I agree about the principal problem in Laurel. A few months ago they have a theme of " No name calling week " ??? There's gotta be a better way to name it or what. From the previous school, my daughter talks about their principal a lot (who is involve with the kids a lot) she was only in Kindergarten then now 1st grader at Laurel, she does not even know who the principal is. Security is way too lax.

Nearby schools

Laurel Elementary School
316 36th Avenue, San Mateo, CA  94403-4204
(650) 312-7555
Last modified Laurel Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top