Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 47 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


53 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Hillsdale High School 2

Posted October 02, 2014
- a parent
The small learning communities can be supportive of your student, but this is not always the case depending on which one your student is enrolled. Experiences among the three vary widely. Unfortunately, a different administrator is in charge of each one, and not all of them are effective and competent in handling issues and problems that arise.

Hillsdale High School 4

Posted September 12, 2014
- a parent
My son is a special education student at HHS. The program for autistic students is heavily focused on teaching living skills, with full kitchens and a laundry room for the students to learn how to use household appliances. There are two rooms for students of high school age, and two rooms for those 19-22. These are in a sort of quad arrangement. The students are assigned to the rooms based upon their desire to socialize. Each room has a "quiet area" where a student can go and shut the door. The teachers and aides are all long-time faculty and staff at HHS, so there is great stability. When the rooms were redone, the teachers were allowed input into the redesign, so this area is specially built with the autistic student in mind. So happy we ended up moving to the SMUHSD area.


Hillsdale High School 5

Posted August 14, 2014
- a parent
My son is a freshman in the HS and we have been so impressed with how the administration, faculty and parents have integrated him into high school. They have made this transition a fabulous experience and he has started his high school experience off with confidence, new friends and great enthusiasm. We are excited for all that is to come at Hillsdale High School.

Hillsdale High School 5

Posted February 14, 2014
- a parent
We are new in this HS and we are completely impressed about the great atmosphere, the quality of the teachers and also the motivation of all the staff. Since the first day, they know perfectly my son and they personalize the deal with every single student. We can ensure that there is a closely communication between the HS and the parents.

Hillsdale High School 1

Posted January 07, 2014
- a parent
It is a small learning community school which has its drawbacks. You are not aware of those drawbacks until you face the actual problem. The school assigns your child to a random house where he or she spends 2 years. The house has a set of teachers which remain with your child in that interim. If you happened to get a bad English teacher, for example, (which what happened to us) your high school student will not be able to drop this teacher and take another class. Your high school student will loose precious learning time and his or her SAT results will be impacted without any recourse. Or, your student may get a teacher that he or she do not get along with - same thing - will have to suffer for 2 years. They call it "an integrated curriculum", but in reality it is a way to provide below average teachers with secure jobs. There is at least one good teacher in every house, but there always is a below average, problematic individual. The school has to be a magnet school instead of assigning our children to be there just because we live nearby. The school may be good for 1-2.5 GPA students, because the administration is only interested in providing education suitable for CSM.


Hillsdale High School 5

Posted December 17, 2013
- a parent
Hillsdale's wonderful teachers, counselors, and staff are friendly, thoughtful, and kind to students and parents Hillsdale HS's small learning communities helps students bond and makes them feel like a big family. My son liked to stay and mingle with classmates and teachers after school until they go back home for dinner. That's how fantastic this top ranking high school is; it all comes down to real human interaction. Let your son or daughter enjoy Hillsdale's warm and rigorous study environment, which nurtures our precious next generation to be knowledgeable, ambitious, friendly, healthy, and well rounded individuals.

Hillsdale High School 5

Posted November 14, 2013
- a community member
Hillsdale high school is a very good school, for it has good teachers, and good academics. Teachers teach students very well, and they are willing to help in terms of need. Furthermore, teachers do support support as well. The school divide students in group, or known as houses. These are Florence, Marrakech, Kyoto, Cusco, Jakarta, and Timbuktu. Each houses has advisors, which is a main teacher that manages all his or her students. Additionally, Hillsdale teachers does really push students to overcome their limitations.

Hillsdale High School 5

Posted October 30, 2013
- a parent
My son is a sophomore at Hillsdale High School this year and we are extremely happy with the school and teachers. The small learning community program made for an easy adjustment from the very small private school my son attended 1st - 8th grade.


Hillsdale High School 5

Posted October 30, 2013
- a student
Hillsdale High school is a good school for many reasons. When I started freshmen year, I didn't know anyone there because I'd moved there from out of town, but easily within a week I found friends. As a sophomore now, I know people of all grades. The school has a lot of cool electives, along with a variety of sports choices. It has languages you can take and advisors that constantly pay attention to your grades.

Hillsdale High School 5

Posted April 19, 2011
- a parent
good teachers, mostly from Stanford, this school is run more like a small charter than a public school. My daughter is very happy there.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hillsdale High School
3115 Del Monte Street, San Mateo, CA  94403
(650) 558-2699
Last modified Hillsdale High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hillsdale High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 53 reviews. Top