Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
48 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 60 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hillsdale High School 5

Posted November 08, 2015
- a parent
Both my children went to Hillsdale and had great experiences, made wonderful friends, had caring staff, had mostly good teachers and graduated as ready as can be for college. True to a previous negative comment, this school does send a lot of students to CSM and promote programs with CSM. It's given as an option, not a requirement. My children had 4.0+GPA, were gifted and felt they still had a good education at Hillsdale.

Hillsdale High School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted November 08, 2015
- a parent
As anywhere, there are good and bad teachers. A few teachers probably shouldn't be in teaching. But, overall, there are a lot of good teachers who care.


Hillsdale High School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted November 08, 2015
- a parent
One of the few high schools that instituted a senior defense and portfolios. This requires persistence, planning and perseverance.

Hillsdale High School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted November 08, 2015
- a parent
Several programs, clubs, drama shows chosen and events put on school-wide shows the diversity, inclusion and empathy it tries to develop and promote.

Hillsdale High School 2

Posted October 02, 2014
- a parent
The small learning communities can be supportive of your student, but this is not always the case depending on which one your student is enrolled. Experiences among the three vary widely. Unfortunately, a different administrator is in charge of each one, and not all of them are effective and competent in handling issues and problems that arise.


Hillsdale High School 4

Posted September 12, 2014
- a parent
My son is a special education student at HHS. The program for autistic students is heavily focused on teaching living skills, with full kitchens and a laundry room for the students to learn how to use household appliances. There are two rooms for students of high school age, and two rooms for those 19-22. These are in a sort of quad arrangement. The students are assigned to the rooms based upon their desire to socialize. Each room has a "quiet area" where a student can go and shut the door. The teachers and aides are all long-time faculty and staff at HHS, so there is great stability. When the rooms were redone, the teachers were allowed input into the redesign, so this area is specially built with the autistic student in mind. So happy we ended up moving to the SMUHSD area.

Hillsdale High School 5

Posted August 14, 2014
- a parent
My son is a freshman in the HS and we have been so impressed with how the administration, faculty and parents have integrated him into high school. They have made this transition a fabulous experience and he has started his high school experience off with confidence, new friends and great enthusiasm. We are excited for all that is to come at Hillsdale High School.

Hillsdale High School 5

Posted February 14, 2014
- a parent
We are new in this HS and we are completely impressed about the great atmosphere, the quality of the teachers and also the motivation of all the staff. Since the first day, they know perfectly my son and they personalize the deal with every single student. We can ensure that there is a closely communication between the HS and the parents.


Hillsdale High School 1

Posted January 07, 2014
- a parent
It is a small learning community school which has its drawbacks. You are not aware of those drawbacks until you face the actual problem. The school assigns your child to a random house where he or she spends 2 years. The house has a set of teachers which remain with your child in that interim. If you happened to get a bad English teacher, for example, (which what happened to us) your high school student will not be able to drop this teacher and take another class. Your high school student will loose precious learning time and his or her SAT results will be impacted without any recourse. Or, your student may get a teacher that he or she do not get along with - same thing - will have to suffer for 2 years. They call it "an integrated curriculum", but in reality it is a way to provide below average teachers with secure jobs. There is at least one good teacher in every house, but there always is a below average, problematic individual. The school has to be a magnet school instead of assigning our children to be there just because we live nearby. The school may be good for 1-2.5 GPA students, because the administration is only interested in providing education suitable for CSM.

Hillsdale High School 5

Posted December 17, 2013
- a parent
Hillsdale's wonderful teachers, counselors, and staff are friendly, thoughtful, and kind to students and parents Hillsdale HS's small learning communities helps students bond and makes them feel like a big family. My son liked to stay and mingle with classmates and teachers after school until they go back home for dinner. That's how fantastic this top ranking high school is; it all comes down to real human interaction. Let your son or daughter enjoy Hillsdale's warm and rigorous study environment, which nurtures our precious next generation to be knowledgeable, ambitious, friendly, healthy, and well rounded individuals.

Nearby schools

Hillsdale High School
3115 Del Monte Street, San Mateo, CA  94403-3800
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 60 reviews. (650) 558-2699
Last modified Hillsdale High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top