Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
San Mateo, CA
Students enrolled: 1,373
 

4 stars
Based on 24 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


24 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


San Mateo High School 4

Posted November 05, 2013
- a parent
San Mateo High has returned to its glory days as the school that produces exceptional students. Academics are varied and challenging, with many choices for students of all abilities. Facilities are up-to-date, thanks to the recent state-of-the-art renovation and ongoing Foundation funding. Sports programs show promise for future notoriety, and the performing arts are the best in the county, bar none. The recently reopened and renovated Performing Arts Center is on the campus of SMHS. Diversity is a celebrated positive at San Mateo High. All students can find a place and achieve to the best of their abilities; the tools and motivation are there. The administration is attuned and informed.

San Mateo High School 5

Posted November 01, 2013
- a student
I always thought I was going to attend Burlingame or SI, never considering this "performing arts school." After my mom made me visit, I knew this was home. SM has the best staff, the best students, the best spirit (duh) and the best heart. Not only do we have the most AP classes, but we also have the highest AP&SAT scores in the district. Teachers make learning fun. We have the most fun at lunch and we have the most school events. The teachers care so much. The students defy so many stereotypes. And these wonderful people have made SM a home to so many who need it. There are so many success stories--Stanford, Harvard, MIT. But for others, they still get the tools they need to succeed at SJSU, Cal Poly, or wherever. People negatively make assumptions about this school, and we just go on disproving them. I love how we're not that typical football and cheer-dominated school: our homecoming court has people from Math Team, JSA, Student Government, reflecting our values and our diversity. Even though we have great performing arts, we also have good sports teams too--most teams are in the top division, playing with teams like Burlingame. SM was the best decision I ever made.
1 person found this helpful


San Mateo High School 5

Posted October 29, 2013
- a parent
I agree completely with the last reviewer. My son is a Sophomore at San Mateo High School and loves it there. He loves the welcoming atmosphere at the school, as well as the amazing school spirit. The teachers he has had the last 2 years have been great, and have challenged him academically. The Biotech Dept is one of the gems of the school, with amazing, dedicated teachers. There's really no need to look at private schools -- San Mateo HS has it all, plus your child will have an amazing high school experience there. The parents I've met at the school have all been super nice and have as much Bearcat spirit as their kids!

San Mateo High School 5

Posted October 28, 2013
- a parent
San Mateo High School is truly a gem! From its excellent academics (Most AP Classes in the district, National Merit Scholars every year, kids getting into top colleges like Harvard, Stanford , MIT etc.), to its incredible performing arts, biotech and leadership programs, to strong athletics programs, to the huge number of clubs on campus from Mock Trial to Model UN to Jefferson Awards Club, San Mateo has something to offer to every student. My daughter, a sophomore at smhs, shadowed 8 different schools, got accepted into the 2 private schools she applied to, & instead chose to attend smhs precisely because of the above! The incredible spirit and inclusive atmosphere at San Mateo was a huge deciding factor in addition to the advanced math, history, writing, music and performing arts classes she wanted. She is taking 2 ap classes as a sophomore and is involved in pretty much everything the school has to offer from soccer, theatre, mock trial, concert choir to jefferson awards. SMHS is a TRULY SAFE campus with excellent academics, performing arts, athletics & extra curricular activities where diversity is celebrated and as a parent, I couldn't be happier with my daughter's decision!

San Mateo High School 5

Posted March 13, 2013
- a teacher
I am a teacher and SMHS and I have had the opportunity work at several other schools and SMHS is by the far the best! The school has a beautiful and modern campus, including a new state of the art Biotech building & the new performing arts center is almost ready. The school also has very up to date technology- document cameras, new computers & everything else a successful school could need. The school if filled with dedicated & hardworking students. Students lead numerous school activities such as a massive canned food drive, Health week , Chalk Festival, & a million other things. You will not find a hardworking, more spirit bunch of students anywhere. The academics are also outstanding, with an enormous amount of advanced placements classes - everything from AP European History to AP Environmental Science. Our school also has an extremely dedicated and hard working staff. One example of this is the staff is currently working on "Mateo Madness" which is month long series of activities and practice tests to help students feel more prepared for the state's standardized testing. We also have an award winning Dance & Drama department, if you have seen as show you are missing out.


San Mateo High School 5

Posted November 20, 2011
- a parent
San Mateo is a school looked down upon by many in the district but truly is an amazing place. Mostly parents look at the test scores and don't want their kids going to a school that isn't as good as others. What they don't realize is that SM has the highest AP scores in the district, the scores are just weighed down by the students that do not speak english as a first language. That shows another great point about San Mateo. We are the MOST diverse student body in the district. Students come from all social, financial, and ethnic backgrounds. This is extremely beneficial to the kids. It teaches that their are other people outside of your own group and to be more open to different races. Unlike the predominantly white and asian backgrounds of Burlingame or Aragon, SM actually prepares the kids for who they will meet outside of high school. But what San Mateo should be recognized for is their extracurriculars. The drama program is award winning and professional level. We have the only biotechnology program in the district with new facilities. And the leadership class is amazing! SM is top notch for student life such as a week entirely devoted to health, peace and spirit!

San Mateo High School 1

Posted October 20, 2011
- a student
This school is terrible. The majority of students there receive free lunch, and the poor kids there are like the end all and the be all. The free lunch kids always cut in lines and bully those who pay for food with cash. they act all upper class and everything. the school doesn't do anything to help the good students. instead, they spend their time trying to help those kids who don't even try. the school environment is terrible also. there are gangs and kids who do drugs all around the school campus. the bus drivers of this school do not follow traffic rules and constantly endanger the kids who ride the bus. they run yellow lights and they squish way too many kids on the buses. stay at san mateo high for one day and you will know what it feels like if you do not make it to heaven. serious students wanting to attend college should definitely avoid this school.

San Mateo High School 5

Posted December 14, 2010
- a parent
SMHS is a great school for teens. My children went to wealthy elementary and middle schools and now they are meeting a very socio-economically and ethnically diverse group of teens. It's great for them to encounter new situations while still living at home. The academics here are excellent, especially the advanced placement and bio-tech classes. Like all schools, not all teachers are superior, but that's an introduction to life. Not all bosses are good, not all teachers are good, not all people are good. School spirit and extra-curriculars are outstanding. It often feels like a Disney movie. Every type of club imaginable is here. Also, the school was totally rebuilt a few years ago. It's beautiful. The school gets a bad rap because there are minority students who come from non-English speaking homes. Well, these students will soon be the majority ethnic group in California. Some are good students, some are not. Hopefully my child will not pick-up bad habits from poor students. Finally, the principal is very dedicated and caring. She knows the names of students and parents and really wants SMHS to be a great school.


San Mateo High School 5

Posted April 23, 2010
- a student
People can say whatever they want, but SMHS is the best school ever! Its spirit is contagious! It welcomes everyone without looking at their race or color. It makes you feel like it is your second home. All its programs are great! Let's go bearcats!!

San Mateo High School 5

Posted September 16, 2009
- a community member
SMHS was a fantastic place to go to school- with an amazing faculty and student body. Go bearcats!

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

San Mateo High School
506 North Delaware Street, San Mateo, CA  94401
(650) 558-2399
Last modified San Mateo High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
San Mateo High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top