Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12|Private
880 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
23 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 43 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Junipero Serra High School 1

Posted July 03, 2016
- a parent
The tuition is an incredible amount of money for the academic and extra-curricular experience Serra provides. Local public school provide a better academic experience. The athletics programs appear to be driven by deep pockets and alumni connections rather than on each student's skills and talents. Looking forward to having my child move back to the public school system.

Junipero Serra High School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted July 03, 2016
- a parent
Unless you come from money or have your "connections," forget this school! Fairness is nonexistent, particularly in the sports arena (baseball, to be even more specific). So many excellent players are overlooked because of politics/money/favoritism. Save your money and support your local public high school.


Junipero Serra High School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted August 21, 2015
- a parent
Fairness does not exist at this school. The Polynesian favoritism is ridiculous. Unless your family is donating serious monies, or your child is getting his education paid for, your child will be a second class citizen.

Junipero Serra High School 2

Posted August 21, 2015
- a parent
As a parent of a Serra student, I am very disappointed with many things about my child's experience. Politics are everywhere, but they are extreme here. The academic climate should be stronger, but too many kids, for the sake of sports (namely football), are admitted that do not merit admission. There is a reason that so many Polynesians are at Serra.....many don't merit admission at the other private schools that value education first (as they should). Parents, in my honest opinion, I strongly suggest that you consider elsewhere for your child. This place has done nothing but destroy my child's perception of himself.

Junipero Serra High School 5

Posted July 06, 2015
- a community member
Great experience and brotherhood. Sports are a big part of this school and thus brings everyone together


Junipero Serra High School 5

Posted July 01, 2015
- a student
Serra is the place that made me who I am today. If I end up raising boys in san mateo county they will all go to Serra. Sports are great at serra, but it also has a great AP and honros programs. I was in a few AP classes and they push you intellectually but not to the point of breaking like some schools (SI). Most importantly I learned life skills that are more valuable than any academics.

Junipero Serra High School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted July 01, 2015
- a student
Some teachers are old and should not be there in regards to their teaching capabilites, however Serra will not fire them because they have been there for so long.

Junipero Serra High School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted July 01, 2015
- a student
Serras sports teams are great for developing persistence which can be translated upon graduating into a career and other aspects of life.


Junipero Serra High School 5

Posted December 05, 2013
- a parent
We sent our 3rd son to Serra and wish we'd sent the other two. The oldest attended another all boys school in San Jose and our brilliant middle attended a rigorous public high school on the mid peninsula where he as neither challenged or held to a higher work ethic. # 3 is neither an athlete or a huge honors student, but he still is getting the attention he needs and the school is very proactive about communicating their high academic expectations in a supportive way. In the last four years, Serra has worked very hard to up its academic game and frankly it's nice to be at a school where family wealth and who is flying in a private jet are not the primary topics among the students, teachers and administrators. Our neighbor had the choice of attending any of the private high schools on the peninsula and San Jose and he chose Serra because he thought the kids were the most down to earth. And believe you me, he is challenged in his honors classes. Don't listen to the naysayers. Check it out yourself.

Junipero Serra High School 2

Posted August 06, 2013
- a parent
If you are not an athlete on the Football, Baseball or Basketball team or they haven't decided you are an Honors student you will be treated like a second class student. The parents are really cliquish. If you are not in the "in crowd" you will be ignored.

Nearby schools

Junipero Serra High School
451 West 20th Avenue, San Mateo, CA  94403
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 43 reviews. (650) 345-8207
Last modified Junipero Serra High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Top