Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-12 & Ungraded|Private
105 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Stanbridge Academy 5

Posted November 26, 2015
- a community member
We have been with Stanbridge since 4th grade. Our child graduated from here. All you have to do is listen to a Senior speech given at graduation every year. Stanbridge gave him the confidence and the tools to be able to advocate for himself in the "real" world. If only Stanbridge were accessible to more students. Both students and parents gain so much from all that Stanbridge has to offer.

Stanbridge Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 26, 2015
- a community member
Thanksgiving is only one day in the whole year to say THANK YOU to Maureen. Really, she should be thanked every day. There is absolutely nothing she won't do in order to make sure a child will succeed. Even though she is a Junior High teacher, her presence through out the school is palpable. Stanbridge scored the day Maureen came on board!


Stanbridge Academy 5

Posted June 06, 2014
- a parent
The best way to understand what Stanbridge does for a student is to go to a graduation. EACH senior speaks. The speech is generally comprised of 2 parts, before Stanbridge and entering Stanbridge. Before Stanbridge they rarely have friends. They are bullied. They are desparate for a way out. Entering Stanbridge, they are accepted, even from the first day when they are only visiting. They gather friends. Their outlook on life changes. As each year passes they become more self-assured, confidant, and when they are ready to leave, be it 8th grade or 12th or somewhere in the middle, they leave on THEIR terms. Stanbridge is not JUST a place of education. It becomes a life-changing, accepting you for who you are family. Stanbridge builds on the strengths you have and the ones you never thought possible. Stanbridge may be just the greatest little secret that we need to tell everyone about.

Stanbridge Academy 5

Posted May 05, 2014
- a parent
Our son started at Stanbridge late last year and while the commute is long it is well worth it. He has come on so much in such a short time and his confidence is grows by the day. This school is IMHO is a little gem. The Principal and staff are wonderful people it became very clear from the get go that they are experts in adoptive learning. We were also very impressed with the children whom we found polite and confident this continues to be the case. Can't say enough good things about this school.

Stanbridge Academy 5

Posted January 08, 2013
- a student
Stanbridge is a wonderful school. For me having a small school is a blessing because you have smaller classes and the teachers give you more one on one help. Another thing that I love about Stanbridge is that the teachers really understand how you learn and the way you learn and how to teach you in a way that you understand. Also they give accommodations that you might need in a class such as a calculator for math or a computer in English or extended time on tests or quizzes.


Stanbridge Academy 5

Posted September 07, 2012
- a parent
My son arrived at age 9 and attended Stanbridge for two years, his 4th and 5th grades. He then requested to go to public school where he acclimated and utilized all of the skills he'd been taught so well. I highly recommend the Stanbridge family and its wonderful leadership. My son is a living example of their success!

Stanbridge Academy 5

Posted August 31, 2012
- a parent
High School at Stanbridge Academy has been transformative for our daughter, who is intelligent and creative, but struggles with significant processing and socialization difficulties as the result of a brain tumor. For years it was impossible for her to keep up in school and friendships eluded her we spent an incredible amount of energy attempting to teach educators how to teach our daughter, a tough task because she struggles in a number of areas. Stanbridge really excels at teaching students who have a range of processing and social issues. The teachers and staff truly understand the impact of these kid s disabilities and Stanbridge s academic and social pragmatics programs reflect the teacher s training and commitment. Our senior has had a true, but safe and supported high school experience, including academics, participation in student government, dances and proms, and making friends. In our experience Stanbridge supports students to be all that they can be and then they tailor the program for the student as needed. Our daughter now has high school friends, is extremely proud to be earning straight A s, and is learning about transition to life after high school.

Stanbridge Academy 5

Posted April 25, 2011
- a parent
A very positive experience. The earlier negative reviews on this site do not reflect our experience with Stanbridge. The school caters to a variety of children on the spectrum, but the staff emphasizes positive interaction and works with students to develop social skills. My son has been at Stanbridge for many years and the atmosphere there is far safer and happier than he ever experienced at our public school. The academics have been appropriatley challenging, enough that we are considering colleges after he graduates. That was unthinkable just a few years ago. Everyone from the staff to other parents are supportive and helpful. The happiness and success of my son is a testament to the quality of the school. Thank you Stanbridge!


Stanbridge Academy 5

Posted February 10, 2011
- a parent
Stanbridge Academy is a wonderful school! My son has progressed in so many ways and his success is due to all the dedicated staff. Stanbridge puts an emphasis on teaching the kids to advocate for themselves. Check it out!

Stanbridge Academy 5

Posted December 06, 2010
- a community member
As a mental health professional working with students who attend Stanbridge, I can recommend the school quite highly. The students are respected by their teachers and encouraged to work to potential both academically and socially. I have seen several young people blossom there after having very difficult experiences in other schools. Stanbridge afforded them the chance to shine, to make friends, and to excel. The staff there are very collaborative with outside professionals and see themselves as part of the team that supports the student in his or her life.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Stanbridge Academy
515 East Poplar Avenue, San Mateo, CA  94401
(650) 375-5860
Last modified Stanbridge Academy is a Private school
Stanbridge Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top