Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Stanbridge Academy 5

Posted June 06, 2014
- a parent
The best way to understand what Stanbridge does for a student is to go to a graduation. EACH senior speaks. The speech is generally comprised of 2 parts, before Stanbridge and entering Stanbridge. Before Stanbridge they rarely have friends. They are bullied. They are desparate for a way out. Entering Stanbridge, they are accepted, even from the first day when they are only visiting. They gather friends. Their outlook on life changes. As each year passes they become more self-assured, confidant, and when they are ready to leave, be it 8th grade or 12th or somewhere in the middle, they leave on THEIR terms. Stanbridge is not JUST a place of education. It becomes a life-changing, accepting you for who you are family. Stanbridge builds on the strengths you have and the ones you never thought possible. Stanbridge may be just the greatest little secret that we need to tell everyone about.
2 people found this helpful

Stanbridge Academy 5

Posted May 05, 2014
- a parent
Our son started at Stanbridge late last year and while the commute is long it is well worth it. He has come on so much in such a short time and his confidence is grows by the day. This school is IMHO is a little gem. The Principal and staff are wonderful people it became very clear from the get go that they are experts in adoptive learning. We were also very impressed with the children whom we found polite and confident this continues to be the case. Can't say enough good things about this school.
2 people found this helpful


Stanbridge Academy 5

Posted January 08, 2013
- a student
Stanbridge is a wonderful school. For me having a small school is a blessing because you have smaller classes and the teachers give you more one on one help. Another thing that I love about Stanbridge is that the teachers really understand how you learn and the way you learn and how to teach you in a way that you understand. Also they give accommodations that you might need in a class such as a calculator for math or a computer in English or extended time on tests or quizzes.
1 person found this helpful

Stanbridge Academy 5

Posted September 07, 2012
- a parent
My son arrived at age 9 and attended Stanbridge for two years, his 4th and 5th grades. He then requested to go to public school where he acclimated and utilized all of the skills he'd been taught so well. I highly recommend the Stanbridge family and its wonderful leadership. My son is a living example of their success!
1 person found this helpful

Stanbridge Academy 5

Posted August 31, 2012
- a parent
High School at Stanbridge Academy has been transformative for our daughter, who is intelligent and creative, but struggles with significant processing and socialization difficulties as the result of a brain tumor. For years it was impossible for her to keep up in school and friendships eluded her we spent an incredible amount of energy attempting to teach educators how to teach our daughter, a tough task because she struggles in a number of areas. Stanbridge really excels at teaching students who have a range of processing and social issues. The teachers and staff truly understand the impact of these kid s disabilities and Stanbridge s academic and social pragmatics programs reflect the teacher s training and commitment. Our senior has had a true, but safe and supported high school experience, including academics, participation in student government, dances and proms, and making friends. In our experience Stanbridge supports students to be all that they can be and then they tailor the program for the student as needed. Our daughter now has high school friends, is extremely proud to be earning straight A s, and is learning about transition to life after high school.
1 person found this helpful


Stanbridge Academy 5

Posted April 25, 2011
- a parent
A very positive experience. The earlier negative reviews on this site do not reflect our experience with Stanbridge. The school caters to a variety of children on the spectrum, but the staff emphasizes positive interaction and works with students to develop social skills. My son has been at Stanbridge for many years and the atmosphere there is far safer and happier than he ever experienced at our public school. The academics have been appropriatley challenging, enough that we are considering colleges after he graduates. That was unthinkable just a few years ago. Everyone from the staff to other parents are supportive and helpful. The happiness and success of my son is a testament to the quality of the school. Thank you Stanbridge!
1 person found this helpful

Stanbridge Academy 5

Posted February 10, 2011
- a parent
Stanbridge Academy is a wonderful school! My son has progressed in so many ways and his success is due to all the dedicated staff. Stanbridge puts an emphasis on teaching the kids to advocate for themselves. Check it out!
1 person found this helpful

Stanbridge Academy 5

Posted December 06, 2010
- a community member
As a mental health professional working with students who attend Stanbridge, I can recommend the school quite highly. The students are respected by their teachers and encouraged to work to potential both academically and socially. I have seen several young people blossom there after having very difficult experiences in other schools. Stanbridge afforded them the chance to shine, to make friends, and to excel. The staff there are very collaborative with outside professionals and see themselves as part of the team that supports the student in his or her life.
1 person found this helpful


Stanbridge Academy 5

Posted December 01, 2010
- a parent
Our son has made incredible progress during his four years at Stanbridge. He is now in high school and his social progress and interest in learning has grown remarkably. The teachers are talented and caring. The staff is responsive and creative in dealing with students who are smart, but have learning differences. He now has friends who accept him and he has learned to be more tolerant and understanding of others. At Stanbridge, the goal isn't a specific STAR test score. The goal is developing the skills in students so they will be successful in the long run. Being at Stanbridge has reduced the unnecessary stress on our son, so that he was able to develop the skills he will need in order to be successful in college and in life. We do not live close to the school, however, I have found it much less stress to drive to a school that does everything right, than trying to make the wrong school do the right thing.
1 person found this helpful

Stanbridge Academy 5

Posted August 27, 2010
- a parent
My son has just begun his fourth year at Stanbridge. We commute a great distance, and it is worth every minute we are in the car, as well as every penny we spend. It is a great school with an excellent, caring staff. It has changed my son's life, and mine as well. My son has a learning disability and focus issues (but NO behavioral problems) and public school was really beating him down. Now he is happy, enjoys school, and has friends. I can't say enough about what a relief it has been to our family. If you are looking for small class size and a safe learning environment in a traditional school setting for your struggling student, you should check out Stanbridge. Every school isn't right for every child, but the finding the right school for your child can be life changing. And the other parents are great, too!
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Stanbridge Academy
515 East Poplar Avenue, San Mateo, CA  94401
(650) 375-5860
Last modified Stanbridge Academy is a Private school
Stanbridge Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top