Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
San Pedro, CA
Students enrolled: 483

5 stars
Based on 23 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


28 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


South Shores/Csudh Visual And Performing Arts 5

Posted April 04, 2014
- a parent
Our family loves South Shores. We got to see the Primary Production, really wonderful. My kindergartner learned a variety of Broadway songs. The experience the children take away from the performances is unbelievable! Academic standards are high, plus all the music and arts children should have in every school.

South Shores/Csudh Visual And Performing Arts 5

Posted August 01, 2013
- a parent
Great school with the best teachers and office staff! I've had 6 children go to South Shores and they all loved this school!


South Shores/Csudh Visual And Performing Arts 5

Posted December 12, 2012
- a parent
I am a parent of a 4th Grade student who has been at South Shores since 1st Grade. We feel so fortunate to have our daughter at this school because the level of teaching is very high and she has so many arts-related programs to compliment her academics. Here she is able to learn Greek dance, knit, sing, play the clarinet in the school band, and much more. South Shores has won many State and National honors, including the Golden Bell, awarded by the Dept. of Education in Washington. I know other South Shores graduates and this start in life has always been to their advantage.

South Shores/Csudh Visual And Performing Arts 5

Posted December 26, 2011
- a community member
I went to South Shores when I was little and graduated in like 2000 or 2001. I cant find any of my old year books :/ The school was awesome and I wish I could get in contact with people that graduated with me. You'd be about 20 going on 21 like me :)

South Shores/Csudh Visual And Performing Arts 5

Posted July 11, 2011
- a parent
Congratulations to South Shores National Blue ribbon School 2010-2011California Distinguished School, the only school in the district that received this award.The school has the right balance of academics and performing arts.Principal and teachers are very accessible and caring.My daughter is very happy and doing wonderful academically and creatively.


South Shores/Csudh Visual And Performing Arts 5

Posted July 11, 2011
- a teacher
South Shores Magnet School for the Visual and Performing Arts is the BEST elementary school in the whole wide world!!!

South Shores/Csudh Visual And Performing Arts 0
no rating

Posted May 10, 2010
- a parent
Pros: South Shores provides a balanced education. Through incorporation of the arts into the curriculum, the students find school to be fun and stimulating. The teachers genuinely care about the students and teacher morale appears to be high. The principal is a strong, knowledgeable leader who is supportive of the needs of the students, teachers, and community. Cons: The school lacks any type of quality, structured after-school program to accommodate working parents. In addition, the school lacks funding, as LAUSD does not give them as much funding as other local schools due to their magnet status and high test scores. LAUSD channels money into improving those schools that are less successful, leaving a school like South Shores lacking the necessary financial support.

South Shores/Csudh Visual And Performing Arts 5

Posted March 04, 2010
- a parent
I am so happy my daughter goes here. She has blossomed as a child and grown as a performer and is doing wonderfully as a learner. She is in the 2nd grade and her reading is at 6th grade level! Great work, teachers and staff!!


South Shores/Csudh Visual And Performing Arts 5

Posted November 16, 2009
- a student
I went to South Shores for 5 years and I loved it. The teachers were great. I loved all the performing we did. This is the best school I've been to!

South Shores/Csudh Visual And Performing Arts 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a community member
No only do the children do regular studies, they enjoy the arts. This school makes learning fun, that is what school should be about. More children would stay in school if they could enjoy the arts as well.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

South Shores/Csudh Visual And Performing Arts
2060 West 35th Street, San Pedro, CA  90732
(310) 832-6596
Last modified South Shores/Csudh Visual And Performing Arts is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
South Shores/Csudh Visual And Performing Arts Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. Top