Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Dixie Elementary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted June 03, 2016
- a community member
The teacher's aides are wonderful. Through them the children receive kindness and patience. They are not concerned with test scores, but the whole child.

Dixie Elementary School 1

Posted June 03, 2016
- a community member
Dixie is overly concerned about the school's rating via test scores. In Kindergarten, they "teach to the test" and the amount of homework is often lamented by parents. While I'm sure there are some very kind teachers, the number of children who moved classes because of the way a child was treated by a teacher was astonishing.


Dixie Elementary School 4

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
We love Dixie school!We have found that the teachers are very committed to the students. In most grades there is a somewhat leveled curriculum to help the kids learn at the pace that suits their needs. The parent support of the school is comprehensive. Truly, the common goal of the Principal, administrative staff, teachers and parents is to provide the best, most well rounded education possible to the students.

Dixie Elementary School 5

Posted November 10, 2012
- a parent
We are new to the district and have been very happy with Dixie. My son's kindergarten teacher is excellent - attentive, communicative and sensitive to his individual needs. The families we have met so far have been incredibly warm and receptive. The principal is caring, involved and active. I've been impressed with the resources available to my child, the extra-curricular activities, and the involvement of the parents. So far, Dixie is an all-around great school!

Dixie Elementary School 5

Posted November 05, 2012
- a parent
We moved from another school in the district and what a difference, finally my son is getting the education he deserves. Nice kind teachers, academic work to his ability. Recess is managed and supported by various activities. It is like we walked into an alternate universe. Smiles all around this campus, not like the other school where you were greeted by a rude and miserable secretary. This is a GREAT SCHOOL, it isnt just me who is happier my son keeps telling me he loves it, well done Dixie elementary


Dixie Elementary School 3

Posted March 22, 2012
- a parent
The parents are involved and invested in their child's education. The kids do well on the State test because of this not because it's a good school. Most teachers teach to the test and are not invested with the kids. If can can afford private school, consider this before you send them to Dixie.

Dixie Elementary School 3

Posted August 16, 2011
- a parent
Dixie is an OK school but there is a lot of bullying going on there by the kids to other kids and by teachers bullying parents for no good reason. I have hope and pray the principle takes care of this for the new school year.

Dixie Elementary School 5

Posted May 12, 2011
- a parent
In the second grade, my daughter switched from a private school to Dixie. Being the new kid wasn't easy since everyone seemed to know each other since birth.(It's a small community). Anyway, after the first few months she fell in love with Dixie. She told me that at her old school, she had only one friend, and now EVERYONE is a friend. She also shared with me how she felt her old school was grey and boring, and her new school is surrounded by nature and fun. She loves her teachers, friends, and is really thriving. Now she is in the 5th grade, and she's sad that she'll be leaving next year. She's a straight A student, and really applies herself because the encouragement she gets from her teacher makes her want to succeed. We're very happy with Dixie. We'll miss it.


Dixie Elementary School 2

Posted July 03, 2010
- a parent
We moved here so are comparing to another public school in Bay Area: The teachers teach to the test -- literally reading from teacher manuals during class and work is straight from workbooks, etc. I think a good teacher creates his/her own curriculum using the textbooks and workbooks as supplements, not the be all end all. I also have to comment that the children frankly are not as well-behaved and nice as at other schools.

Dixie Elementary School 3

Posted May 28, 2010
- a community member
the leadership in this school needs a lot of help. The teachers are for the most part good but tend to teach towards the Star Test. For example, the 3rd garders had no homework after the Star test.

Nearby schools

Dixie Elementary School
1175 Idylberry Drive, San Rafael, CA  94903-1131
(415) 492-3730
Last modified Dixie Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top