Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public district
San Rafael, CA
Students enrolled: 405
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Vallecito Elementary School 5

Posted May 27, 2015
- a community member
My soon to be 5th grader asked "Do you think I can fail a year so I can stay at Vallecito longer?" You can't get a better review than that, right? We have a firecracker of a principal, amazing teachers, wonderful support staff and a group of parent volunteers that could run the world! I will truly miss this school after next year. GO EAGLES!!!

Vallecito Elementary School 5

Posted April 07, 2015
- a parent
Vallecito Elementary provides a truly personalized educational experience for our child. The principal, teachers, and staff are ultimate educational professionals and are warm and caring. They know EVERY child's name. The children and families at the school are all from diverse backgrounds- ethnic, cultural, economic, geographic but somehow the school fosters an incredible sense of community. When our child has expressed interest in various activities or causes, the principal and teachers have been there to support her 110%. All of the report cards we've received have been thoughtful and comprehensive. Teachers are readily available to chat/email if the need ever arises. These folks take the business of education seriously. There is a wide range of extracurricular activities for the kids to choose from. If you are looking for a true community-based school experience for your child, I cannot recommend Vallecito enough. It's a real asset to our neighborhood and greater community.


Vallecito Elementary School 5

Posted September 07, 2014
- a parent
My son started 1st grade at Vallecito in 2013 and had a fantastic experience. Wonderful admin and staff, he progressed tremendously especially compared to the school he went to for K ( in el dorado hills). Another great aspect is the culture at the school. We have met friends from all over CA and the world, its truly something special!

Vallecito Elementary School 5

Posted July 18, 2014
- a parent
We have had the pleasure of sending our kids to Vallecito for some 8 years now, and it was and still is a wonderful school. The new principal (well, new as of 2-3 years ago) has injected new energy into the school and is dynamic and communicative. They also do a great job of balancing the basics with extra activities like music, arts, dance. As with any school, the teachers are hit and miss -- we have had some wonderful teachers and some good ones, but never any who we felt were bad. Perhaps the best thing about Vallecito is the community ... very welcoming and supportive, and highly involved in their children's education. Overall a great school
1 person found this helpful

Vallecito Elementary School 2

Posted April 24, 2014
- a parent
This school is headed in a downward spiral. There seems to be an influx of students whose needs are not being met. My opinion is that the staff is ill prepared or not adequately funded to meet the new demands of incoming ELL and poverty-stricken families. I am all for diversity, but teaching methods and resources should reflect current needs and they just don't. Many of the grade level teams decide to only teacher social studies or science during a trimester. They do not go into more depth in the chosen subject so I am confused as to what the point of this is other than less planning on the teacher's part. Additionally, you would expect that reading, writing, and math would be covered that much more throughly if you are taking away a core subject, but wrong again. In comparison to Dixie (neighboring school) several items on the repot card are mysteriously not evaluated. So, perhaps more enrichment is provided focusing on the arts, or targeting top performing students then?- another no. Also, kids are tracked by ability in LA and math which does not seem flexible throughout the year. Communication from some teachers is extremely lacking. Too bad because this was once a real gem.
3 people found this helpful


Vallecito Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 28, 2010
- a parent
We've enjoyed the community feeling as well as appreciate the quality education our child is receiving.

Vallecito Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 28, 2010
- a parent
Fantastic school!!!! Amazing staff, great communication with parents, wonderful program. My son loves Vallecito!

Vallecito Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 28, 2010
- a parent
Excellent principal and staff, teachers are top quality educators, parents are involved and students are engaged.


Vallecito Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 27, 2010
- a parent
Our family moved from Southern CA to Terra Linda two years ago, and I am still amazed at how much better Vallecito elementary is compared to the schools we came from. Vallecito offers art, music, and PE with a real PE teacher; items which are being cut from curriculums at other schools. The community really comes together to support a well rounded education for our kids. It's great!

Vallecito Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 27, 2010
- a parent
Dedicated, lovely educators who truly make a difference in our children's lives.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Vallecito Elementary School
50 Nova Albion Way, San Rafael, CA  94903
(415) 492-3750
Last modified Vallecito Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Vallecito Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top