Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
San Rafael, CA
Students enrolled: 1,069
 

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Terra Linda High School 5

Posted April 05, 2013
- a parent
TL has excelled in preparing academically minded teens for UC, private universities, and CSU admissions. The curriculum includes numerous AP courses that are key to college success.

Terra Linda High School 3

Posted March 27, 2012
- a parent
There are a few great teachers, there are a few lazy ones as well who care more about being cool and popular with the students than they do about teaching them This is especially true with some (but certainly not all) of the English and science teachers. But the main problem is that the administration is not strong. The principal is a sweetheart but he seems to be in denial that TL is no longer this pleasant little suburban school--it's changing, and he needs to change in accordance. Too much is allowed at this school--the halls are crowded with wayward students who use their bathroom pass as a pass from the entire class. Tutorial, I understand, is a big hot mess with students roaming around looking for teachers who will admit them so they can "study" with their buds. The principal needs to run a tighter ship and he would do well to study what SRHS has accomplished under the strong leadership of Judith Colton. I am a fan of TL and am rooting for it--I just know this school can do better.


Terra Linda High School 5

Posted February 10, 2012
- a parent
Terra Linda is an excellent public HS. My son is a Freshman and he truly enjoys attending school at TL. I am very impressed with all of the teachers, parents, coaches and students that I have met. My son currently has a 4.14 GPA; plays football; wrestles and plays the violin in the orchestra. The variety of academic classes and sports he has available to him are outstanding!
1 person found this helpful

Terra Linda High School 0
no rating

Posted September 23, 2009
- a parent
The principal at TL is fantastic. He has a contagious spirit, is thoughtful, fair and keeps everyone on their toes. Most of the teachers are very good. The Home and School Club (their PTA) is extremely active and there seems to be more and more parent participation. Thumbs up.

Terra Linda High School 3

Posted September 22, 2009
- a parent
Street Law is a wonderful class: inspiring, relevant, teacher led (not test oriented) and challenging. Disappointment: My A/B student who is now at UCSC did not write any edited papers or essays while at TL. There were no assignments that required him to review his work and improve it. When he had to submit a writing sample from school for a private college application, he had a choice of 1) a group project which was not all his own work 2) a few paragraphs about a poem (from Jr. year) 3) An in-class essay from a final, written 2 days before the application due date. I would like to see TL encourage students to hone their writing skills through rough drafts, etc. Teachers should coordinate to make sure students are getting practice writing and editing their work. Music (choir, band, orchestra, jazz band) and Drama programs are well-developed and inspiring.


Terra Linda High School 5

Posted September 20, 2009
- a parent
This school works with the students and parents, keeping academics, sports and safety important.

Terra Linda High School 0
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
The teachers are very enthusiastic and motivated.The school has great school spirit.

Terra Linda High School 3

Posted March 23, 2009
- a student
Im a student at Tl, and I really like the school. Our programs deliver in most categories and we have many sports activities. This campus does lack a friendly feeling, and there are many people who are not motivated to learn


Terra Linda High School 1

Posted January 29, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Terra Linda High School 5

Posted September 08, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
Please note: questions asked via Facebook are public, and not anonymous. Want to leave a review, instead of ask a question? Click here.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Terra Linda High School
320 Nova Albion Way, San Rafael, CA  94903
(415) 492-3100
Last modified Terra Linda High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Terra Linda High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top