Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hidden Hills Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 1079 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

59 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 15, 2009

Its a great school with excellent teachers, wonderful kids and a super strong PTA. I love it and am so happy that my child gets to call it her School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

Hidden Hills is a wonderful school, were an extremely diverse mix of students and teachers interact to learn not only the 3 Rs, but also important creative, cultural and physical skills. It is more important than ever to give our children the foundation they will need to succeed, as we are now competing in a global economy. An economy where diverse perspectives and achievements will give our country an advantage - if schools can properly fund programs to accelerate these skills. Our students have tested exceptionally well and deserve the advantages that $20,000 could bring - their hard work and dedication is amazing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

The teachers/staff are great. Community support is awesome !!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

The principal, teachers, students, parents & community are fantastic!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2009

Tthis school is truly beautiful and its teachers are the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2009

Great school! I was first impressed by the good education background of my sons teachers. Their teachers all graduated from well-known colleges such as UC Berkeley.... Good education background ensured them to be good role models of the kids. My husband and I believe the outstanding school and the beautiful environment of this community is worth the 1 hour commute to work everyday!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2008

My first was in Danville, and my next two are at Hidden Hills. Clearly a top notch school, with excellent leadership and teachers. Parental involvement is high, but could improve. Additional cost is about $400, but at least it goes to school vs government. Also, the additional funding is well spent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2008

I like this school very much! Before we join Hidden Hills, Principal interviewed both my daughter and me. She is great principal. She knew every single family and student. Teachers are very nice and very updated. Our family moved from a private school. We are join Hidden Hills pretty much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2007

We have been at Hidden Hills School since it opened and could not be more pleased with our decision to move into this community. Donna Yokomizo is an amazing leader whose primary goal is making sure all students are set up for success. As noted in an earlier parent review, many of the families are dual income so a lot of the parent volunteerism happens at night (grading papers for teachers) or during the weekend (setting up fundraisers or events like Family Fun Night, Carnival, Talent Show, etc.). My husband and I spend a significant amount of time volunteering. In the end, results speak for themselves. This school is the highest ranked elementary school in the distict and families are waiting in line to get their kids into this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2007

We have had our children in four different school system in the US from Private schools in Louisiana, and Southern Ca. and public schools in Houston and found Hidden Hills to be the poorest of all. Parent involvement is poor. School field trips are poorly planned, and are demanding on the double income families in the area. School funding solicitation is excessive. Try to get in one of the other local schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2007

Fantastic principal, excellent curriculum, dedicated teachers, fabulous community with tremendous parent involvement. PTA is exceptional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2007

AWESOME school! Great principal: organized, strict and very carring. Teachers are sharp and driven. Lots of great programs for both parents and kids. Parents are asked for about $450 per student per year in donations, but that is well worth it (less than $2.00 per day) There are extra assistant teachers, and lots of extra part and full time staff that these dollars pay for. (Not to mention great school supplies!) Totally worth every penny!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2007

This is my daughters second year with Hidden Hills Elementary. Though we pay additional fees for extracurricular activities during the year (approx $425/yr), It is well worth the extra expense. I do question the need for a teachers work day which causes some scheduling problems with work. The principal is exceptional and very creative and seems to have a good team of educators who enjoy their work. Parent involvement is higher than I expected as there are plenty of stay at home mom's. The quality of the education material is somewhat questionable especially with some of the math problems which requires a lot of deductive reasoning by the parents to determine what is actually being asked. A syllabus for the year would be helpful. Otherwise, there is plenty of activities and challenges that my daughter enjoys so she looks forward going to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2007

I am a parent of a kindergarten student this year. My experience from the very beginning has been an exceptional one. Back-to-School night allowed all the parents the opportunity to learn about the teachers, the standards, the expectations for parents. I am able, as well as my neighbors, (who also have children in kindergarten) to communicate with my child's teacher. During conference time, I was informed that my child was not meeting standard. The teacher provided me with resources to help my child at home. I am extremely appreciative that my child's teacher is doing her best to insure that not just my child is successful academically and socially but looks for the best in all her students. I am glad that any concern regarding my child is honestly and thoroughly brought to my attention. I know that all the teachers at Hidden Hills have their students best interest at heart.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2006

Hidden Hills is a beautiful new school but I have many concerns. My Husband and our son have not felt comfortable at Hidden Hills. And since Hidden Hills is a new school in a new community, I would think they'd be extra communicative with parents and especially the students in letting them know what is expected, where to go, standards, testing, homework, etc. Plus give the students leeway to figure their new school out. Our son is in Kindergarten and has been labled below benchmark when at home he is reading writing and numbers to 30 etc..his teacher has marked him below benchmark on her report card. We as parents are concerned about the breakdown of communication and the relationships between parent and teacher at that school. We do not see a real connection and feel that our child picks up on that to, therefor he is not performing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2006

Hidden Hills has a very energetic principal and outstanding teachers. The students are inspired to do their best. There is still a room for improvement on parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2006

the teachers seem to want to teach but do not have guidelines that make sense. there is too much interference from the unions as well as the school board and district. unions should stay out of politics and teachers should do the same.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2006

Fantastic school with the highest standards!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2006

My son is a kindergartener at Hidden Hills and when he started, I have to admit I was a little intimidated by the curriculum. I thought it was way too much for a 5 year old. But now that he's 3 quarters of the way done, he can read books, do addition/subtraction, measurements, write short stories and discuss scientific inquiry and experimental methodology. He's not big on music but loves art and enjoys doing art projects. The parents are very involved in our community here at Windemere and it shows whenever there is a school or PTA function.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

972

Change from
2012 to 2013

-7

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

8 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

972

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-7

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

8 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

182 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

182 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

180 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

180 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

180 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

180 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

182 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

184 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

182 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students90%
Females92%
Males89%
African Americann/a
Asian96%
Filipino88%
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability92%
English learner100%
Fluent-English proficient and English only87%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate89%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate93%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students93%
Females93%
Males93%
African Americann/a
Asian96%
Filipino100%
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability93%
English learner100%
Fluent-English proficient and English only91%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate89%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate95%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students88%
Females90%
Males85%
African Americann/a
Asian92%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)69%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability89%
English learner93%
Fluent-English proficient and English only87%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate85%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate89%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students94%
Females92%
Males95%
African Americann/a
Asian96%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability95%
English learner100%
Fluent-English proficient and English only93%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate90%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate97%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students95%
Females98%
Males93%
African Americann/a
Asian97%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability96%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only96%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate95%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate97%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students99%
Females100%
Males98%
African Americann/a
Asian99%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability99%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only99%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate99%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate99%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students95%
Females97%
Males94%
African Americann/a
Asian97%
Filipino91%
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability97%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only95%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate92%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate98%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students94%
Females95%
Males94%
African Americann/a
Asian97%
Filipino91%
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability97%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only95%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate91%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate97%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students96%
Females95%
Males96%
African Americann/a
Asian99%
Filipino82%
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability97%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only95%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate92%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate97%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Asian 66%
White 13%
Two or more races 10%
Hispanic 3%
Black 1%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 3%N/AN/A
English language learners 12%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12995 Harcourt Way
San Ramon, CA 94583
Website: Click here
Phone: (925) 479-3800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT