Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Montevideo Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 5, 2013

I wont even give a 1 star for the kind of culture they are developing recently here. There is zero leader ship and every teacher is their own boss and don't want to take responsibility of child education rather they depend on parents to home school and expect kids learn magically with out putting any effort. for anything and everything first thing come out they have 26 kids per class. complete chaos. like others mentioned they black list kids and try to find wrong on every activities come on they are just kids. Hopefully school board will cleanup the mess soon.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2013

My kid has been going to this school for last 3 years, we really like the school's teachers, office staff and principal for all their services, support, they are so attentive to our questions or concerns. This is perfect elementary school in my opinion and I would recommend to any of my friends. I really appreciate their hard work and support given so far, the parents involvement are so high and the school also provides cogate and ATP. All wonderful and very friendly teachers. thanks
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2013

We love Montevideo so much!!! We have a new principle Mrs. Welch this year, who we admire for her everlasting smile and encouraging words to every child and parent. We love all the office staffs and teachers. They have beautiful hearts. You can sense the love and care they have for each child, family and for each other. Seeing Joy, Denys and Nancy work in harmony to reach out to everyone came to office is a joy. Their smiling faces and sweet attitude tell you about the school. Denys still remember my 17 year old son who attended this school in his 4th grade when we just moved in the area. Our son had received so much care and respect in the office while waiting for me. We did not fully realize what we had had until we transferred him to another closer school in his fifth grade, where the atmosphere was totally different. Our boy even came back crying because a teacher's singled him out because of he did not want to dance. 7 years later the office atmosphere is still the same, and teacher can single out a child in public (you can hear the rebuking from a speaker). Comparing to the loving and encouraging atmosphere that Montevideo have! What an exodus we had and blessing we received!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2012

Really a wonderful school.The principal is always active...great that office staff could remember almost all the kid's names...everyone from teachers,principal and office staff are very helpful...students will learn good manners and discipline under such leadership...I'm really happy that my daughter is a part of this great environment..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2011

I love the principal. She is very friendly and approachable and excited about her school. The children at this school were very welcoming to my daughter who came in towards the end of the school year. A great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2011

My son is a 3rd grader, and we have an incoming Kindergartner. I have been so pleased with this school. My son's teachers from K - 3 have been absolutely fabulous. The general school community is very supportive and there is a great deal of parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2010

Montevideo elementary school is excellent and teachers are great and principal is so great. They ar erunning challenging academic programms.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2010

Excellent teachers.. Strong principal and leadershipChallenging academic programs. My son really improved a lot compared his previous school in teh same school district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2010

Excellent teachers and so responsive.Lot of patience to the teachers.My son did a great job in third grade. Dynamic head of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2010

I dont like monte video elementary school there teachers are not in touch with childrens needs and dont teach much about real life just math and reading
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2010

My son just finished the school year in the first grade, It has been a rollercoaster ride! I gave the school 3 stars as it was average. I believe our teacher form a negative opinion about our child and gave my child incorect report cards in areas we know he has above average strengths my child was scored below average on a scale of 1-4 my child recieved several 1s where 3s were due. You must be completly dedicated to the school in my opinion or they may just black list the child and give them lower scores, we had spelling bees at home with another child from our class and our child out spelled another child who recieved higher report cards in spelling this made no sense to me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2008

Still happy with Montevideo! We still have 5 kids, one is in 8th grade and three of them are still at Montevideo, the youngest one will be in kindergareten next year. We cannot say enough nice things. Each teacher with each of our kids were suited perfect for their personalities. These are all outstanding teachers and have worked with our family to help our children succeed. Special kudos to the office staff. They are never too busy to help anyone at anytime. P.S. We will be here for the next six years and look forward to the continued support from the staff and families by this school and community. Wish more parents would contribute to the scholar fund-it's greatly needed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2006

My grandson attended kindergarten (2005/6) and had Mrs. Mordoff as his teacher. I cannot say enough good things about this school. I raised my children and volunteered nearly every day at their schools. Montevideo has very clearly exceeded my expectations based on past experience. While Montevideo is not a brand new school (as many are in the area) I would not trade for anything. We come from a school oriented family, Grandpa is a Principal and both Grandmothers are Teachers. The staff is top notch, and the parent participation is great. My grandson is very happy to attend school here and now looks foreword to 1st grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2006

This is a wonderful school, great parent-teacher relationships are developed making a solid learning foundation for its students. Campus is clean and safe, grounds are well-kept, surrounding area is beautiful. My son is entering 4th grade next year, he loves this school and looks forward to attending class every day. Teachers are remarkable, especially Mrs. Ruth Mildwurm (2nd grade in 2006).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2004

Our three children attend Montevideo. The staff, campus and families that attend rate a 10 plus with us. Mrs. Keeton, the principal is efficient, and has a open door policy with families. All of our teachers were top notch. We love Montevideo for it's extensive hands on approach.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

925

Change from
2012 to 2013

-24

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

925

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-24

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students76%
Females82%
Males73%
African Americann/a
Asian85%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino71%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)72%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability78%
English learner62%
Fluent-English proficient and English only83%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate83%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate84%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students79%
Females76%
Males85%
African Americann/a
Asian91%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino65%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability80%
English learner76%
Fluent-English proficient and English only82%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate87%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate81%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students75%
Females76%
Males76%
African Americann/a
Asian83%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)72%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability77%
English learner40%
Fluent-English proficient and English only81%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate78%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate76%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students90%
Females91%
Males90%
African Americann/a
Asian97%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability94%
English learner87%
Fluent-English proficient and English only91%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate98%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate84%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students87%
Females93%
Males83%
African Americann/a
Asian93%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino83%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability88%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only88%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate84%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students92%
Females95%
Males89%
African Americann/a
Asian97%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino82%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability92%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only92%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate90%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students88%
Females91%
Males86%
African Americann/a
Asian81%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability89%
English learner55%
Fluent-English proficient and English only93%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate89%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate89%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students90%
Females84%
Males95%
African Americann/a
Asian92%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability91%
English learner73%
Fluent-English proficient and English only92%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate89%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students87%
Females91%
Males83%
African Americann/a
Asian81%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability89%
English learner64%
Fluent-English proficient and English only91%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate87%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Asian 43%
White 35%
Hispanic 12%
Two or more races 6%
Black 1%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 5%N/AN/A
English language learners 18%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 2:45 pm
School Leader's name
  • Tasha Snow
Fax number
  • (925) 828-1727

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13000 Broadmoor Drive
San Ramon, CA 94583
Website: Click here
Phone: (925) 479-6100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



CA Christian Academy
San Ramon, CA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT