Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
7-8
Public
San Ysidro, CA
Students enrolled: 787
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


San Ysidro Middle School 1

Posted February 28, 2012
- a parent
It is not a good school. My son is getting great grades but isn't learning anything at all. There are so many things my son should have learned by now and hasn't because most of the teachers are lazy. Only a couple of the teachers communicated with me about my son's problems. He rarely brings any homework home and many times they watch movies in the classroom (not educational films). So if you don't care if your kid learns anything and still gets good grades, then this is the school to be. Obviously this school doesn't care about the students only about passing them. I do have to add Mr. Lozada is a great teacher, but that's it.

San Ysidro Middle School 1

Posted April 01, 2010
- a student
All These parents below do not see the first hand experience. All they see is the outside, but in the inside I really dislike it. Makes me not want to go to school anymore. This is coming from a Student who attended SYMS. The teachers are not as great as you think. Some teachers do things to make themselves look good. In reality they don't deserve it. San Ysidro Schools May have good test scores, but that still doesn't prove the greatness in a school.


San Ysidro Middle School 0
no rating

Posted April 01, 2010
- a student
To the student that did not like the school. were you involved in school activities? I was one that was involved and I got to know my teachers. Its students like you that complain and never made a difference. Many of SYMS students attend the best universities and are doctors,lawyers and engineers. I would like too see your track record!

San Ysidro Middle School 5

Posted January 11, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

San Ysidro Middle School 4

Posted February 28, 2009
- a parent
Two of my children have attended OVHS since 2003. My son has moved on to San Ysidro H.S. My oldest daughter is now a student @ SYMS . I have nothing but high praise for all who work with students @ SYMS. From admin.,office staff (Debbie is great!)food service,supervisors,bus drivers and of course the teachers. Ms. Aviles,Mr. Murillo are wonderful. I really like that this school enforces the dress code on a daily basis. Unlike, other schools in the district.The school offers parent education mtgs. Two they have had recently were re: Talking to your kids about sex/stds and anger management. I frequently listen to the morning broadcasts and am very pleased by the way they start the day on a positive note. My daughter did not like going to school and this school has made a huge difference!


San Ysidro Middle School 2

Posted January 22, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

San Ysidro Middle School 3

Posted October 10, 2008
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

San Ysidro Middle School 2

Posted August 14, 2008
- a community member
This review submitted without content.


San Ysidro Middle School 5

Posted January 23, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

San Ysidro Middle School 2

Posted September 17, 2006
- a teacher
I encouraged parents to visit the school more often to see first hand the disparities among classroom resources and the lack of leadership in this school.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

San Ysidro Middle School
4345 Otay Mesa Road, San Ysidro, CA  92173
(619) 428-5551
Last modified San Ysidro Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
San Ysidro Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top