Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Sanger, CA
Students enrolled: 2,733
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sanger High School 4

Posted June 29, 2015
- a student
I am a current SHS student. The academics here are fairly good, however, the math department needs a complete makeover. Students care more about making grades, instead of actually learning, due to the fact that teachers don't spend enough time teaching the subject and give excessive amounts of homework and tests. Most other subjects are well. The world language department is great along with English and History. The science teachers are great, however, make sure your student is responsible when it comes to homework for those classes. The arts program at Sanger High is a little small, however, it is growing. The drama department has received a lot of new members lately, and with the help of the new community theater program, it is expected to grow even more. There are many visual art classes at SHS. For the 2015-2016 school year, they are adding a dance PE class which is also expected to help build the art program. For athletics, Sanger high has a lot of spirit that carries all the way down to the middle school. Sanger is a football town, so basically the whole town shows up to Friday night football games (including away games). The band department is huge, and I guarantee you will be impressed with them. The cheer program is becoming more of a presence as well. They won their division in CIF for the 2014-2015 season (it was their first year competing). Water polo, Volley Ball, and Track are all large and great sports teams as well. For ASB, the program has a lot of members, and they do a lot of great things for the school, however, it could use a bit of a makeover as well. They need to broaden their ideas more and be less demanding and power hungry.

Sanger High School 5

Posted June 16, 2009
- a community member
I really enjoyed my four years at sanger high school. The campus was beautiful and the staff was amazing.


Sanger High School 4

Posted October 03, 2007
- a community member
This school has a very good curriculum. The teachers are very involved with their students.

Sanger High School 5

Posted May 17, 2007
- a parent
Sanger High has come a long way! The teachers are dedicated to their students and their achievement. The expectations are high, campus is clean and safe. The students get a good education with incredible extracurricular activities. Numerous AP and honors courses are offered. I'm proud to be an Apache!

Sanger High School 4

Posted April 06, 2006
- a parent
Sanger High offfers AP courses and a number of electives to accommodate different areas of student interest. The school is growing very fast with all the new construction in the area and class size is approaching an excessive level.


Sanger High School 4

Posted September 29, 2003
- a parent
I went to Clovis West high school in the early 80's and I can say that the parent involvement at Sanger High is far superior. The core student body makes the school a great place to recieve an education. I wouldn't send my kids anywhere else even though we live in the Clovis East district.

Sanger High School 3

Posted September 23, 2003
- a community member

Sanger High School 4

Posted August 19, 2003
- a student
As a former student I feel that Sanger is overlooked due to lazy students but there are a great deal of wonderful students and teachers here. Sports are a serious thing at SHS. You can see parents actively invoved in scool functions revolving around their child's activities. I believe Mr. Chacon really loves his students and has actively involved himself around them e.g. participating in the principal's lipsync to help raise scholarship money for them and the school. I am proud to say that I am an APACHE. Always with pride, Sanger High.


Sanger High School 3

Posted June 19, 2003
- a community member
I think there are a number of fabulous teachers at SHS and a number of terrible teachers who just don't seem to want to try anything new nor appropriate for today's students. Additionally, there is a segment of the school population (administration, faculty, students and parents) who want to turn the clock back to some previous date and do things 'the old way'. This is not acceptable. We need a school capable of working with todays kids, preparing them for college and the workforce. Mr. Chacon seems to be doing a good job, but needs support to make change. I'm not sure the community is open enough to improvement to support him and his team. Get some of those old duffs who don't want to try anything new and don't want to create relationships with kids out of there!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sanger High School
1045 Bethel Avenue, Sanger, CA  93657
(559) 524-7121
Last modified Sanger High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sanger High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top