Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public
Santa Ana, CA
Students enrolled: 705
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Taft Elementary School 1

Posted September 04, 2014
- a parent
This school did not leave a good taste in my mouth. Needs improvement in everything from the principal to staff. Really need to raise thier standards. Really disappointed with this school. Pulled my kids out of there.

Taft Elementary School 5

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
An Excellent School. Great Teachers that have a great deal of love and patience to our children. They also provide a place for children with special needs. I am eternally thankful for all that they do for our kids. I encourage for all parents to be more involved so that our children can become a success in the future. Thank you Taft Elementary School Staff/Team for all that you do.


Taft Elementary School 4

Posted November 21, 2013
- a parent
The school is very good I have two kids here Im happy with the progres of my kids . The teachers are excelend . Even when they have to many kids in each class room. They do the best they can do it.

Taft Elementary School 1

Posted December 12, 2012
- a parent
As tax payers this school has had many repairs done to make it a better and safer place for our kids. It upsets me that the principle being the leader and example does not enforce the rules for running in, on, or around planters especially in handicapped bus loading areas. I heard a lady approach him and say a teacher asked the kids over there to quit running and climbing on pipes and they ignore her? He says, "that happens allot." Field trips, I have been embrassed when a 6th grade class is compared to a 2nd grade class and taxes or grants pay for this. The bus trip for a 6th grade field trip was unsafe when you have kids sitting backwards in a seats. Boys slugging each other, and a teacher saying they are having fun. It is a very disrespectful school and it starts at the top. Do the teachers care, YES, but they need to work together on rules, but that starts at the top. After school program for the 1st time is setting rules, making kids walk and be respectful. This is the 1st time I would ever consider putting my child in after school care

Taft Elementary School 5

Posted July 09, 2012
- a parent
My brothers and sisters went to Taft back in the 90's during the year of Mr. Hart yes we where known as the Morgan's or Morgan 4. Now i have my fiances 6 yr old enrolled at Taft just finished Kinder who his teacher was Mrs. Jones now he's heading in to first grade. He loves the school and kids growing up as a only child he comes home always with stories about what he did at school or his new friend he made.and for those who say TAFT doesn't care about your child stop that because it takes both us parents and teachers to teach our kids so they may excel


Taft Elementary School 5

Posted March 02, 2009
- a parent
My oldest daughter went to this school and my two little ones are there. I feel that the teachers are very caring and do what they can with the budget. Most spend their own money to make sure that their students have the supplies necessary. That's what makes a difference in schools Teachers and faculty that cares. All three of my children's have excelled at Taft. I feel it is one of the best in the district.

Taft Elementary School 2

Posted September 04, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Taft Elementary School 4

Posted August 13, 2008
- a parent
My daughter started kinder last year. I don't know why anyone would say the school is not safe. They do the best they can with the present budget. I am envolved in the PFO and yes there is not a lot of parent participation but many parents do volunteer time in class. The school does their best with what they have and I do agree this school has to be one of the best in the district.


Taft Elementary School 5

Posted September 25, 2006
- a parent
Our daughter went to Taft for nearly 12 yrs. She is hearing impaired. I was surprised to see a post saying this school does not care about your child. That is false. This school is great with your child and they care very much. Mr. Longacre,(principal) is wonderful along with the teachers and Susan in the office. Our daughter had a wonderful childhood at Taft and we are thankful these great teachers were there for her.

Taft Elementary School 4

Posted June 21, 2006
- a teacher
Overall this is a good school with great mix of students and caring teachers. I believe this school is one of the best academically in Santa Ana Unified. There was no afterschool program in place this year, but one is scheduled to start in the coming 2006-07 year. There is a music program - third graders play the recorder 20 minutes a week with a music teacher. 4th and 5th graders who excel in their 3rd grade music program can participate in a beginning orchestra. I haven't seen too many parents involved in the school. Usually there are a couple of parents from each class who are willing to dedicate their time.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Taft Elementary School
500 West Keller, Santa Ana, CA  92707
(714) 431-7700
Last modified Taft Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Taft Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top