Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Guin Foss Elementary School 5

Posted January 15, 2014
- a parent
This is a GREAT school. I have 2 children that attend Guin Foss and they love it. They are both challenged and nurtured. The PTO is very involved and the principal is one of the best that I have ever dealt with. I have been very happy with the progress both of my children have made.

Guin Foss Elementary School 1

Posted July 09, 2013
- a parent
Administration is so important to a school, it can set a tone that is helpful, professional, and unbiased. The attitude set by administration filters down throughout the entire school. I am sad to say that with the change of administration, the once overall positive attitude at our school has changed. I am hopeful that with the possible change of people in key positions, our school can get back to what it once was.


Guin Foss Elementary School 5

Posted January 17, 2011
- a parent
To clarify, a Title I school is not a school where there are a large number of second language students. It is a school where a large percentage of students are on free or reduced lunch and the school receives additional Federal aid. My two children go to school here and I couldn't be happier with the education they are receiving. Both of my kids are very bright and are challenged academically everyday. They feel loved by their teachers and the staff at the school. It is a GREAT neighborhood school. The school has a bully box in the office for any child that feels threatened by another. I have never seen the principal ignore a situation that she was aware of.

Guin Foss Elementary School 1

Posted November 12, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Guin Foss Elementary School 5

Posted October 22, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Guin Foss Elementary School 5

Posted October 22, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Guin Foss Elementary School 5

Posted September 08, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Guin Foss Elementary School 5

Posted August 19, 2009
- a parent
We love Guin Foss!! The teachers, staff, PTO, and Mrs. Jenkins are very commited to the students. What a great team! My kids have had nothing but positive experiences at the school. We thank everyone for all of the hard work and dedication.


Guin Foss Elementary School 2

Posted July 26, 2009
- a parent
Many of hte teachers at Guin Foss are qualified, caring and nuturing. It's too bad that the focus has twisted from learning to punishment. If a child doesn't get enough A/R points he is prohibited from participating in recess and other activities. Reading shouldn't be a tortuous experience but a life long love developed in the early years. It's too bad that the principal is more focused on A/R points and not reading for information and enjoyment.

Guin Foss Elementary School 5

Posted July 14, 2009
- a parent
This is a wonderful school with excellent parental involvement and great educators who really care about the kids. Safe and nurturing environment where the kids are always excited to learn and get involved.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Guin Foss Elementary School
18492 Vanderlip Avenue, Santa Ana, CA  92705
(714) 730-7552
Last modified Guin Foss Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Guin Foss Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top