Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Grand Avenue Christian School

Private | PK-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Santa Ana

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $470,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,600.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 29, 2012

My son attends Grand Avenue Christian School. He is in the Pre-K. I chose this school because of its student/teacher ratio and its commitment to integrating Christian values and principles. The teachers are caring and provide a safe environment for the children. I really appreciate that they take the time to deal with active boys. The principal is very active with the preschool and knows all the students by name. I am praying that my son will be able to continue at this school wherever they relocate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2011

Principal is really good and very involve in all activities,he has a good leadership quality that's why teachers are good too. . . .Keep it up and May God Bless this school always. . .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2011

good performance reflect how good the teachers are....just let the parents take pictures and videos of their children's special moments....use the stage better so to see all the kids
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2011

Parent response overwhelmingly positive - As principal of GACS, I have received glowing reviews about our staff and school program. The teacher criticized in the 1-26-11 review recently lost her husband of 59 years and had excruciating back surgery. I am in constant contact with her, and she is responding to my feedback. All staff and current school families understand and appreciate her caring treatment of the students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 26, 2011

I was really glad when my child started pre-k at this school the teachers were great and very patient. unfortunately i cant say the same thing about the kindergarten class. I find it very discouraging to have my child constantly being put down or talked about negatively. It is heart breaking to see this going on at a christian school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2009

This school was very good for my sons. I can't remember very nice and enthusiastic teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2006

This is a good school. It's small so the children get the attention they need. The staff is wonderful. The teachers are great. It's a very good Christian environment for your kids to grow up in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2005

Grand Avenue is a good school who offers a small size for class instruction. My son and several nieces have attented this school. Highly Recommend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2004

I am very involved at Grand Avenue and would like to say that my son is safe and has excelled while there. I am a single mom with little time to spend concerned about his wellbeing. I trust the teachers there and know that they have the students' best interest at the forefront of the programs there. It is a great school, a real family environment. The only thing I can think of that would make Grand a better private school is if more parents were involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2004

The teachers are very skilled and work hard to bring out the best in each child. They know every kid's favorite activities and hobbies, and at the same time they are very consistent with the homework and the curriculum. Not more than ten students per teacher in almost every grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2004

I attended Grand Avenue for six years, pre-k to 4th grade. I am now graduating high school. I would just like to say that I learned so much while attending school at Grand. It was a great place for me to start my schooling. Thank you!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 14, 2003

My sons have been at this school since for six years. I have been very happy with the small size and the family atmosphere. It's nice when all the kids names are known. The small class size makes an excellent learning environment also. Almost like individual attention. Second best to homeschooling. My boys prefer it though as they get to see their friends. I have enjoyed the school as a parent as we are able to be involved with every aspect of the school. I would highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 39% 52%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 28% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 11% 11%
White 11% 26%
Black 6% 6%
Two or more races 6% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • German
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • John Hernandez
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Year-round
Affiliation
  • Methodist
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (714) 547-0484

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • German
  • Spanish

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2121 North Grand Avenue
Santa Ana, CA 92705
Website: Click here
Phone: (714) 547-5039

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT