Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public
Santa Barbara, CA
Students enrolled: 152

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Cold Spring Elementary School 2

Posted June 04, 2013
- a parent
School is about who contributes most financially to foundation. If you don't your child will not get the parts in plays etc. This school should be much better than it is. Small and initimate but very teachers are not strong This is about being accepted not about education

Cold Spring Elementary School 5

Posted February 19, 2013
- a community member
I attended Cold Spring School all 7 years of elementary school and absolutely loved it! Cold Spring is known as one of the top elementary schools in the country, and for good reason as well! Even though it is a public school, there are only about 13-18 students in each class, and only 2 classes at most per grade level. The students and teachers are welcoming and friendly, and the playground and grass have recently been replaced and are clean and beautiful! I loved so much about this school, but I especially remember how I was never worried about my grades because the teachers would be so on top of their jobs that you would always know exactly what was going on. The teachers made lessons interesting and fun, and we took many field trips to further our knowledge. Highlights of my time at CSS included the 5th grade field trip to CIMI cove and the 6th grade trip to AstroCamp. Both were well-supervised, yet fun, and the food, activities, and entertainment were all amazing! I could not wish for a better elementary school for my future children to go to!


Cold Spring Elementary School 5

Posted August 07, 2009
- a parent
Cold Spring School is an amazing school. I have had 5 children attend over the years and they have all had a very special experience. The Cold Spring community is one of a kind. It has all the benefits of a modern school with a small school house feel. I have never felt pressured to give money to the foundation but have found that I wanted to give to support the teachers. The school does its very best the meet the needs of all the children where ever they may be on their journey. It is the best school around.

Cold Spring Elementary School 5

Posted January 18, 2009
- a parent
I have had 3 children go through this school and have been extremely pleased with all aspects of their educational and social experience. Their teachers have been fantastic as well as all the specialists. This school has the benefit of small class sizes, enrichment programs and an active parent body. The Foundation does raise money to support the additional programs provided. Without their support the music, art, library, technology and physical education would not be what it is. I have never felt pressured to give more than I was able. Every contribution is appreciated.

Cold Spring Elementary School 5

Posted February 20, 2008
- a parent
Cold Spring School is one of the top public schools you could imagine sending your child to. It has had the highest test scores in the county for five years now. It also has an average class size of 14-18 kids. However, it offers so much more with a full-time Art, Music, PE, and Technology teacher. We are the only school between Los Angeles and SF with a one-to-one computer ratio in 3-6 grades. It is true that all of these extra teachers are paid for by the parent supported foundation. However, financial participation is completely voluntary and all programs are open equally to every child regardless of parent donation levels. All of this in a low-key nurturing environment.


Cold Spring Elementary School 2

Posted January 14, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Cold Spring Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 15, 2007
- a parent
We moved to the school district when my daughter was in 6th grade. It was not an easy transition and no one from the students to the teachers made it easy. Her part in the mandatory sixth grade play was small because she was told that all the other kids had been there and deserved good parts. There is great pressure to give to the parents foundation which pays for things like the play. If you don't give your child will not be included in anything It is a private school.

Cold Spring Elementary School 5

Posted July 16, 2007
- a parent
The resources and programs in this school are exceptional. The student teacher ratio great. It can compete with the top notch private schools, but is still a free public school.


Cold Spring Elementary School 5

Posted July 18, 2005
- a staff
Cold Spring is at the top of the class. It's teachers are experienced but still relatively young on the whole. It 's music program is exceptional. It has a parent club.

Cold Spring Elementary School 4

Posted June 21, 2004
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cold Spring Elementary School
2243 Sycamore Canyon Road, Santa Barbara, CA  93108
(805) 969-2678
Last modified Cold Spring Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Cold Spring Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top