Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

347 students|Hope Elementary
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
6 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Monte Vista Elementary School 5

Posted September 23, 2015
- a parent
Monte Vista is an outstanding little gem of a neighborhood public school. The teachers, parents, and students are engaged. Communication is excellent. Our son loves to learn there. It's a very special and wonderful community. We are overwhelmingly happy with Monte Vista!

Monte Vista Elementary School 5

Posted May 01, 2011
- a parent
We came from private school and are very pleased with Monte Vista. The teachers we have had are excellent and have decades of experience. There is a core group of skilled parents who make up a strong PTA. The student body is very diverse both economically and in background. In my son's class we had parents from several Asian and European countries, as well as white and Hispanic families. Our parents do everything from high tech to food service. Good character is stressed at this school and I'm really glad my kids will enjoy having friends with different backgrounds - an opportunity they did not have private school. We have several good friends at Peabody but I enjoy the smaller, calmer campus life at Monte Vista. We also have a strong, experienced Board at the District Level as well.


Monte Vista Elementary School 5

Posted June 23, 2010
- a parent
My child has attended this school for kindergarten and we could not be happier. His teacher was wonderful; caring and engaging. The kids attend art, music, computer lab and p.e. one time per week, which is funded by the very active p.t.a. Parent participation is excellent, with at least two to three parents per day working in his classroom. He had only 17 kids in her class and there was one aide to assist with the three kindergarten classes. Many after school classes are available, though rather expensive. We have a fantastic p.t.a. board coming in this upcoming year, which should only help school unity and spirit.

Monte Vista Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 26, 2010
- a parent
Monte Vista is a wonderful elementary school. We considered sending our boys to some of the areas high-end private schools but everyone told us how lucky we were to live in the hope school district and to give Monte Vista a shot. I m a college professor and I continue to be impressed with the curriculum and quality of instruction at Monte Vista. The parent involvement, culture of sharing, instructor integrity and expertise are excellent and has more than met my expectations. We do indeed feel fortunate to be a part of such a special public school.

Monte Vista Elementary School
no rating

Posted November 11, 2009
- a parent
My children attended this school for many years. Most of the teachers my kids had were excellent. We are now in the Goleta school district. Honestly, I think Monte Vista is over rated. Seems to be too focused on test scores.


Monte Vista Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
It's such an awesome school and community - feels almost like a private school!

Monte Vista Elementary School 5

Posted February 20, 2007
- a parent
This school feels intimate, like a neighborhood school where everyone knows your kids. Excellent teachers, rigorous curriculum. Very, very involved parent group. The graduates of this school are the best & brightest when they go on to Jr. High.

Monte Vista Elementary School 4

Posted April 10, 2006
- a parent
I have a third grader and a Kindergardner, so I have been involved with the school for four years and I love it. My children are learning. They are engaged and encouraged. Their teachers have all been wonderful. The reading and library is great. The encouragement to write is fantastic. Math and science are made exciting. Parent involvement is encouraged.


Monte Vista Elementary School 4

Posted March 07, 2005
- a parent
Great academics, but very focused on test scores. Not enough attention to social/counseling component. Parent input drives school content/activities, not always the best thing for a school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Monte Vista Elementary School
730 North Hope Avenue, Santa Barbara, CA  93110-1599
(805) 687-5333
Last modified Monte Vista Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Monte Vista Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top