Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Together with the teachers, support staff and parents we are working very hard to make school more challenging, engaging and fun for all of our students this year! Our teachers meet weekly to review standards, student data reports and to discuss best teaching strategies for each individual student. Our strong PTA supports instruction with field trips, assemblies, instructional assistants and the necessary materials our students need to be successful. Our students know that success is based solely on being the best they can be! Adams school is truly a gem to be desired within the Santa Barbara School District!
January 04, 2011

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 35 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Adams Elementary School 5

Posted September 14, 2015
- a parent
Our journey at Adams began just last year when our son was to enter Kindergarten. I phoned for a school tour and never looked back. Kinder tours were scheduled monthly and personally led by the principal. Following the tour there were numerous engagement opportunities for parent and student involvement - a true sense of community. We now have a 1st grader and kindergartener and couldn't be happier. The school is led by a strong leader, amazing, passionate and committed teachers and a very active Parent Teacher Association. Adams is not pretentious rather focused on strengthening sense of community, student success and parent involvement. Fortunately, we are in a position to choose any school for our children - private or public. We choose Adams.

Adams Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted September 14, 2015
- a parent
In my opinion, the teachers at Adams truly LOVE what they do. They believe in the school's mission and leadership and are committed to student success.


Adams Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted September 14, 2015
- a parent
Mrs. Cruz, kindergarten teacher at Adams, is simply amazing. Her energy, enthusiasm and commitment to her students' learning potential is infectious. Peace of mind and heart is what I feel when my child is in her care. Thank you Mrs. Cruz.

Adams Elementary School 5

Posted September 14, 2015
- a parent
Adams school is a terrific neighborhood school. We could not ask for a better experience. The teachers are committed and the families are wonderful. Adams is diverse, culturally and economically. There are families with tons of money and families with not a lot of money. There are whites, blacks, Asians and Latinos. I feel like Adams is preparing our kids for what the real world is like and how to get along with everybody.

Adams Elementary School 5

Posted September 14, 2015
- a community member
Adams Elementary School has been a fantastic experience for our family. The principal, Amy Alzina, is passionate and committed to all members of the school community. Our daughter's education has been excellent from a variety of talented teachers at Adams. We are beyond thrilled that Adams has a Montessori strand for grades 1st-3rd and 4th-5th. It is currently the only school in the Santa Barbara Unified School District that offers Montessori at a public school. Our family also feels like part of a great community at Adams Elementary School, and we enjoy walking to school every morning from our house in the Samarkand neighborhood.


Adams Elementary School 1

Posted May 02, 2014
- a parent
My 2 children had an awful experience at Adams. One has a great teacher but has been bored and unchallenged. My 2nd child has an AWFUL teacher! I'm fairly certain that the 1 year that my kids spent at Adams has set their educational goals back unacceptably. I tried contacting the principal, several times, and never heard from her. There's also one teacher that I know of who speaks about god in the classroom. I guess I shouldn't be surprised considering the principal is "born-again". I could easily over-look the whole religion thing if the academics were worth it though.

Adams Elementary School 4

Posted May 16, 2013
- a parent
Three of my children have gone through Adam, and they have done very well. If you want your child to be invited to a weekly birthday party, this may not be the school for you. If you want your child to get a good education with diversity, then this is the school. Most of the teachers are excellent and will go above and beyond to help your child. If your child is advance they will challenge them! It's sad that many neighborhood kids stay clear of this school only due to discrimination reason, not the quality.

Adams Elementary School 5

Posted September 20, 2012
- a parent
We just started at Adams after 4 years of private school and are VERY impressed! The staff are very hard-working, professional, and engaged. The principal is 110% dedicated. The children are welcoming and friendly. The scores are jumping up by leaps and bounds. And the programs are unbelievable. Art, computer, running club, library, reading - and that is just what is available for free BEFORE school!!


Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
Together with the teachers, support staff and parents we are working very hard to make school more challenging, engaging and fun for all of our students this year! Our teachers meet weekly to review standards, student data reports and to discuss best teaching strategies for each individual student. Our strong PTA supports instruction with field trips, assemblies, instructional assistants and the necessary materials our students need to be successful. Our students know that success is based solely on being the best they can be! Adams school is truly a gem to be desired within the Santa Barbara School District!
Posted January 04, 2011

Adams Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 27, 2010
- a parent
Adams is an awesome school!! The Teachers & staff members are great. The principal is outgoing, enthusiastic and always looking for ways to benefit the school in many areas. The parents are all so involved. I have older children who attended a different school and the involvement was never as successful as the one we have experienced here.

Nearby schools

Adams Elementary School
2701 Las Positas Road, Santa Barbara, CA  93105
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 35 reviews. (805) 563-2515
Last modified Adams Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top