Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


24 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Peabody Charter School 5

Posted April 17, 2014
- a community member
Peabody Charter has helped develop some of the finest minds and wonderfully well rounded young people since it's inception in 1928 when it opened as Fredrick Forest Peabody Elementary School. It has been 53 years since I last attended but when I visit today I see the same vibrant young faces and the most dedicated staff you can imagine. Students, teachers and parents are still all on the same page working diligently, and with great joy, to make the Peabody experience the superior one that it has always been.

Peabody Charter School 2

Posted February 12, 2014
- a parent
It's interesting how relevant old reviews are today. The school is fine, but if it were located anywhere else, it may not be considered a good school. Yes, there are some good teachers, but just as many bad. In general, most have been there too long and some seem to take their jobs for granted. Four years ago, a parent with a 6-year gap between her children's ages, posted "The younger one is simply repeating project-per-project everything that the first child did, without the introduction of any new ideas, methods or approaches. So true! Peabody alumni from 15 years ago have shown me samples of the same projects. It's as if the school has been locked in time and is operating in suspended animation. It's time for new ideas and fresh blood to reinvigorate Peabody and its curricula.


Peabody Charter School 5

Posted January 21, 2014
- a parent
We switched from a Montessori school to Peabody and couldn't be happier with our decision. Our children have flourished academically and socially. The teachers are enthusiastic and clearly love their jobs. They strongly encourage parent involvement and you're always made to feel welcome.

Peabody Charter School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
Peabody is a great school! I am so glad that we live in the area and that our son will attend for the next 7 years! We love our kindergarten teacher and we have been pleased with the rigor of material taught. Demian Barnett (principal) has a great vision for the school and works hard to make the school a safe learning environment. Julie Bolton (vice principal) is very approachable and works tirelessly for the success of the student body. The small class sizes (as compared to other public schools in the city) allow for individual attention for each child, and the daily home cooked cafeteria meals (by our amazing Chef Laurel and crew) are a rare exception to the traditional, government-sponsored, cafeteria food. If you are fortunate enough to live in the neighborhood, then Peabody is an educational gem - not to be missed!

Peabody Charter School 3

Posted November 17, 2012
- a parent
Peabody operates as a charter, so it has a pretty autonomous operation. They have a wonderful school garden. However, I am disappointed with the new principal that came from Washington Elementary. He was rude and arrogant upon meeting him and seemed disrespectful to his staff. I hope he was just having a bad day.


Peabody Charter School 3

Posted June 07, 2011
- a parent
Wow---on October 9, 2010 a parent posted a comment that is spot on. However, rating this school on a star system is difficult. If you are comparing it to many of the other public schools around the country, then it gets a 5. If you rate it just on teachers, then it also maybe gets a five. If you rate it on its own overall merits, I'm afraid it comes up short. Peabody is a pleasant school, but there is certainly nothing cutting edge or outstanding about it. My kids have a large age span; one entered kindergarten as the other entered 6th (seniors). The younger one is simply repeating project-per-project everything that the first child did, without the introduction of any new ideas, methods or approaches. It s interesting that the teachers don't get burnt out from the repetition.

Peabody Charter School 2

Posted May 21, 2011
- a parent
This school does have some amazing qualities being the cafeteria witch uses organic ingredients and its own personal chef. yum. However, when it comes to the children, especially if you have a child with special needs, the staff including the principal or horrid! They are rude to the children, even ruder to the parents, and do nothing to help the child. They are only interested in what is best for them and easiest for their day. They use outdated power play on the children instead of positive teaching and reinforcement. Our experience with this school has been to say the least a major disappointment.

Peabody Charter School 0
no rating

Posted October 22, 2010
- a parent
Great parent support and great Principal.


Peabody Charter School 3

Posted October 09, 2010
- a parent
School is a bit focused on fundraising, fundraising, fundraising. Preferential treatment is given to those who donate the most money or raise the most money. The principal is ok as long as you don't bring up any problems. The classrooms are old portables and there is very little supervision of the 700+ children on the playground. It has some stellar teachers but some really bad ones as well. Feelings are a bit mixed.

Peabody Charter School 0
no rating

Posted April 19, 2010
- a parent
peabody is a great neighborhood school with lots of wonderful families and parents who volunteer

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Peabody Charter School
3018 Calle Noguera, Santa Barbara, CA  93105
(805) 563-1172
Last modified Peabody Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Peabody Charter School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top