Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Roosevelt Elementary School 4

Posted October 27, 2014
- a parent
Roosevelt is a good school with real diversity. Many of the teachers are younger, as another reviewer points out, but they are enthusiastic, caring, and use the latest teaching methods. The principal is talented, experienced, knowledgable (Phd), and accessible to everybody -- parents and students alike. Also, there is a very good after school enrichment program with many stimulating and fun options. And of course a majority of parents are involved -- providing whatever additional help or assitance they can.

Roosevelt Elementary School 1

Posted October 24, 2014
- a parent
The principal is very close minded. She won't listen to any new ideas which would benefit her school. It's "her way or the highway" type of situation! Many of the experienced teachers have left the school. She now hires all bran new teachers just out of school. Lots of bullying in classroom and no support from principal. This makes it difficult for the teachers to manage their classroom.


Roosevelt Elementary School 3

Posted September 24, 2013
- a community member
what are the current class sizes for grades 2-6 we are relocating and are concerned about this factor for our kids???

Roosevelt Elementary School 5

Posted August 07, 2013
- a parent
Moving from one of the best school districts in the U.S. (Bellevue, WA), we had some reservations about SB public schools in general. This school exceeded all of our expectations. The principal is highly involved, parents help with all fundraisers and school activities and the students thrive in a diverse, academic environment that mirrors that of private school. Luckily, you aren't paying private school tuition and get the benefit of attending your neighborhood school. Win-win.

Roosevelt Elementary School 5

Posted May 02, 2013
- a parent
Roosevelt is a wonderful and nurturing community of super committed and active families, Wonderful teachers and support staff, as well as a beautiful campus.


Roosevelt Elementary School 5

Posted May 02, 2013
- a parent
This school is extraordinary. We transferred our then 9-year-old twins and 5-year old daughter from private school in 2011. As any caring parent would be, we were concerned about the transition, however, our children have had such a wonderful experience in this diverse community, thriving socially and academically. The principal is very committed to the community at large as well as the school's academic excellence. She is approachable and effective at resolving conflict and listening to the queries and concerns of parents and children. The REEF foundation, its volunteer staff and families, work tirelessly to ensure we have enough funding for enrichment activities such as music programs, computer lab and educational excursions. This is one happy family that joins countless others in applauding Roosevelt Elementary School.

Roosevelt Elementary School 5

Posted May 01, 2013
- a parent
Roosevelt is an extraordinary school offering a well balanced experience of exceptional academics, a variety of social engagements and a dedicated team of wonderful teachers led by a seasoned Principal. The parent involvement is impressive and we are proud to be a part of the Roosevelt community.

Roosevelt Elementary School 5

Posted May 01, 2013
- a parent
After having 2 boys go through Roosevelt I was so proud to see how much they learned and how prepared they were for middle school and life in general. I can't say enough positive comments about the school. It is a safe wonderful school! the parents and community provide a strength and balance to life that exceeded my expectations! Love this school!


Roosevelt Elementary School 5

Posted October 29, 2011
- a parent
My daughter has had a very hard time reading and the extra support from teachers has made her excel. I do not believe the comments that there has ben no support to special needs-because my daughter has been there and has received support-and a lot of it though. It is also the parents job to insure tutoring-the school can't do it all.

Roosevelt Elementary School 2

Posted October 11, 2011
- a parent
I am going to be hard here because I seriously hope this school makes a change. My son is in K here and the class size is WAY to big. There are 27 kids in his class and the bright children who could excel get no attention. The teachers are wonderful and if they had a manageable classroom size it could be a good school. Currently it is not though.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Roosevelt Elementary School
1990 Laguna Street, Santa Barbara, CA  93101
(805) 563-2062
Last modified Roosevelt Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Roosevelt Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top