Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 30 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


San Marcos Senior High School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted January 08, 2016
- a student
I think that it is good, it takes my mind off of the outside world.

San Marcos Senior High School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted January 08, 2016
- a student
This showed me how hard it is to be depressed, this school made me realize what is like to wake up everyday and realize that you have nothing to look forward too, this school has broken me. It taught me that I have to have enough persistence to be able to make it through the day without succumbing to my true feelings.


San Marcos Senior High School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted January 08, 2016
- a community member
This school has somehow managed to make an outrageous amount of work amount to absolutely no education or growth as a person. Three and a half years wasted so far...

San Marcos Senior High School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted January 08, 2016
- a community member
This school makes me want to put things in my eyes. Please get me out.

San Marcos Senior High School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted January 08, 2016
- a student
This school made me lose my respect for authorities and made me lose my thought of self worth.


San Marcos Senior High School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted June 12, 2015
- a parent
They don't take reports by students of verbal threats and physical assaults seriously. They allow gangs to threaten other children and are not concerned with finding the ones doing it.

San Marcos Senior High School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted June 12, 2015
- a parent
They don't hold bad behavior accountable and don't care if children are threatened or harmed.

San Marcos Senior High School 2

Posted June 12, 2015
- a parent
My son was beat up by 4 West side gang members after school. The administrators did nothing about it. Because he only knew one of the guys, they did not even try to find out who the others were. I feel like if my son had been a minority and the gang members white, it would have been a different story. The campus police said he didn't want to ruin his rapport with the one boy we did identify. I've never seen anything like this. I had to go above the school to the board and local legislature before anyone took it serious. They tried to make my son, the victim, feel bad, instead of the perpetrators. Kind of like blaming a rape victim for getting raped. His vice principal never would return my calls or emails unless I cc'd the principal. We are from Nashville, and I just had a lot higher expectations out here.


San Marcos Senior High School 5

Posted November 20, 2013
- a community member
I love San Marcos High School! It is the best high school in Santa Barbara because 1. the teachers and staff are nice 2. they are competent and helpful 3. they love their subject and job 4. the kids are low-key 5. they balance their academic with sports and activities 5. the students are proud to be Royals 6. the atmosphere is happy 7. You learn a lot and well! 8. You are prepared for the university. I JUST LOVE IT!

San Marcos Senior High School 5

Posted September 30, 2013
- a parent
Best kept secret in Santa Barbara. Great teachers and great kids. So happy we transferred districts to be here. The other high schools just don't come close to comparing.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

San Marcos Senior High School
4750 Hollister Avenue, Santa Barbara, CA  93110
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. (805) 967-4581
Last modified San Marcos Senior High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top