Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
495 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
53 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 67 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Monticello Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted April 22, 2016
- a parent
Again the focus is on academic skills, kids lag behind in their social skills and public interactions.

Monticello Academy
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted April 22, 2016
- a parent
Nop. Private schools are supposed to be better that public schools in every way. It is definitely not the case for this one. Very rule oriented.


Monticello Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted April 22, 2016
- a parent
Given the environment I see, I am not sure it is set for compassion. It is a race house.

Monticello Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted April 22, 2016
- a parent
They are not honest in their selection process. Pre-selecting kids, and pushing them hard. You better get them to a reasonably good public school, that should do it for K-5. The principal is very strict, almost inhuman.

Monticello Academy 1

Posted April 22, 2016
- a parent
Stay away from this School. They are assessing students even for Kindergarten. And the assessment questions contains recognizing vowels, sounds, first letters of the words, numbers up to 100, kids behavior in the class etc. If teach all these before the school, what is the point of getting them the school. They are pre-selecting students, and it is not fair!


Monticello Academy 5

Posted January 29, 2016
- a parent
We moved our daughter from a public school to Monticello after a disastrous 3rd grade public school experience (the teacher could not finish the curriculum due to students who were too far behind). She's now in her second year (5th grade) at Monticello. I was worried about a transition to a new school, but she has absolutely loved her experience at Monticello, and made new friends immediately. The extracurricular activities are what keeps her happy. She's actively involved in Band, Art, and Drama at the school and loves her teachers.

Monticello Academy 5

Posted November 09, 2015
- a parent
I am very happy that my son graduated from Monticello Academy last year, and currently attending Archbishop Mitty High School. He was very well prepared for high school during his four years at Monticello Academy. The teachers were caring and worked very hard with the children, and the atmosphere is more like one of an extended family rather than just an educational institution. I definitely recommend this school.

Monticello Academy 5

Posted October 17, 2015
- a parent
We have 2 children at Monticello Academy, and have been with the school for the past 2 years. It is a small school with very dedicated teachers, and our children are striving in this small school environment, both emotionally and academically. The principal is very devoted, the teachers do great work, and in general it is a very friendly, great group of kids. I highly recommend this school to prospective parents.


Monticello Academy 5

Posted April 27, 2015
- a parent
Previously withdrew our son from this school due to his below average academic performance, we sent him to a near by school (paid higher but we're fine with that). Our son didn't do well at new school either. We identified the problem. Probably we hadn't spent much time with him and his teachers. Asked our son which school he'd like, he preferred Monticello, because of his friends and teachers at Monticello were nice. We transferred him back to Monticello with no issues. Teachers wanted to work with us to help our son. We worked with the teachers for more than a years, and they're great, helpful, dedicated and open minded. Tuition at this school is lower than its competitors. I have to agree that the facility is not topnotch but I would hold against it. Lesson learn: It's a both way street, parents and teachers work together to achieve common goal for our children. Administrations anywhere are ridiculous to be fair, but our son worked with teacher, not administration. I've read a few sour grapes on this site, but it's their options, their life. We'll send out daughter to Monticello when she's five years old.

Monticello Academy 2

Posted March 29, 2015
- a parent
Monticello gets both of its stars because we have had generally good experiences with faculty. However, the administration spends so much time nagging the parents on one hand (attendance, tardies, uniforms) all the while undercutting the core teachers' classroom management. If your local public school is truly below standards, or you need extended care before/after school, then Monticello may work for you. But know going in that the curriculum lacks anything innovative, the hot lunch has devolved into reheated frozen offerings from Costco (this started in 2013), and the focus on the whole child are now a thing of the past. Ask to see the census of the student body over the last several years, and then question why there has been a massive exodus in the student body (75 students over just one summer!) If having integrity modeled for your children is important to you, then this is not your school. The administration will discuss your children or your family's plans with other parents. They will openly discuss the kick backs and perks they receive from vendors of the school. They will take the cheap way out in terms of field trips and student safety.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Monticello Academy
3345 Lochinvar Avenue, Santa Clara, CA  95051
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 67 reviews. (408) 615-9416
Last modified Monticello Academy is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top