Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
117 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 384 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Don Callejon School 3

Posted January 24, 2016
- a community member
Attended the kindergarden tour. One of the classrooms was filled with puppets and stuffed animals 3000+. Not cute, little kids like puppets, but suffocating and scary. About 1/3 of the classroom was taken over by the dusty animals leaving very little space for the children. A one in four chance that my child would end up in that class was enough for us to decide to move to a different school.

Don Callejon School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted January 14, 2016
- a parent
Teachers are very good in teaching good things for the students. Their Principal/Vice principal and few teachers as a group dominates some of the good teachers, that is the worst thing here.


Don Callejon School 3

Posted January 14, 2016
- a parent
This is very good school in great neighborhood but the biggest problem is with school principal. She is very arrogant and unprofessional and very biased. Because of her behavior, some residents sold their house and moved to different school district. Some of the teachers here are very educated and they are great in teaching. I think if they change the principal, this school could be the best school in Santa Clara..

Don Callejon School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted January 14, 2016
- a parent
Teachers and Parents work together for the success of teh school. This is cumminity driven school for most of the activities.

Don Callejon School 5

Posted September 11, 2015
- a parent
We liked the infrastructur,teachers,the overall curriculum,the effort of each and every staff member. Our daughter is going to this schoolfrom last 2 years.We have seen the sincerity,patience and hard work of all the teachers.They create an atmosphere in the class that encourages all the students to study and understand the curriculum better. They do social study projects practically so that students can go through a hands on experience. They encourage students to participate in all extra curricular activities International day,sports,art exhibition, young author contest etc. Overall we have a very good experience in this school.


Don Callejon School 4

Posted June 02, 2014
- a parent
My kids have been in the school since it opened 8 years ago so we have gone through both the elementary and middle schools. Fantastic teachers along the way. They have had many opportunities to connect with teachers and create a sense of community they would not have had in a bigger school. Their individual test scores and academic achievements have been stellar. We don't worry about the school test scores as a group. There are too many variables which contribute to high and low scoring. We all embrace and appreciate the socioeconomic and ethnic diversity. Music and arts program could use attention.

Don Callejon School 4

Posted February 08, 2014
- a community member
I've been going to this school since it opened, and it's my last year at DC. Although I will admit that it's not perfect, it is not as bad as others are making it out to be! If you are judging a school based on test scores and certain students' behavior, I can't try to change your opinion. But I can tell you that not every kid at school is a good test taker, and not every kid acts like a saint every second of the school day! Especially at our age, parents, peers, and other adults can't expect perfect, smiling students in class every morning. Everyone slips up, and you can't blame that on Don Callejon alone. So for those who don't like the middle school because of rumors they've heard, I will tell you, it's going to be like that at every middle school you go to, and will only get worse in high school. If anything, this diverse school prepares kids for the real world more than any charter or private school.

Don Callejon School 4

Posted October 01, 2013
- a parent
I have 4 boys attending DCS from K to middle school. The teachers are great, they actually care about their students and teaching. They communicate with you. We as parents have to be involved in our kids education, and ask questions or any concerns you may have, and reach out to teachers. They are great at getting back to you with and will address them as need be. Glad to see the API score go up..


Don Callejon School 1

Posted September 04, 2013
- a parent
This school is full of politics and egos of few people...... Most of the kids once their parents realize how bad their standard is move to the Magnolia Charter School or move to private schools...

Don Callejon School 5

Posted August 30, 2013
- a parent
Glad to see the API score go up. As much as Hans Barber is missed, we welcome Ms. Martinez and the strong educational background she brings to DCS. Go Cubs!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Don Callejon School
4176 Lick Mill Boulevard, Santa Clara, CA  95054-3585
(408) 423-3300
Last modified Don Callejon School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Don Callejon School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 384 reviews. Top