Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

702 students|Cupertino Union
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
38 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 50 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Dwight D. Eisenhower Elementary School 3

Posted February 01, 2016
- a parent
I have been very disappointed with Eisenhower. To name a few of my issues, there is very little small group or individual instruction (everything seems to be done whole class), I've gotten very little feedback from the teachers about what is going on in class or how my child is doing, and the school's music program is almost nonexistent. At our old district my child would have been learning the recorder in 4th grade and then could have chosen to be in band in 5th grade. Here, they just do singing all the way through 5th grade, so when my child goes to middle school this will be the first opportunity for her to play an instrument in school. The PTA is strong, but that's about the only thing I've been impressed by at this school. Whenever I question the principal, I feel like I get a very political answer, and she seems defensive when I question how things are run.

Dwight D. Eisenhower Elementary School 4

Posted December 28, 2014
- a parent
Eisenhower is an excellent school, teachers are really good. Principal is very caring and helpful. They have lot of activities through out the year and encourage kids with lot of other activities along with studies. We are really impressed.


Dwight D. Eisenhower Elementary School 5

Posted May 16, 2013
- a parent
Eisenhower is a very good school.My son studies in this school and all teachers are excellent ,caring and very loving also.

Dwight D. Eisenhower Elementary School 1

Posted April 28, 2012
- a parent
bad curriculum, cartoons and videos in kindergarten on a daily basis, given the three and a half hours of overall kindergarten time. Really? there is nothing else to teach children but showing cartoons? Unacceptable. overcrowded kindergarten playground leads to crazy amount of accidents. No nurse on site leaving kids with no medical care or attention if accidents happen. Bad supervision on the playgrounds during recess; lazy teachers not willing to me sure the kids are not bored.

Dwight D. Eisenhower Elementary School 4

Posted November 19, 2011
- a parent
Eisenhower is a great school in Cupertino. The teachers do not put too much pressure on the kids or focus too much on the STAR tests. Most teachers seem to really want the best for their students and for everyone to be performing at grade level. The PTA is great and provides for the computer lab, music teacher, and this year added a spelling bee. The YMCA before/after school care is onsite and also excellent. An assistant principal started this year and is very involved in school improvement. I just see Eisenhower growing and becoming an even better school.


Dwight D. Eisenhower Elementary School 4

Posted May 06, 2011
- a parent
My son has been in attendance from K-3rd and will continue. During his education with Dwight D. Eisenhower Elementary he has grown as a person and young man, as well as excelled in academics in this environment. The teachers my son has had, all of which I have made an effort to know very well, have been excellent teachers, supportive, attentive, and proactive. The other children that I know and attend Eisenhower seem to be great examples for my child as well - and overall I feel this is a great school.

Dwight D. Eisenhower Elementary School 1

Posted October 14, 2010
- a parent
Weak leadership, who doesn't take actions on complaints until they hit epidemic proportions, instead black-list a child. Immature teachers, who rebuke the child, have fainting spells or worse cry at the drop of a hat! Unfriendly and in-compassionate staff who treat a sick child as if they have the black palgue. Serious safety issues with no fence and children being left unmonitored in the outfield while the teacher makes her way back to the class with 'most' of the students. Below Average curriculum. The total credit for the school's rating goes to the dedicated parents and the PTA. The schools is just riding on that high!

Dwight D. Eisenhower Elementary School 5

Posted May 15, 2010
- a parent
Great Teachers.Like the way they focus on each child,helps build their confidence.Good staff. Principal who cares for the students and works hard for their development.


Dwight D. Eisenhower Elementary School
no rating

Posted May 14, 2010
- a parent
There is an overall development of the child. Good teachers who can be communicated.

Dwight D. Eisenhower Elementary School
no rating

Posted June 29, 2009
- a parent
I grew up in the Cupertino School District and went to Kennedy Middle and Monta Vista High School. I am very aware of the extreme academic pressures put on the kids in this district. The STAR tests results too often are the main measure of a school's performance when there is so much more to consider. Eisenhower continues to strive for excellence with its dedicated teachers, and academic cirriculum. Yet, the school balances this effectively with physical education, music, and art. Children need to have a well rounded education which includes all of the above. My son, who will be a 4th grader, enjoys going to school. His schoolwork reflects his grade level. He is active in sports. He's doing well ,and is happy and well adjusted.

Nearby schools

Dwight D. Eisenhower Elementary School
277 Rodonovan Drive, Santa Clara, CA  95051-6656
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 50 reviews. (408) 248-4313
Last modified Dwight D. Eisenhower Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top