Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Briarwood Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 410 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 27, 2014

My child got moved to Mrs. Kumer's combo class of kinder and first in 2009. She was the best teacher I ever met in that school. My child loved to go to school because of her. She developed the love for learning with Mrs. Kumer. The best thing I liked about her was the balance she maintained between studies and extra curricular. That year we went to the most number of field trips. The homework that she assigned challenged the kids to explore their Math and English syllabus further. Mrs. Kumer is the best teacher in Briarwood Elementary School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2013

My son used to go to a private school in Santa Clara till they decided to move to San Jose. I was a little wary of the ratings but decided to try it. I think it was the best move. The teachers are great. The principal is excellent. Works very hard. The school is giving a lot of opportunities for parent involvement. My kid is have a good time, learning a lot and even more than if he was at the old private school. I like the way they teach basic concepts which seem to give them a solid foundation. They let the kids think in coming up with various solutions. I only feel that we should have decided to try this a lot earlier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2010

The front desk woman is the RUDEST person I have ever dealt with in my entire life. Since day 1 when I went there to sign up my daughter, the secritary has treated me (and my 5 year old daughter!!) like we are absolutely nothing and only speaks to us with disrespect and disgust. This continues everytime I go to the office to ask even the simplest of questions regarding my daughter and her education. I cannot communicate with anyone in that office without the secritary making some sort of negative and rude remark. Another issue i've had is with my daughters education itself. She has 2 teachers that rotate so there is never a clear schedule for the kids. One teacher tells me my daughter is doing great, and the other one tells me she is having issues. What?! How is it that 2 teachers in the same class with the same kid, have two totally different opinions? This has happened 3 times since the school year has begun. I have asked to have a meeting with both teachers at the same time so that it is clear to us on what the issues really are. This is always getting put off and has still yet to take place. I have left messages for the principal to get a meeting with her. No response.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2010

Our son is in 5th grade and it's his second year in this school. We've transferred here from Cupertino and we're so happy with the school! Even though Briarwood on average does not do as well on test scores as Cupertino schools do, it has a much better environment in the school. The test scores could be more related to a greater diversity rather than the teaching quality. The staff is very caring and is really trying to help all children to succeed. The teachers are excellent! There is music program and a lot of other activities. This school has helped our son to become much more self confident and happy child. What would you do with great test scores without this?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2010

Our first kid attended Ms. Langs' kindergarten class. We do not have enough experience with other teachers at Briarwood and at nearby elementary schools to compare and contrast; however, we were extremely happy with the teaching approach, the caring, and the dedication that Ms. Langs had provided to all the kids in the class. She exposed them to a variety of topics including geography and science. She gave them many hands-on lessons such as making paper mache animals, incubating and hatching chicken and duck eggs, and going on field trips to a local farm and a local museum. Not all of the twenty kids were on the same reading, writing, and math levels, so she customized different lesson plans and homework for the different levels. Many of the parents were very active in helping her on field trips and with making the classroom environment better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2009

Great School very organized and disciplined a great place for learning. This is a good neighborhood school. Nice environment for the kids and a park next door. The parents made my children and myself feel so welcome. We are able to just walk to school. There is a prekindergarten on site so we just transferred the kids into the school . I understand that the test scores are beginning to rise at Briarwood Elementary, Cabrillo Middle School , and Wilcox High School. I like the disciplined,quiet, respectful atmosphere.


Posted October 11, 2008

very good a lot of events....Wow
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 31, 2006

I really enjoy taking my son to this school, the Teachers my son has had are top notch. We really love this school, the principal know the children by name, and visits there classes often. There are many programs for children who might have difficulty, and there make sure every child is in the best class for them. The teacher we had took personal interest in each child, and worked very hard to make sure every child met or exceeded their goals. The administrative staff is very kind and helpful, and they also know every child. This school is like a small town school in a large sized city. The really only thing lacking is the parent involvement, and that is not the schools fault. Also the fun activities they have are great, October fest is a fun fair and we loved participating. It's a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2006

The school is academically great. However, parent & teacher participation in PTA is dismal. Parent participation in assisting events is awful. We have to get volunteers from the local High Schools to get needed volunteers for events.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2005

I found that Briarwood school had pretty good academic programs. I really think it was just my son's teacher that was great. He was in kindergarten and was taught by Miss Langs. She was awesome with him! Even though she had many ESL students and my son was a 'high' student, she still took the time to work with him and keep him challenged. I found the music, art, P.E. programs (which did not exist) a complete disappointment. His regular teacher took on all these responsibilities when I would have preffered him to experience other teachers who speacialize in these areas. There is hardly any parent involvement. Along with one other mom, I was the only one who volunteered all year! It was an okay school but do not recomend unless you have Miss Langs!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2004

I think Briarwood is an excellent school. Most of the teachers are extremely good. Our teacher for fourth grade was the best ever. The principal is also very responsive and dedicated to the school and the students. The resource team and aides are also very good. I have been very happy with the education my son has received at Briarwood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2003

Briarwood is a great school! I have my 5 children at this school for 2 years and I love it. The teachers are great and take the time to help each student. My children's grades have gone up dramatically from years before. I wanted to thank everyone in the staff for doing a great job to our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

801

Change from
2012 to 2013

+13

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

4 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

4 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

801

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+13

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

4 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

4 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
44%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
49%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
49%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
60%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students43%
Females50%
Males37%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino33%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)62%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Non-economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability49%
English learner35%
Fluent-English proficient and English only55%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate31%
Parent education - high school graduate44%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)38%
Parent education - college graduate43%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students54%
Females63%
Males47%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino47%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)69%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Non-economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability62%
English learner54%
Fluent-English proficient and English only58%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate31%
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)54%
Parent education - college graduate64%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students43%
Females45%
Males39%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino33%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged29%
Non-economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability45%
English learner24%
Fluent-English proficient and English only59%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate33%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)37%
Parent education - college graduate62%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students64%
Females64%
Males63%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino53%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged60%
Non-economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability65%
English learner52%
Fluent-English proficient and English only74%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate60%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)79%
Parent education - college graduate53%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students72%
Females79%
Males64%
African Americann/a
Asian82%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged58%
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability71%
English learner60%
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate59%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)57%
Parent education - college graduate92%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students60%
Females69%
Males52%
African Americann/a
Asian73%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino59%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged56%
Non-economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability61%
English learner50%
Fluent-English proficient and English only67%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate42%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)79%
Parent education - college graduate62%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students63%
Females71%
Males57%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged50%
Non-economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability66%
English learner41%
Fluent-English proficient and English only78%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate54%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)75%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students63%
Females62%
Males64%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino54%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged54%
Non-economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability66%
English learner47%
Fluent-English proficient and English only74%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate36%
Parent education - high school graduate54%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)75%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students67%
Females62%
Males73%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino63%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged54%
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability71%
English learner50%
Fluent-English proficient and English only78%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate62%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)83%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 54% 51%
Asian 24% 11%
White 14% 27%
Black 3% 7%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 70%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Anne McDermott
Fax number
  • (408) 423-1380

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1930 Townsend Avenue
Santa Clara, CA 95051
Phone: (408) 423-1300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Bowers Elementary School
Santa Clara, CA




Cedarwood Sudbury School
Santa Clara, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT